Related to: 'A Child's Game'

Orion

Phoenix

John Connor
Authors:
John Connor
Orion

The Playroom

John Connor
Authors:
John Connor

Excellent second novel featuring Yorkshire Detective Constable Karen Sharpe.The daughter of a Bradford judge is kidnapped and a massive, round-the-clock investigation begins. Knowing the chances of Sophie surviving will diminish dramatically after the first twenty-four hours, Detective Chief Superintendent John Munro begins to crack under the pressure of holding together an enquiry swamped with leads. Meanwhile, DC Karen Sharpe is pursuing her own single-handed enquiry into historic child abuse allegations when an MP is accused of rape ten years before. The task of finding corroboration looks hopeless, but Sharpe keeps at it - anything rather than face up to her own tangled personal life. The truth is more complex and frightening, leading back to still unresolved events from a year before.Karen's enquiry uncovers connections with the kidnapping, and, in an explosion of violence and bloodshed, Karen is left fighting not just to find Sophie, but to save herself.

Orion

The Ice House

John Connor
Authors:
John Connor

A taut and twisty thriller about a mother's secrets and the desperate search for her missing daughter - perfect for fans of Angela Marsons, J.B. Turner, Mark Dawson, and Tony Parsons.*Her mother's lies brought her here.Rebecca's mother, Julia, warned her daughter to be careful.She told her not to freeze, that if she sees someone coming for her, she should run. Julia learnt that rule the hard way. When her daughter disappears, it seems the lessons of her past have come back to haunt her. Now, she must find Rebecca - before anybody else does.*Praise for John Connor'A first-rate thriller with a terrific climax' Sunday Telegraph'His plot is enthralling,his characters sharp and vital' Financial Times'He's created a beguilingly complex character, perfectly suited to his taut thrillers' Mirror'John Connor drives his complex tale of secrecy and betrayal along at a cracking pace' Irish Independent'The police procedural novel is given the kind of spruce up it has been in need of for some time' Daily Express

Orion

The Vanishing

John Connor
Authors:
John Connor

A snatched child, a cryptic message and a secret that will tear two lives apart.Twenty years ago, one-year-old Lauren disappeared.Now, ex-policeman Tom Lomax gets a mysterious offer from an heiress, Sara. She wants him to fly to her private island, all expenses paid. He cannot help but be intrigued. But Sara has received a troubling message and, despite all the privileges in her life, she now has no one to turn to and doesn't know whom she can trust.In a matter of hours, both will be thrown headfirst into a race against time that will challenge everything they've believed in and change both their lives for ever.An action-packed, nail-biting thriller with a heart-wrenching story of loss at its core, THE VANISHING is the brand new novel from acclaimed thriller writer John Connor.

Orion

The Opposite of Mercy

John Connor
Authors:
John Connor
Orion

Falling

John Connor
Authors:
John Connor

A stunning thriller that sees DC Karen Sharpe brought to the very edge of her sanityTerror is only a footstep away . . .A year and a half ago DC Karen Sharpe was the victim of a terrifying crime. Desperately trying to shelter from its effects she has been working simple fraud and theft cases in West Yorkshire CID. But the brutal murder of a young pregnant woman threatens the precarious wall she has built around herself. Drafted onto the squad to deal with the victim's six-year-old child, Karen finds herself overwhelmed by the devastating nature of the attack. As nightmares from her past start to reoccur, her relationships with those closest to her - including her partner and teenage daughter - begin to crack under the strain. An illicit relationship with her boss promises excitement and escape: a new beginning without the trappings of past horrors and guilt. But life has a savage lesson in store for her. As West Yorkshire erupts in a summer of explosive race riots, events tip Karen into the depths of the very world she has been fleeing.Why readers love John Connor:'A first-rate thriller with a terrific climax.' Sunday Telegraph'He's created a beguilingly complex character, perfectly suited to his taut thrillers.' Mirror'John Connor drives his complex tale of secrecy and betrayal along at a cracking pace.' Irish Independent'The police procedural novel is given the kind of spruce up it has been in need of for some time.' Daily ExpressFans of Harlan Coben, David Baldacci and Linwood Barclay will love John Connor:Karen Sharpe1. Phoenix2. Playroom 3. A Child's Game 4. Falling5. Unsafe Standalone1. The Vanishing 2. The Ice House * Each John Connor novel can be read as a standalone or in series order *

Orion

Unsafe

John Connor
Authors:
John Connor

Things have got personal for Detective Karen Sharpe - but will she crumble under the pressure? Karen Sharpe has been promoted to Detective Sergeant, but are the pressures of the job getting too much for her?When the battered body of a young girl is discovered, it kicks off an inquiry which pushes Karen and a trainee DC, Marcus Roth, too close for comfort, both on and off-duty. The investigation leads to a woman with a violent past - a woman with a six-year-old boy in her care... As the terrible truth emerges, the inquiry becomes a race against time before another child becomes a victim.Why readers love John Connor:'A first-rate thriller with a terrific climax.' Sunday Telegraph'He's created a beguilingly complex character, perfectly suited to his taut thrillers.' Mirror'John Connor drives his complex tale of secrecy and betrayal along at a cracking pace.' Irish Independent'The police procedural novel is given the kind of spruce up it has been in need of for some time.' Daily ExpressFans of Harlan Coben, David Baldacci and Linwood Barclay will love John Connor:Karen Sharpe1. Phoenix2. Playroom 3. A Child's Game 4. Falling5. Unsafe Standalone1. The Vanishing 2. The Ice House * Each John Connor novel can be read as a standalone or in series order *

Aliette de Bodard

Aliette de Bodard is one of the Writers of the Future, has won two Nebula Awards, a Locus Award and a BSFA Award. She has also been a finalist for the Hugo, Sturgeon, and Tiptree Awards, making her one of our most-lauded contemporary fiction writers. A writer by night, by day she is a qualified engineer, specialising in Applied Mathematics. She lives in Paris, in a flat with more computers than she really needs. You can learn more at www.aliettedebodard.com or by following @aliettedb on twitter.

Anna Freeman

Anna Freeman is an associate lecturer in Creative Writing at Bath Spa University as well as a multiple slam-winning performance poet who has appeared at festivals across Britain including Latitude and Glastonbury. She lives in Bristol. Her first novel, THE FAIR FIGHT, was shortlisted for the Authors' Club Best First Novel award.

Brooke Magnanti

Brooke Magnanti received a Ph.D. in Forensic Pathology from the University of Sheffield, where she studied in the Medico Legal Centre and specialised in the identification of decomposed human remains. She later worked for the NHS in child health research and cancer epidemiology, before being revealed in 2009 as the anonymous author of the award-winning blog Belle de Jour and bestselling Secret Diary of a Call Girl series of books. She lives on the West Coast of Scotland with her husband and hardly ever sees dead people any more.

Charlaine Harris

CHARLAINE HARRIS is a New York Times bestselling author who has been writing for over thirty-five years. Born and raised in the Mississippi Delta, she is the author of the Aurora Teagarden mysteries, basis for the Hallmark Movies & Mysteries Aurora Teagarden original movies; the Midnight, Texas series, now a brand-new TV series; the Sookie Stackhouse urban fantasy series, basis for the HBO show True Blood; the Lily Bard mysteries; the Harper Connelly mysteries; and the co-author of the graphic novel trilogy Cemetery Girl. Harris now lives in Texas with her husband and two rescue dogs.

Daniel Keyes

Daniel Keyes (1927-2014) Daniel Keyes was born in Brooklyn in 1927, and worked as a merchant seaman, editor and university English lecturer. He won the Hugo Award in 1960 for the short story that FLOWERS FOR ALGERNON was based on and the Nebula in 1966 for the full-length novel. In 1968 FLOWERS FOR ALGERNON became the Oscar-winning film CHARLY and has now sold over five million copies worldwide. He died in June 2014.

Edna O'Brien

Since her debut novel THE COUNTRY GIRLS, Edna O'Brien has written over twenty works of fiction along with a biography of James Joyce and Lord Byron. She is the recipient of many awards including the Irish Pen Lifetime Achievement Award, the American National Art's Gold Medal and the Ulysses Medal. Born and raised in the west of Ireland she has lived in London for many years.

Elisa Lodato

Elisa Lodato grew up in London and read English at Pembroke College, Cambridge. After graduating she went to live in Japan where she spent a year teaching, travelling and learning to speak the language. On returning to the UK she spent many happy years working for Google before training to become an English teacher. Helping pupils to search for meaning in a text inspired Elisa to take up the pen and write her own. Her first novel, AN UNREMARKABLE BODY, was longlisted for the Bath Novel Award 2016. Elisa lives in Surrey with her husband and two children.

Elmore Leonard

Elmore Leonard was born in New Orleans in 1925. He wrote forty-five books during his phenomenal career, including the bestsellers MR PARADISE, TISHOMINGO BLUES, BE COOL and THE HOT KID. Many have been made into successful movies, including GET SHORTY with John Travolta, OUT OF SIGHT with George Clooney and RUM PUNCH, which became Tarantino's JACKIE BROWN. He is the recipient of the Cartier Diamond Dagger Award and the PEN USA Lifetime Achievement Award. He died in 2013 in Detroit.www.elmoreleonard.com

Ezekiel Boone

Ezekiel Boone lives in upstate New York with his wife and children. He is the author of THE HATCHING, SKITTER, and ZERO DAY.

Fanny Blake

Fanny Blake was a publisher for many years, editing both fiction and non-fiction before becoming a freelance journalist and writer. She has written a number of novels, including An Italian Summer and Our Summer Together, and various non-fiction titles, as well as acting as ghost writer for a number of celebrities. She was also Books Editor of Woman & Home magazine for over twenty years.Find out more at www.fannyblake.com or follow her on Twitter @fannyblake1

Flynn Berry

FLYNN BERRY is a graduate of the Michener Center and has been awarded a Yaddo residency. She graduated from Brown University.Her first novel, UNDER THE HARROW, was awarded the Edgar Award for Best First Novel and was called 'a triumph' (Sunday Times) and 'thrilling' (New York Times). She lives in California.

Geraldine O'Neill

Geraldine O'Neill is the author of the Tara Flynn trilogy, set in 1950s Ireland. She was born in Lanarkshire, Scotland, and has lived in County Offaly, Ireland, since 1991. Formerly a schoolteacher in Ireland and UK, she now writes full time. She is married to Michael Brosnahan, has two adult children and has recently become a grandmother, which she loves.

Gillian Flynn

GILLIAN FLYNN is the author of the #1 SUNDAY TIMES bestseller GONE GIRL, for which she wrote the Golden Globe-nominated screenplay, and the SUNDAY TIMES bestsellers DARK PLACES and SHARP OBJECTS. A former critic for ENTERTAINMENT WEEKLY, she lives in Chicago with her husband and children.