Alfred Bester - The Demolished Man - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Books in this series

The Demolished Man

By Alfred Bester

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

In the year 2301, guns are only museum pieces and benign telepaths sweep the minds of the populace to detect crimes before they happen. In 2301 murder is virtually impossible, but one man is about to change that ...

Ben Reich, a psychopathic business magnate, has devised the ultimate scheme to eliminate the competition and destroy the order of his society. The Demolished Man is a masterpiece of imaginative suspense, set in a superbly imagined world in which everything has changed except the ancient instinct for murder.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781857988222
  • Publication date: 08 Jul 1999
  • Page count: 256
  • Imprint: Gollancz
Orion

Before Mars

Emma Newman
Authors:
Emma Newman

After months of travel, Anna Kubrick finally arrives on Mars for her new job as a geologist and de facto artist-in-residence. She'll be on Mars for over a year. Throwing herself into her work, she tries her best to fit in with the team. Anna finds a mysterious note written in her own handwriting, she can't remember writing. Her wedding ring has been replaced by a fake. A footprint in a place the colony AI claims has never been visited by humans. Is she caught up in an elaborate corporate conspiracy, or is she actually losing her mind?

Gollancz

Planetfall

Emma Newman
Authors:
Emma Newman

From Emma Newman, the award-nominated author of Between Two Thorns, comes a novel of how one secret withheld to protect humanity's future might be its undoing...Renata Ghali believed in Lee Suh-Mi's vision of a world far beyond Earth, calling to humanity. A planet promising to reveal the truth about our place in the cosmos, untainted by overpopulation, pollution, and war. Ren believed in that vision enough to give up everything to follow Suh-Mi into the unknown.More than twenty-two years have passed since Ren and the rest of the faithful braved the starry abyss and established a colony at the base of an enigmatic alien structure where Suh-Mi has since resided, alone. All that time, Ren has worked hard as the colony's 3-D printer engineer, creating the tools necessary for human survival in an alien environment, and harboring a devastating secret.Ren continues to perpetuate the lie forming the foundation of the colony for the good of her fellow colonists, despite the personal cost. Then a stranger appears, far too young to have been part of the first planetfall, a man who bears a remarkable resemblance to Suh-Mi.The truth Ren has concealed since planetfall can no longer be hidden. And its revelation might tear the colony apart...

Gollancz

After Atlas

Emma Newman
Authors:
Emma Newman

Acclaimed author Emma Newman returns to the captivating universe she created in Planetfall with a stunning science fiction mystery where one man's murder is much more than it seems... Gov-corp detective Carlos Moreno was only a baby when Atlas left Earth to seek truth among the stars. But in that moment, the course of Carlos's entire life changed. Atlas is what took his mother away; what made his father lose hope; what led Alejandro Casales, leader of the religious cult known as the Circle, to his door. And now, on the eve of the fortieth anniversary of Atlas's departure, it's got something to do why Casales was found dead in his hotel room-and why Carlos is the man in charge of the investigation. To figure out who killed one of the most powerful men on Earth, Carlos is supposed to put aside his personal history. But the deeper he delves into the case, the more he realizes that escaping the past is not so easy. There's more to Casales's death than meets the eye, and something much more sinister to the legacy of Atlas than anyone realizes...

Gollancz

The Veteran Omnibus

Gavin G. Smith
Authors:
Gavin G. Smith
Trapeze

My Little Eye

Stephanie Marland, Stephanie Broadribb
Authors:
Stephanie Marland, Stephanie Broadribb

Can a group of true crime addicts take on the police to catch a serial killer? KISS THE GIRLS AND MAKE THEM DIE...A young woman is found dead in her bedroom surrounded by rose petals - the latest victim of 'The Lover'. Struggling under the weight of an internal investigation, DI Dominic Bell is no closer to discovering the identity of the killer and time is running out.As the murders escalate, Clementine Starke joins an online true crime group determined to take justice in their own hands - to catch the killer before the police. Hiding a dark secret, she takes greater risks to find new evidence and infiltrate the group. As Starke and Bell get closer to cracking the case neither of them realise they're being watched. The killer is closer to them than they think, and he has his next victim - Clementine - firmly in his sights. Perfect for fans of The Cuckoo's Calling, The Girl Before and Rather Be The Devil. The thriller with twists you'll never see coming! * * * * *'My Little Eye is an enthralling, intriguing and twisty tale for all of us armchair detectives who think we know it all.' Liz Nugent, author of Lying In Wait and Unravelling Oliver'The first novel in what promises to be a riveting new series, My Little Eye is a one-sitting read: gripping, clever and worringly plausible.' - Mick Herron* * * * * What readers are saying about My Little Eye: 'This book is AMAZING!!!' Goodreads'Easily one of my favourite reads this year so far.' - Goodreads 'My Little Eye is a bang on psychological thriller of the most addictive kind.' Goodreads'Beautifully paced writing that had me speeding through every chapter at a rate of knots. Easily one of my favourite reads this year so far.' Goodreads

Trapeze

Ragdoll

Daniel Cole
Authors:
Daniel Cole
Orion

Thin Air

Michelle Paver
Authors:
Michelle Paver
Trapeze

Tattletale

Sarah J. Naughton
Authors:
Sarah J. Naughton
W&N

Under the Harrow

Flynn Berry
Authors:
Flynn Berry
Gollancz

Rhyming Rings

David Gemmell
Authors:
David Gemmell

David Gemmell was the UK's number one fantasy and historical novelist until his death in 2006. A regular Sunday Times bestseller, and international sensation, his legacy lives on through his novels, his influence on the genre, and through the David Gemmell Legend awards.Rhyming Rings is a never-before-seen Gemmell novel, discovered in his papers by his widow, Stella Gemmell. Merging autobiographical details of Gemmell's life as a journalist in South London with a serial killer and a tinge of the supernatural, this is perfect for fans of David's work, as well as readers of gritty crime novels. Set against the backdrop of a London simmering with poverty, change and racial tension, this taut thriller is a fitting legacy for the great writer.This book includes a brand new introduction from massive Gemmell fan Conn Iggulden, and an afterword by Gemmell's friend Stan Nicholls.An ambidextrous killer is murdering women, leaving virtually no evidence behind, and struggling journalist Jeremy Miller wishes he was covering the case. Instead, he's stuck with heart-warming local stories about paraplegic teenagers and elderly psychic ladies. So when his stories and the murder case start to converge no one is more surprised than Jeremy.Or, it turns out, more at risk.

W&N

Black Water Lilies

Michel Bussi
Authors:
Michel Bussi
Orion

The Jealous Kind

James Lee Burke
Authors:
James Lee Burke
Orion

The Boss of Bosses

Attilio Bolzoni, Giuseppe D'Avanzo
Authors:
Attilio Bolzoni, Giuseppe D'Avanzo

In the fields of a forgotten post-war Sicily, an obsession with power was growing; Salvatore 'Totò' Riina, the shrewd peasant Corleone, became the boss of bosses and Palermo was conquered, one crime at a time. With his small army of assassins, he seized control of the most formidable mafia in the world and began an attack on the state: bombs, massacres and bloody conflicts initiated by a man who thought he was invincible. Until 1992 and the murders of Falcone and Borsellino. Then Riina was captured after nearly a quarter of a century on the run, an event still shrouded in controversy. Now in prison for over twenty years, Totò Riina remains the dictator of the Cosa Nostra from behind bars. Through the genuine testimony of the Sicilian Corleone, this a tale of desperate poverty, power and bloodshed - and one man's fight to rule supreme.

Orion

Missing You

Harlan Coben
Authors:
Harlan Coben

From SUNDAY TIMES bestselling author Harlan Coben, a heart-pounding thriller about the ties we have to our past ... and the lies that bind us together.It's a profile, like all the others on the online dating site. But as NYPD Detective Kat Donovan focuses on the accompanying picture, she feels her whole world explode, as emotions she's ignored for decades come crashing down on her. Staring back at her is her ex-fiancé Jeff, the man who shattered her heart 18 years ago.Kat feels a spark, wondering if this might be the moment when past tragedies recede and a new world opens up to her. But when she reaches out to the man in the profile, her reawakened hope quickly darkens into suspicion and then terror as an unspeakable conspiracy comes to light, in which monsters prey upon the most vulnerable.As Kat's hope for a second chance with Jeff grows more and more elusive, she is consumed by an investigation that challenges her feelings about everyone she ever loved - her former fiancé, her mother, and even her father, whose cruel murder so long ago has never been fully explained. With lives on the line, including her own, Kat must venture deeper into the darkness than she ever has before, and discover if she has the strength to survive what she finds there.

Gollancz

Lords and Ladies

Terry Pratchett
Authors:
Terry Pratchett

The fairies are back - but this time they don't just want your teeth.It's Midsummer Night - no time for dreaming. Because sometimes, when there's more than one reality at play, too much dreaming can make the walls between them come tumbling down. And there's usually a damned good reason for there being walls between them in the first place - to keep things out. Things who want to make mischief and play havoc with the natural order.Granny Weatherwax and her tiny coven are up against real elves. And even in a world of dwarfs, wizards, trolls, Morris dancers and the odd orang-utan, this is going to cause real trouble. With lots of hey-nonny-nonny and blood all over the place.

Gollancz

Pyramids

Terry Pratchett
Authors:
Terry Pratchett

'Look after the dead', said the priests, 'and the dead will look after you'.Wise words in all probability, but a tall order when you have just become the pharaoh of a small and penniless country whose largesse - and indeed treasury - is unlikely to stretch to the building of a monumental pyramid to honour your dead father. And particularly when your only visible means of support is a recently acquired qualification from the Guild of Assassins where running a kingdom and basic financial acumen were not prerequisites for course entry...

Gollancz

To Say Nothing of the Dog

Connie Willis
Authors:
Connie Willis

Ned Henry is a time-travelling historian who specialises in the mid-20th century - currently engaged in researching the bombed-out Coventry Cathedral. He's also made so many drops into the past that he's suffering from a dangerously advanced case of 'time-lag'. Unfortunately for Ned, an emergency dash to Victorian England is required and he's the only available historian. But Ned's time-lag is so bad that he's not sure what the errand is - which is bad news since, if he fails, history could unravel around him ...

Gollancz

Corum: The Prince With the Silver Hand

Michael Moorcock
Authors:
Michael Moorcock
Gollancz

Doomsday Book

Connie Willis
Authors:
Connie Willis
Gollancz

The Wise Man's Fear

Patrick Rothfuss
Authors:
Patrick Rothfuss