Robert K Wilcox - Scream of Eagles - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback
    More information
    • ISBN:9781908059000
    • Publication date:15 Sep 2011

Scream of Eagles

By Robert K Wilcox

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

The real Top Gun - the dramatic account of the US Navy's fighter pilots and how they took back the skies over Vietnam

The real Top Gun - the dramatic account of the US Navy's fighter pilots and how they took back the skies over Vietnam

In the darkest days of the Vietnam War, the US Navy's kill ratio had fallen to 2:1 - a deadly decline in pilot combat effectiveness. To improve the odds, a corps of hardened fighter pilots founded the Fighter Weapons School, a.k.a. Top Gun. Utilising actual enemy fighter planes in brutally realistic dogfights, the Top Gun instructors dueled with their students and each other to achieve a lethal new level of fighting expertise. The training paid off and the Top Gunners dominated the skies over Vietnam.

This gripping account takes you inside the cockpit for an adventure more explosive than any fiction, in the dramatic true story of the legendary military school that has created the most dangerous fighter pilots the world had ever seen.

Biographical Notes

Robert K Wilcox is the award-winning, bestselling author of such military works as WINGS OF FURY, JAPAN'S SECRET WAR and BLACK ACES HIGH. He has also reported for the New York Times. During the Vietnam War, he served as an Air Force information officer.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781908059093
  • Publication date: 03 Nov 2011
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: W&N
W&N

The Book of Unexplained Mysteries

Will Pearson
Authors:
Will Pearson

Orion

Where Love Grows

Cathy Bramley
Authors:
Cathy Bramley

Orion

Home to Appleby Farm

Cathy Bramley
Authors:
Cathy Bramley
W&N

The Woman's Hour

Elaine Weiss
Authors:
Elaine Weiss
Trapeze

Maid

Stephanie Land
Authors:
Stephanie Land
Seven Dials

The Upside

Abdel Sellou
Authors:
Abdel Sellou

The story of how Abdel Sellou (a charismatic ex-con) came to be the caretaker of Philippe Pozzo di Borgo (a paralyzed French aristocrat) inspired the award-winning French movie Les Intouchables (2012), which became an international phenomenon and broke records as one of the most successful French movies of all time. Now, The Upside, the American remake of Les Intouchables, starring Kevin Hart, Bryan Cranston, and Nicole Kidman will be released in both the US and the UK in January 2019.Abdel Sellou and Philippe Pozzo di Borgo were two people marginalized by society: Sellou a wisecracking, unemployed immigrant, just out on parole; Pozzo a man born to wealth and privilege, recently paralyzed from the neck down after a paragliding accident. How they came to help each other, and the unlikely friendship that became a lifeline for them both, is an uplifting story that's now been told and retold around the world.

W&N

Written in History

Simon Sebag Montefiore
Authors:
Simon Sebag Montefiore

History cannot be relived, but thanks to a tradition that spans millennia, we can revisit it in the letters of the people who influenced or witnessed the moments it changed for ever. In WRITTEN IN HISTORY, acclaimed historian Simon Sebag Montefiore selects some of the greatest letters ever written from ancient times to the twentieth century: declarations of war, petitions for peace, diplomatic entanglements, steamy love letters and beyond. In each case, he explores the significance of each piece of correspondence and shows how letters can open a unique window to the past and the personalities of some of the greatest - and most notorious - figures in history.(p) Orion Publishing Group 2018

Trapeze

Gabby: The Little Dog that had to Learn to Bark

Barby Keel
Authors:
Barby Keel

A heartwarming true animal story, for fans of A Dog's Purpose, A Street Cat Named Bob and Marley & Me. In the 54 years she has run the Barby Keel Animal Sanctuary, deep in the Kent countryside, Barby has taken in all manner of animals in need of love, care and a second chance at life. She thinks she's seen it all until Gabby, a scruffy, golden-haired terrier, arrives on her doorstep. Trembling, her eyes wide with fear, Gabby is unable to play with other dogs and is completely mute. When Barby discovers that Gabby has been kept locked indoors her whole life, all becomes clear - Gabby has never learnt to be a dog. Soon Barby has fallen in love with this strange little mutt and is determined to help her connect with her true nature. But when tragedy befalls Barby, it is not only Gabby but the entire animal sanctuary that's at stake...A Street Cat Named Bob meets Marley & Me, this is an emotional, joyful true story of the deepest bond that exists between humans and animals.

Orion

Two Kinds of Truth

Michael Connelly
Authors:
Michael Connelly

Harry Bosch works cold cases, helping out the under-funded San Fernando police department. When a double murder at a local pharmacy is called in, Bosch is the most seasoned detective on the scene.But with experience, come the ghosts of long-forgotten crimes. A death row inmate claims Bosch framed him, and that new DNA evidence proves it. The LAPD investigators say the case is watertight, leaving Bosch out in the wilderness to clear his name and keep a sadistic killer behind bars.There's only one person he can trust to help prove his innocence: Micky Haller, The Lincoln Lawyer...As both cases tangle around him, Bosch learns there are two kinds of truth: the kind that won't die and the kind that kills.

W&N

The Mesmerist

Wendy Moore
Authors:
Wendy Moore
W&N

Pearl Harbor

Craig Nelson
Authors:
Craig Nelson
W&N

Where Poppies Blow

John Lewis-Stempel
Authors:
John Lewis-Stempel

Winner of the 2017 Wainwright Golden Beer Book Prize for nature writingThe natural history of the Western Front during the First World War'If it weren't for the birds, what a hell it would be.'During the Great War, soldiers lived inside the ground, closer to nature than many humans had lived for centuries. Animals provided comfort and interest to fill the blank hours in the trenches - bird-watching, for instance, was probably the single most popular hobby among officers. Soldiers went fishing in flooded shell holes, shot hares in no-man's land for the pot, and planted gardens in their trenches and billets. Nature was also sometimes a curse - rats, spiders and lice abounded, and disease could be biblical.But above all, nature healed, and, despite the bullets and blood, it inspired men to endure. Where Poppies Blow is the unique story of how nature gave the British soldiers of the Great War a reason to fight, and the will to go on.

W&N

A Million Years in a Day

Greg Jenner
Authors:
Greg Jenner
W&N

Death To The French

C. S. Forester
Authors:
C. S. Forester

A stand-alone novel that inspired Bernard Cornwell's Sharpe seriesIt is 1810, and the last French invasion of Portugal has penned Wellington's army behind the river Tagus with their backs to the sea.Separated from his regiment, Rifleman Dodd of the Ninety-Fifth stumbles on a band of undisciplined Portuguese guerrillas. With rough inventiveness he transforms this ramshackle group into an organised fighting force, continually harrying the infuriated enemy as he battles his way back to his own lines.Written by the author of the Hornblower series, DEATH TO THE FRENCH is a classic novel of the Peninsular War, and was the inspiration for Bernard Cornwell's Sharpe books.

Orion

The Ultimate 5:2 Diet Recipe Book

Kate Harrison
Authors:
Kate Harrison

The 5:2 Diet is transforming lives worldwide. Thousands are losing weight, improving their health and saving money.Now, The Ultimate 5:2 Diet Recipe Book makes this lifestyle easier than ever, with recipes that make food on your Fast Days a pleasure. It's packed with easy, delicious dishes, from Great Start Breakfasts to International Favourites, Comfort Food, Super Soups, and even Sweet Treats.This down-to-earth guide by The 5:2 Diet Book author Kate Harrison mixes great recipes with all the humour, money-saving tips and practical advice that made the first book a bestseller. It also explains the science and incredible health benefits of this simple, inspiring approach. This cookbook focuses on fresh, delicious and fast home cooking, with meals that taste nothing like 'diet' food. It includes:. More than 85 recipes, all calorie counted, with dozens more ideas for adapting them to suit your life and budget;. 5:2 Lives: inspirational stories and honest food diaries from real dieters, who share the secrets of their success;. 5:2 Know-How: tips on everything from store cupboard suppers, time-saving gadgets and fitting 5:2 around family life and holidays;. How to 5:2: an updated, easy-to-follow guide to how, and why, you can begin this life-changing plan right now.The Ultimate 5:2 Diet Recipe Book is the only cookbook you'll ever need to help you lose weight, boost your brain and change your attitude to food forever.

W&N

The Translation of the Bones

Francesca Kay
Authors:
Francesca Kay
W&N

The Kappillan of Malta

Nicholas Monsarrat
Authors:
Nicholas Monsarrat
W&N

Hombre

Elmore Leonard
Authors:
Elmore Leonard

A classic tale of the American west from the NEW YORK TIMES bestselling author.John Russell has been raised as an Apache. Now he's on his way to live as a white man. But when the stagecoach passengers learn who he is, they want nothing to do with him. That is, until outlaws ride down on them and they must rely on Russell's guns and his ability to lead them out of the desert. He can't ride with them, but they must walk with him or die...

W&N

Low Level Hell

Hugh Mills, Robert Anderson
Authors:
Hugh Mills, Robert Anderson

'The best 'bird's eye view' of the helicopter war in Vietnam in print today ... Mills has captured the realities of a select group of aviators who shot craps with death on every mission' R.S. Maxham, Director, US Army Aviation MuseumThe aeroscouts of the 1st Infantry Division have three words emblazoned on their unit patch: Low Level Hell. It was the perfect concise defininition of what those intrepid aviators experienced as they ranged the skies of Vietnam from the Cambodian border to the Iron Triangle. The Outcasts, as they were known, flew low and slow. They were the aerial eyes of the division in search of the enemy. Too often for longevity's sake they found the Viet Cong and the fight was on. These young pilots, who were usually 19 to 22 years old, invented the book as they went along.

W&N

Stalin

Simon Sebag Montefiore
Authors:
Simon Sebag Montefiore