M. John Harrison - Viriconium - Orion Publishing Group

Viriconium

By M. John Harrison

  • Paperback
  • £9.99

Viriconium, the Pastel City, was the last bastion of the civilised world ...

In Viriconium, the young men whistle to one another all night long as they go about their deadly games. If you wake suddenly, you might hear footsteps running, or an urgent sigh. After a minute or two, the whistles move away in the direction of the Tinmarket or the Margarethestrasse. The next day, some lordling is discovered in the gutter with his throat cut. Who can tell fantasy from reality, magic from illusion, hero from villain, man from monster ... in Viriconium?

Published here for the first time in one volume, and in the author's preferred order, are all the Viriconium stories, originally published in four books: The Pastel City, A Storm of Wings, In Viriconium and Viriconium Nights.

Biographical Notes

M. John Harrison (1945 - ) Michael John Harrison is the author of, amongst others, the Viriconium stories, The Centauri Device, Climbers, The Course of the Heart, Signs of Life, Light and Nova Swing. He has won the Boardman Tasker Award (Climbers), the James Tiptree Jr Award (Light) and the Arthur C. Clarke Award (Nova Swing). He lives in Shropshire.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781857989953
  • Publication date: 13 Jul 2000
  • Page count: 576
  • Imprint: Gollancz
Gateway

Retief: Envoy to New Worlds

Keith Laumer
Authors:
Keith Laumer
Gollancz

The Path of Anger

Antoine Rouaud
Authors:
Antoine Rouaud

There will be blood. There will be death. This is the path of anger.Dun-Cadal has been drinking his life away for years. Betrayed by his friends - who turned their back on their ideals in favour of a new republic - and grief-stricken at the loss of his apprentice, who saved his life on the battlefield and whom he trained as a knight in exchange, he's done with politics, with adventure, and with people. But people aren't finished with him - not yet. Viola is a young historian looking for the last Emperor's sword, and her search not only brings her to Dun-Cadal, it's also going to embroil them both in a series of assassinations. Because Dun-Cadal's turncoat friends are being murdered, one by one ... By someone who kills in the unmistakable style of an Imperial assassin ...

Gollancz

Climbers

M. John Harrison
Authors:
M. John Harrison

One of M. John Harrison's most acclaimed novels in a career of near universal acclaim, CLIMBERS is, perhaps, the least fantastical of his novels. Yet it carries life-changing moments, descriptions of landscape bordering on the hallucinogenic and flights of pure fictive power that leave any notion of the divide between realistic and unrealistic fiction far behind. First published in 1989, CLIMBERS has remained a strong favourite with fans and reviewers alike.A young man seeks to get a grip on his life by taking up rock-climbing. He hopes that by engaging with the hard realities of the rock and the fall he can grasp what is important about life. But as he is drawn into the obsessive world of climbing he learns that taking things to the edge comes with its own price.Retreating from his failed marriage to Pauline, Mike leaves London for the Yorkshire moors, where he meets Normal and his entourage, busy pursuing their own dreams of escape. Travelling from crag to crag throughout the country, they are searching for the unattainable: the perfect climb. Through rock-climbing, Mike discovers an intensity of experience - a wash of pain, fear and excitement - that obliterates the rest of his world. Increasingly addicted to the adrenaline, folklore and camaraderie of the sport, he finds, for a time, a genuine escape. But it is gained at a price...This dark, witty and poetic novel is full of the rugged beauty of nature, of the human drive to test oneself against extremes, and of the elation such escape can bring.

Gollancz

Poison

Sarah Pinborough
Authors:
Sarah Pinborough

POISON is a beautifully illustrated re-telling of the Snow White story which takes all the elements of the classic fairytale that we love (the handsome prince, the jealous queen, the beautiful girl and, of course, the poisoning) and puts a modern spin on the characters, their motives and their desires. It's fun, contemporary, sexy, and perfect for fans of ONCE UPON A TIME, GRIMM, SNOW WHITE AND THE HUNTSMAN and more.You can learn more about Sarah Pinborough at www.sarahpinboough.co.uk, or by following @SarahPinborough on twitter.

Gollancz

Wolfhound Century

Peter Higgins
Authors:
Peter Higgins

A thousand miles east of Mirgorod, the great capital city of the Vlast, deep in the ancient forest, lies the most recent fallen angel, its vast stone form half-buried and fused into the rock by the violence of impact. As its dark energy leeches into the crash site, so a circle of death expands around it, slowly - inexorably - killing everything it touches. Alone in the wilderness, it reaches out with its mind.The endless forest and its antique folk lore are no concern to Inspector Vissarion Lom, summoned to the capital in order to catch a terrorist - and ordered to report directly to the head of the secret police. A totalitarian state, worn down by an endless war, must be seen to crush home-grown terrorism with an iron fist. But Lom discovers Mirgorod to be more corrupted than he imagined: a murky world of secret police and revolutionaries, cabaret clubs and doomed artists. Lom has been chosen because he is an outsider, not involved in the struggle for power within the party. And because of the sliver of angel stone implanted in his head at the children's home. Lom's investigation reveals a conspiracy that extends to the top echelons of the party. When he exposes who - or rather what - is the controlling intelligence behind this, it is time for the detective to change sides. Pursued by rogue police agents and their man-crushing mudjhik, Lom must protect Kantor's step-daughter Maroussia, who has discovered what is hidden beneath police headquarters: a secret so ancient that only the forest remembers. As they try to escape the capital and flee down river, elemental forces are gathering. The earth itself is on the move.

Gateway

Spellsinger

Alan Dean Foster
Authors:
Alan Dean Foster

It was where beasts walked and talked as men, armed with swords and daggers. And it was where Clothahump, turtle and wizard, stretched his powers of sorcery to their limit, reaching out to another universe, seeking help to combat the force of evil emanating from the dreaded Greendowns. And so Jonathan Meriweather found himself plucked from his peaceful university life and catapulted into a strange new world to become part of a very strange fellowship. Soldier and crusader, fighting with sword and song, he is the Spellsinger.

Gateway

To Your Scattered Bodies Go

Philip Jose Farmer
Authors:
Philip Jose Farmer

All those who ever lived on Earth have found themselves resurrected - healthy, young, and naked as newborns - on the grassy banks of a mighty river, in a world unknown. Miraculously provided with food, but with no clues to the meaning of their strange new afterlife, billions of people from every period of Earth's history - and prehistory - must start again. Sir Richard Francis Burton would be the first to glimpse the incredible way-station, a link between worlds. This forbidden sight would spur the renowned 19th-century explorer to uncover the truth. Along with a remarkable group of compatriots, including Alice Liddell Hargreaves (the Victorian girl who was the inspiration for Alice in Wonderland), an English-speaking Neanderthal, a WWII Holocaust survivor, and a wise extraterrestrial, Burton sets sail on the magnificent river. His mission: to confront humankind's mysterious benefactors, and learn the true purpose - innocent or evil - of the Riverworld . . . Winner of the Hugo Award for best novel, 1972

Gateway

Raft

Stephen Baxter
Authors:
Stephen Baxter
Gateway

The Skylark of Space

E.E. 'Doc' Smith
Authors:
E.E. 'Doc' Smith

Brilliant government scientist Richard Seaton discovers a remarkable faster-than-light fuel that will power his interstellar spaceship, The Skylark. His ruthless rival, Marc DuQuesne, and the sinister World Steel Corporation will do anything to get their hands on the fuel. When they kidnap Seaton's fiancee and friends, they unleash a furious pursuit and ignite a burning desire for revenge that will propel The Skylark across the galaxy and back.

Gollancz

Nova Swing

M. John Harrison
Authors:
M. John Harrison
Gollancz

Empty Space

M. John Harrison
Authors:
M. John Harrison
Gollancz

The Legion of Shadow

Michael J. Ward
Authors:
Michael J. Ward
Gateway

Swords and Deviltry

Fritz Leiber
Authors:
Fritz Leiber
Gateway

Tarnsman of Gor

John Norman
Authors:
John Norman

Tarl Cabot has always believed himself to be a citizen of Earth. He has no inkling that his destiny is far greater than the small planet he has inhabited for the first twenty-odd years of his life. One frosty winter night in the New England woods, he finds himself transported to the planet of Gor, also known as Counter-Earth, where everything is dramatically different from anything he has ever experienced. It emerges that Tarl is to be trained as a Tarnsman, one of the most honored positions in the rigid, caste-bound Gorean society. He is disciplined by the best teachers and warriors that Gor has to offer...but to what end? This is the first installment of John Norman's wildly popular and controversial Gor series, which has sold millions of copies.

Gateway

The Chasch

Jack Vance
Authors:
Jack Vance

Tschai, the setting for the quartet of novels which commences with The Chasch (originally City of the Chasch), is a planet inhabited by a variety of alien species coexisting uneasily with humans - the Chasch, the Wannek, the Dirdir and the Pnume.All Jack Vance titles in the SFGateway use the author's preferred texts, as restored for the Vance Integral Edition (VIE), an extensive project masterminded by an international online community of Vance's admirers. In general, we also use the VIE titles, and have adopted the arrangement of short story collections to eliminate overlaps.

Gateway

Orbitsville

Bob Shaw
Authors:
Bob Shaw

Racing from the certain vengeance of Earth's tyrant ruler, space captain Vance Garamond flees the Solar System.And discovers the almost unimaginably vast spherical structure soon to become famous as 'Orbitsville' - a new home for Earth's huddled masses.Behind Garamond comes Earth's space fleet...Winner of the BSFA Award for best novel, 1975

Gateway

Who Goes Here?

Bob Shaw
Authors:
Bob Shaw
Gateway

The Ragged Astronauts

Bob Shaw
Authors:
Bob Shaw

Land and Overland - twin worlds a few thousand miles apart. On Land, humanity faces a threat to its very survival - an airborne species, the ptertha, has declared war on humankind, and is actively hunting for victims. The only hope lies in migration. Through space to Overland. By balloon. The Ragged Astronauts - first volume in an epic adventure filled with memorable characters, intense action, engaging notions, exotic locales.Winner of the BSFA Award for best novel, 1986

Gateway

The Road to Corlay

Richard Cowper
Authors:
Richard Cowper
Gollancz

Light

M. John Harrison
Authors:
M. John Harrison

On the barren surface of an asteroid, located deep in the galaxy beneath the unbearable light of the Kefahuchi Tract, lie three objects: an abandoned spacecraft, a pair of bone dice covered with strange symbols, and a human skeleton. What they are and what they mean are the mysteries explored and unwrapped in LIGHT, M. John Harrison's triumphant novel.