Alfred Bester - The Demolished Man - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Books in this series

The Demolished Man

By Alfred Bester

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

In the year 2301, guns are only museum pieces and benign telepaths sweep the minds of the populace to detect crimes before they happen. In 2301 murder is virtually impossible, but one man is about to change that ...

Ben Reich, a psychopathic business magnate, has devised the ultimate scheme to eliminate the competition and destroy the order of his society. The Demolished Man is a masterpiece of imaginative suspense, set in a superbly imagined world in which everything has changed except the ancient instinct for murder.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781857988222
  • Publication date: 08 Jul 1999
  • Page count: 256
  • Imprint: Gateway
Gollancz

Episodes

Christopher Priest
Authors:
Christopher Priest

Christopher Priest is one of the most acclaimed writers of both SF and literary fiction at work today. Here, for the first time in almost twenty years, is a collection of his short work. Largely previously uncolected, ranging from the horrific to the touching, the science fictional to the realist, these stories are a perfect demonstration of the breadth and power of Priest's writing.Eleven stories are included, along with commentary and reflection from the author. Within these pages you will discover the stage magic-inspired horror of 'The Head and the Hand', the timeslip accidents of 'futouristic.co.uk', the impossible romance of 'Palely Loitering' and the present-day satire of 'Shooting an Episode'.

Orion

What Lies Buried

Margaret Kirk
Authors:
Margaret Kirk
Gollancz

The Best of R. A. Lafferty

R. A. Lafferty
Authors:
R. A. Lafferty
Gateway

The Pleasures of a Futuroscope

Lord Dunsany
Authors:
Lord Dunsany

Lord Dunsany, Irish master of fantasy, was the author of more than a dozen novels, hundreds of short stories, poems, and essays, and dozens of plays. In this powerful and moving novel, written in 1955, a futuroscope - a device that allows a viewer to see into the near or distant future - reveals an awful fate for humanity: a nuclear holocaust has destroyed nearly all human life on the planet. The great city of London is now merely an immense crater, filled in with water from the Thames. The pitiful remnants of humanity have been reduced to a Stone Age existence. The narrator, obsessively looking through the futuroscope, focuses upon the plight of a single family in their struggles to survive and fend off the many enemies, both animal and human, that surround them. When one of their number is kidnapped by a band of gypsies, we can only wonder at her fate in this brave new world of the distant future. Gripping, horrifying, touching, and fascinating, The Pleasures of a Futuroscope shows that Lord Dunsany retained his literary powers undiminished to the end of his life.

Gateway

Bound in Time

D. F. Jones
Authors:
D. F. Jones

Modern man's most persistent and powerful dream is about to come true. He is ready to travel through time. And who better to take the leap than Mark Elverson, a man with an inoperable heart condition? The far future can only be an improvement for him ... or can it?

W&N

Flowers Over the Inferno

Ilaria Tuti
Authors:
Ilaria Tuti

In a quiet village surrounded by centuries-old woods and the imposing Italian Alps, a series of violent assaults take place. Police inspector and profiler Teresa Battaglia is called back from the city when the first body is found in the woods, a naked man whose face has been disfigured and eyes gouged out. Teresa quickly realises that the killer intends to strike again, and soon more victims are found - all having been subjected to horrendous mutilations. When a new-born baby is kidnapped, Teresa's investigation becomes a race against the clock...But Teresa is also fighting a different kind of battle: a battle against her own body, weighed down by age and diabetes, and her mind, once invincible and now slowly gnawing away at her memory...Something devastating has taken place here in these mountains. Something that requires all my investigative abilities. My name is Teresa Battaglia, I am a police chief inspector, specialised in profiling, and I walk through hell every day. It's not my gun, nor my uniform: my real weapon is my mind. Yet my mind is failing me. Not my body, weathered by the passing of time, nor my tormented heart. My name is Teresa Battaglia, I have a secret that I dare not reveal even to myself, and for the first time in my life I am afraid".Read by Anna Bentinck(p) Orion Publishing Group 2019

Trapeze

The Woman Inside

E. G. Scott
Authors:
E. G. Scott

For better, for worse... marriage can be a dangerous game.'From its seize-you-by-throat opening to that jack-in-the-box finale, this slick, sleek thriller held me breathless. Psychological suspense at its brightest and boldest.' - A. J. Finn, author of THE WOMAN IN THE WINDOWA page-turning thriller about secrets and revenge, told from the perspectives of a husband and wife who are the most perfect, and the most dangerous, match for each other.******Rebecca didn't know love was possible until she met Paul, a man with a past as dark as her own. Their demons drew them together, but twenty years later, the damage and secrets that ignited their love begin to consume their marriage.When Paul catches the attention of the police after two women go missing, Rebecca discovers his elaborate plot to build a new life without her. And though Rebecca is quickly spiralling out of control, it doesn't stop her from coming up with her own devastating plan for revenge... they made a promise to each other, afterall. Til death do us part. ******With a Shakespearean twist that rivals the best books in the genre, THE WOMAN INSIDE is the unmissable thriller of 2019.Perfect for fans of The Woman in the Window and The Wife Between Us, and of TV shows Big Little Lies and The Affair.

Gateway

Hespira

Matthew Hughes
Authors:
Matthew Hughes
W&N

Don't Let Go

Michel Bussi
Authors:
Michel Bussi
Gollancz

Neuromancer

William Gibson
Authors:
William Gibson

The sky above the port was the colour of television, tuned to a dead channel.William Gibson revolutionised science fiction in his 1984 debut Neuromancer. The writer who gave us the matrix and coined the term 'cyberspace' produced a first novel that won the Hugo, Nebula and Philip K. Dick Awards, and lit the fuse on the Cyberpunk movement. More than three decades later, Gibson's text is as stylish as ever, his noir narrative still glitters like chrome in the shadows and his depictions of the rise and abuse of corporate power look more prescient every day. Part thriller, part warning, Neuromancer is a timeless classic of modern SF and one of the 20th century's most potent and compelling visions of the future.

Gateway

Xeelee: Vacuum Diagrams

Stephen Baxter
Authors:
Stephen Baxter
Orion

Broken Promise

Linwood Barclay
Authors:
Linwood Barclay
Orion

The Killing Season

Mason Cross
Authors:
Mason Cross
Orion

The Stranger

Harlan Coben
Authors:
Harlan Coben
Orion

Missing You

Harlan Coben
Authors:
Harlan Coben
Gollancz

White Cat

Holly Black
Authors:
Holly Black

CASSEL IS CURSEDCursed by a memory. He murdered the girl he loved - and he doesn't remember why.In a world where magic is illegal and his family is branded criminal, Cassel doesn't fit in. He has no magical talent - just a gift for getting into trouble.Boarding school offers an escape, but then the dreams start. Dreams that drive him home to unravel his past. Dreams that force him to confront who he really is and what he's really done. Cassel is about to discover that his family hides an incredible secret - one that will transform his life for ever.A sensational new novel from the bestselling author of The Spiderwick Chronicles.

Gollancz

Who Goes There

John W. Campbell
Authors:
John W. Campbell
Orion

Wycliffe and the School Bullies

W.J. Burley
Authors:
W.J. Burley
Gollancz

Time's Eye

Arthur C. Clarke, Stephen Baxter
Authors:
Arthur C. Clarke, Stephen Baxter

A stunning new companion series to 2001 A SPACE ODYSSEY from the world's most important SF writer and his acknowledged heir1885, the North West Frontier. Rudyard Kipling is witness to a bizarre encounter between the British army and what appears to be an impossibly advanced piece of Russian technology. And then to a terrifying intervention by a helicopter from 2037. Before the full impact of this extraordinary event has even begun to sink in, Kipling, his friends and the helicopter crew stumble across Alexander the Great's army. Mankind's time odyssey has begun.It is a journey that will see Alexander avoid his premature death and carve out an Empire that expands from Carthage to China, beating the time-slipped army of Ghenghis Khan in a battle outside the ruins of Babylon in the process. And it will present mankind with two devastating truths. Aliens are amongst us and have been manipulating our past and our future. And that future extends only as far as 2037, for that is the date Earth will be destroyed.This is SF that spans countless centuries and carries cutting edge ideas on time travel and alien intervention. It shows two of the genre's masters at their groundbreaking best.

Orion

Wycliffe & The Tangled Web

W.J. Burley
Authors:
W.J. Burley

A beautiful girl goes missing, and Wycliffe must untangle a mystery to solve a murder . . .A beautiful schoolgirl goes missing from a Cornish village on the day she has told her boyfriend and sister she is pregnant. The possibility that she has been raped or murdered - or both - grows with every passing hour, and Chief Superintendent Wycliffe is brought in on the case.The investigation reveals a complex network of family relationships and rivalries centred on the girl; and then Wycliffe finds a body - but not the one he expects. Have there been two murders? And if so, are they connected?Wycliffe digs deeper, and soon realises that just beneath the normal, day-to-day surface of the community lies a web of hatred and resentment - a web he will have to untangle if he is to find the key to the mystery . . .