Related to: 'The Frozen Heart'

W&N

The Wind from the East

Almudena Grandes
Authors:
Almudena Grandes

'This magnificent saga of shipwrecked lives grips from the first sentence and weaves parallel intrigues of memory and survivial, money and revenge, resolved only in the closing pages' IndependentIn a small seaside suburb two strangers arrive - Juan Olmedo, accompanied by his mentally disabled brother and his young niece, and Sara Gomez, an enigmatic woman in her fifties. Both have their reasons for fleeing the city. Sara's father had returned from the Civil war a broken man, unable to support his family. In desperation, her mother was forced to give up the young baby to her childless employer. Growing up amidst a background that would never truly be her own, Sara was forever caught between her love of the good life and her feelings of duty towards a family and a poverty that repelled her. Now Sara has more money than she had ever dreamed of, but her freedom has come at a price. Juan also has his reasons for wanting to start again. A doctor in the local ER unit, he is haunted by a tragedy in his family's past and by a secret sexual obsession that threatens the fragile equilibrium he has found in his new home. An emotional, sensual, sweeping epic saga for fans of Elena Ferrante and Maggie O'Farrell.

W&N

The Ages of Lulu

Almudena Grandes
Authors:
Almudena Grandes

A stunning erotic novel that has sold over 1 million copies worldwide - FIFTY SHADES OF GREY for a more sophisticated and adventurous reader.Long before FIFTY SHADES OF GREY, Grandes was dazzling the literary world with this highly charged novel about a young woman embarking on a series of sexual adventures.Lulu's journey begins won the night she loses her virginity to Pablo - her brother's best friend and twelve years her senior. Their relationship is obsessive - not possessive - and their appetites for new erotic territory are insatiable. Lulu's thirst for sexual discovery takes her through voyeurism, power plays and homoeroticism. But soon her forays into illicit and dangerous sex threaten to absorb her completely.

Adjoa Andoh

Adjoa Andoh has worked extensively in both television and theatre with parts in TV projects such as 'Dr. Who' and Philip Pullman`s `The Shadow of the North`. She also had a role in 'His Dark Materials' at the National Theatre. Adjoa has read many audiobooks including numerous titles by Alexander McCall Smith's.

Alan Bradley

Alan Bradley was born into a family of storytellers who never stopped talking about the old days 'back home' in England - for which he is eternally grateful. He is a former professor at the University of Saskatchewan, where he lectured on screen writing. Alan is the author of a memoir, THE SHOEBOX BIBLE in addition to the bestselling Flavia de Luce series. He lives with his wife, Shirley, in the Isle of Man.To find out more, visit www.flaviadeluce.com.

Alastair Reynolds

Alastair Reynolds was born in Barry, South Wales, in 1966. He studied at Newcastle and St Andrews Universities and has a Ph.D. in astronomy. He stopped working as an astrophysicist for the European Space Agency to become a full-time writer. REVELATION SPACE and PUSHING ICE were shortlisted for the ARTHUR C. CLARKE AWARD; REVELATION SPACE, ABSOLUTION GAP, DIAMOND DOGS and CENTURY RAIN were shortlisted for the BRITISH SCIENCE FICTION AWARD and CHASM CITY won the BRITISH SCIENCE FICTION AWARD.You can learn more by visiting www.alastairreynolds.com, or by following @AquilaRift on twitter.

Ami McKay

Ami McKay's debut novel, The Birth House, was a No.1 bestseller in Canada, winner of three CBA Libris Awards, nominated for the International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award, and a book club favourite around the world. While writing her new novel, The Witches of New York, she discovered several women in her family tree who were accused and tried for witchcraft. Born and raised in Indiana, Ami now lives in Nova Scotia.To find out more, visit www.amimckay.com@sideshowami

Anna Caltabiano

Anna Caltabiano was born in British colonial Hong Kong and educated in Mandarin Chinese schools before moving to Palo Alto, California; the mecca of futurism. She lives down the street from Facebook in the town where its founders reside, along with the pioneers of Google and Apple.

Boris Akunin

Boris Akunin is the pseudonym of Grigory Chkhartishvili. He has been compared to Gogol, Tolstoy and Arthur Conan Doyle, and his Erast Fandorin books have sold over eighteen million copies in Russia alone. He lives in London.

Chris Wooding

Chris Wooding is a full time, award-winning novelist, a YA novelist, and a professional script writer for film and TV. He has travelled extensively, plays bass and guitar (and has recorded several albums) and his novels have been published all over the world.He has penned the Braided Path trilogy, a standalone novel (The Fade) and the Tales of the Ketty Jay series for Gollancz, all of which were critical and commercial successes.Chris Wooding lives in Kent, and you can learn more at www.chriswooding.com.

Christian Cameron

Christian Cameron is a writer and military historian. He participates in re-enacting and experimental archaeology, teaches armoured fighting and historical swordsmanship, and takes his vacations with his family visiting battlefields, castles and cathedrals. He lives in Toronto and is busy writing his next novel.

Clare Corbett

Clare Corbett has had a successful career on stage, screen and radio. Theatre credits include 'To Kill A Mocking Bird' 'Pygmalion' and Spoonface Steinberg' and her TV credits include BBC's 'Spooks,' 'Fastnet' and 'Final Demand'. A winner of the prestigious Carleton Hobbs Radio Award, she has appeared in over 250 radio plays including 'Absolute Power' 'Venus and Adonis' and ' Dr Zhivago'. Her other voice work comprises of Aardman Animation's ' the planet sketch' and numerous audiobooks (children and adult) including 'Poppy Shakespeare', 'Swallowing Grandma' and 'Child X'. She read 'Alys, Always' by Harriet Lane for Orion.

Elisa Lodato

Elisa Lodato grew up in London and read English at Pembroke College, Cambridge. After graduating she went to live in Japan where she developed a love of cherry blossom and tempura. On returning to the UK she spent many happy years working for Google before training to become an English teacher. Helping pupils to search for meaning in a text inspired Elisa to take up the pen and write her own. Her first novel, An Unremarkable Body, was longlisted for the Bath Novel Award 2016. Elisa lives in Surrey with her husband and two children.

Jean E. Pendziwol

Jean E. Pendziwol is an award-winning Canadian author of books for children. Once Upon a Northern Night was shortlisted for a Governor General's Award and the 2014 TD Canadian Children's Literature Awards Book of the Year. The Lightkeeper's Daughters is her debut novel for adults. She lives in Ontario in the shadow of the Nor'Wester Mountains near Lake Superior.

Jennifer Worth

Jennifer Worth trained as a nurse at the Royal Berkshire Hospital, Reading, and was later ward sister at the Elizabeth Garrett Anderson Hospital in London, then the Marie Curie Hospital, also in London. Music had always been her passion, and in 1973 she left nursing in order to study music intensively, teaching piano and singing for about 25 years. Jennifer died in May 2011 after a short illness, leaving her husband Philip, two daughters and three grandchildren. Her books have all been bestsellers.

Joe Hill

Joe Hill is a recipient of the Ray Bradbury Fellowship and the winner of the A.E. Coppard Long Fiction Prize, William Crawford, World Fantasy, British Fantasy, Bram Stoker and International Horror Guild Awards. His short fiction has appeared in literary, mystery and horror collections and magazines in Britain and America.For more information, visit www.joehillfiction.com, visit joehillsthrills.tumblr.com, or follow @Joe_Hill on twitter.

John Connor

John Connor left his job as a barrister to write full time. During the fifteen years of his legal career he prosecuted numerous homicide cases in West Yorkshire and London. He advised the police in numerous proactive drugs and organised crime operations, many involving covert activity. He now lives in Brussels with his wife and two children.

Lesley Lokko

After various careers from cocktail waitress to kibbutz worker, Lesley Lokko trained as an architect, but always dreamt of writing. She lives in Johannesburg.Find out more at www.lesleylokko.com

Linwood Barclay

Linwood Barclay is the international bestselling author of many critically acclaimed novels, including NO SAFE HOUSE, A TAP ON THE WINDOW, TRUST YOUR EYES and the Richard & Judy 2008 Summer Read winner and number one bestseller, NO TIME FOR GOODBYE. He lives near Toronto with his wife.www.linwoodbarclay.com.

Lynsay Sands

Lynsay Sands was born in Canada and is an award-winning author of more than 30 books, which have made the Barnes & Noble and NEW YORK TIMES bestseller lists. She is best known for her Argeneau series, about a modern-day family of vampires.

Maggie Furey

Maggie Furey was one of the original WHS Fresh Talent authors and has gone on to be very successful in the UK and USA. She is also widely translated. She underwent extensive heart surgery years ago and has since made a full recovery. Brought up in County Durham, she now lives in Ireland near Limerick.