Robert K Wilcox - Scream of Eagles - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781908059093
    • Publication date:03 Nov 2011

Scream of Eagles

By Robert K Wilcox

  • Paperback
  • £9.99

The real Top Gun - the dramatic account of the US Navy's fighter pilots and how they took back the skies over Vietnam

The real Top Gun - the dramatic account of the US Navy's fighter pilots and how they took back the skies over Vietnam

In the darkest days of the Vietnam War, the US Navy's kill ratio had fallen to 2:1 - a deadly decline in pilot combat effectiveness. To improve the odds, a corps of hardened fighter pilots founded the Fighter Weapons School, a.k.a. Top Gun. Utilising actual enemy fighter planes in brutally realistic dogfights, the Top Gun instructors dueled with their students and each other to achieve a lethal new level of fighting expertise. The training paid off and the Top Gunners dominated the skies over Vietnam.

This gripping account takes you inside the cockpit for an adventure more explosive than any fiction, in the dramatic true story of the legendary military school that has created the most dangerous fighter pilots the world had ever seen.

Biographical Notes

Robert K Wilcox is the award-winning, bestselling author of such military works as WINGS OF FURY, JAPAN'S SECRET WAR and BLACK ACES HIGH. He has also reported for the New York Times. During the Vietnam War, he served as an Air Force information officer.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781908059000
  • Publication date: 15 Sep 2011
  • Page count: 320
  • Imprint: W&N
Trapeze

Gabby: The Little Dog that had to Learn to Bark

Barby Keel
Authors:
Barby Keel
W&N

The Minds of Billy Milligan

Daniel Keyes
Authors:
Daniel Keyes

'Fascinating' LA Times '[Keyes] has carried it off brilliantly, bringing not only a fine clarity but a special warmth and empathy' Washington PostBilly Milligan was a man tormented by twenty-four distinct personalities battling for supremacy - a battle that culminated when he awoke in jail, arrested for the kidnap and rape of three women. In a landmark trial, Billy was acquitted of his crimes by reason of insanity caused by multiple personality disorder - the first such court decision in history. Among the twenty-four are: Philip, a petty criminal; Kevin, who dealt drugs; April, whose only ambition was to kill Billy's stepfather; Adalana, the shy, affection-starved lesbian who 'used' Billy's body in the rapes that led to his arrest; David, the eight-year-old 'keeper of the pain'; and the Teacher, the sum of all Billy's alter egos fused into one. In The Minds of Billy Milligan, Daniel Keyes brings to light the most remarkable and harrowing case of multiple personality ever recorded.

Trapeze

The Street Dog Who Found a Home

Barby Keel
Authors:
Barby Keel

A heartwarming true animal story, for fans of A Street Cat Named Bob and Marley & Me. When Chewy the dog arrives at the animal sanctuary run by the inimitable Barby Keel, the scrawny little dog is terrified. Having been abandoned by his beloved owner, who is himself homeless, Chewy's whole world has been turned upside down. After years of sleeping on the streets, Chewy knows what it is to be cold and hungry, to have nowhere safe to stay, no warm bed to sleep on, no regular food or time to play. Despite her resolve to not get too attached to the animals that come into her care, Barby cannot help but feel there is something special about this little dog. Soon he won't let Barby out of his sight, and in doing so works his way into her heart. But some scars run too deep and it takes every ounce of Barby's patience to help Chewy heal from the traumas of his past. In doing so, Barby learns that in healing others, we often heal ourselves. A Street Cat Named Bob meets Marley & Me, The Street Dog Who Found a Home is a beautifully uplifting and heartwarming tale of the love and friendship that exists between humans and animals.

W&N

The Deadly Trade

Iain Ballantyne
Authors:
Iain Ballantyne
Gateway

The Word for World is Forest

Ursula K. Le Guin
Authors:
Ursula K. Le Guin

When the inhabitants of a peaceful world are conquered by the bloodthirsty yumens, their existence is irrevocably altered. Forced into servitude, the Athsheans find themselves at the mercy of their brutal masters.Desperation causes the Athsheans, led by Selver, to retaliate against their captors, abandoning their strictures against violence. But in defending their lives, they have endangered the very foundations of their society. For every blow against the invaders is a blow to the humanity of the Athsheans. And once the killing starts, there is no turning back.

W&N

Empire of the Deep

Ben Wilson
Authors:
Ben Wilson

The bestselling complete history of the British Navy - our national story through a different prism.The story of our navy is nothing less than the story of Britain, our culture and our empire. Much more than a parade of admirals and their battles, this is the story of how an insignificant island nation conquered the world's oceans to become its greatest trading empire. Yet, as Ben Wilson shows, there was nothing inevitable about this rise to maritime domination, nor was it ever an easy path. EMPIRE OF THE DEEP: THE RISE AND FALL OF THE BRITISH NAVY also reveals how our naval history has shaped us in more subtle and surprising ways - our language, culture, politics and national character all owe a great debt to this conquest of the seas. This is a gripping, fresh take on our national story.

W&N

Worlds of Labour

Eric Hobsbawm
Authors:
Eric Hobsbawm
Orion

The Ultimate 5:2 Diet Recipe Book

Kate Harrison
Authors:
Kate Harrison
W&N

Cochrane

Donald Thomas
Authors:
Donald Thomas

Bestselling account of the life of a real Horatio HornblowerThe life of Thomas, Lord Cochrane, later 10th Earl of Dundonald, was more extraordinary than that of Nelson, more far fetched than that of Hornblower or Patrick O'Brien's Jack Aubrey. Born the son of an eccentric and indigent Scottish peer, he entered the Royal Navy in 1793. In a series of outstanding and heroic actions, often against seemingly overwhelming odds, he made his name fighting Napoleon's navy as one of the most dashing and daring frigate captains of his day, before embarking on a career as a mercenary admiral.

W&N

Trigger Time

Mick Flynn
Authors:
Mick Flynn

Gritty, but witty, description of life and death on the front line in Afghanistan, by the bestselling author of BULLET MAGNET.Now Zad, Afghanistan: a small unit of British soldiers are beseiged on a hilltop, surrounded by Taliban. There is no way out but through ambush country, on roads full of IEDs. In any case, the British have no intention of running: they have promised the local population that they are here to stay. But every day the attacks on their position become more daring, the shells more accurate. It is only a matter of time before someone gets hurt...This is the gritty but life-affirming story of how Britain's most highly decorated frontline soldier led his men through two tours in Afghanistan. Through rocket strikes and IED attacks, drugs busts, ambushes and full scale battles, Mick Flynn's first priority has always been to get his men out alive. But it is an ambition he can't promise to live up to...

W&N

Air America

Christopher Robbins
Authors:
Christopher Robbins
Orion

Evelyn

Evelyn Doyle
Authors:
Evelyn Doyle
W&N

Fate is the Hunter

Ernest K. Gann
Authors:
Ernest K. Gann

The copper-bottomed classic from a memorable and courageous pilot.FATE IS THE HUNTER is a fascinating and thrilling account of some of the more memorable experiences Ernest K Gann had in the air. He's flown in both peace and war and come close to death many times. Here he reveals the characters he's known and the dramas he's experienced, portraying fate (or death) as a hunter constantly in pursuit of pilots. This is a fabulous account of both the history of aviation and one man's life in the air.

W&N

The Inner Man

John Baxter
Authors:
John Baxter

An explosive and perceptive biography of the British novelist J.G. BallardTo many people, J.G. Ballard will always be the schoolboy in Steven Spielberg's movie Empire of the Sun, struggling to survive as an internee of the Japanese during World War II. Others remember him as the author of CRASH, a meditation on the eroticism of the automobile and the car crash, which also became a film and a cause celebre for its frank depiction of a fetish which, as this book reveals, was no literary conceit but a lifelong preoccupation.In this first biography, John Baxter draws on an admiration of and acquaintance with Ballard that began when they were writers for the same 1960s science fiction magazines. With the help of the few people whom he admitted to his often hermit-like existence, it illuminates the troubled reality behind the urbane and amiable facade of a man who was proud to describe himself as 'psychopathic'.

W&N

The Translation of the Bones

Francesca Kay
Authors:
Francesca Kay
W&N

The Art of Betrayal

Gordon Corera
Authors:
Gordon Corera
W&N

Revolutionaries

Eric Hobsbawm
Authors:
Eric Hobsbawm

A collection of essays which represent a lifetime's writing,lectures & thoughts on revolutionary modern political developments throughout Europe.

W&N

Uncommon People

Eric Hobsbawm
Authors:
Eric Hobsbawm

A fascinating collection of essays concerning working men and women.These 26 essays range over the history of working men and women between the late 18th century and the present day. They include Hobsbawm's pioneering studies in labour history and social protest - the formation of the British working class, labour custom and traditions, the political radicalism of 19th century shoemakers, male and female images in revolutionary movements, the machine-breakers, revolution and sex, peasants and politics, the rules of violence, the common-sense of Tom Paine. There are more recent reflections: on the May Day holiday; the Vietnam War; socialism and the avantgarde; Mario Puzo, the Mafia and the Sicilian bandit Salvatore Guiliano; and the cultural consequences of Christopher Columbus. There are tributes to some of jazz's legendary figures - Count Basie, Sidney Bechet and Dike Ellington - anf the tragic blues-singer Billie Holiday.

W&N

England's Last War Against France

Colin Smith
Authors:
Colin Smith
Gateway

The Forever War

Joe Haldeman
Authors:
Joe Haldeman

Private William Mandella is a reluctant hero in an interstellar war against an unknowable and unconquerable alien enemy. But his greatest test will be when he returns home. Relativity means that for every few months' tour of duty centuries have passed on Earth, isolating the combatants ever more from the world for whose future they are fighting.