Related to: 'A Liverpool Secret'

A collection of Maeve Binchy’s Irish Times journalism is to be published on the anniversary of the writer’s death, July 2013.

Maeve's Times

Maeve's Times Announcement

Orion

Music Across the Mersey

Geraldine O'Neill
Authors:
Geraldine O'Neill

When a Dublin family is torn apart, can a new start in Liverpool help heal the wounds? 1940s DublinHandsome widower Johnny Cassidy is out of work, broken-hearted and lost as to how to look after his four children. At his lowest ebb, he's forced to realise that help sometimes comes from the strangest places. With Johnny's family over the sea in Liverpool, it's his wife's spinster cousin Nora who comes to the rescue and has her life turned upside down by this brood of children. With Nora around, Ella Cassidy can be a teenager again rather than trying to raise her younger siblings, while older brother, Sean, finds that music might be his salvation. It seems that each member of the Cassidy family cherishes secret dreams, but will they bring them together or tear them apart?A warm and inviting story of family and friendship, duty and desire, perfect for fans of Maureen Lee and Lyn Andrews.

Orion

Tara Flynn

Geraldine O'Neill
Authors:
Geraldine O'Neill

An enthralling Irish saga from a talented new voice in women's fiction.It's the 1950s and for Tara Flynn, red-haired, bright and ambitious, Ballygrace House represents everything she hopes for - beautiful, elegant and a world away from the small village where she lives with her grandfather. But the wealthy Fitzgeralds who live at Ballygrace have little time for village girls, until Madeleine, their unstable, delicate daughter, meets Tara. Tara is everything Madeleine isn't, yet the two girls find themselves becoming firm friends. When Tara meets Gabriel, Madeleine's older brother, she becomes painfully aware of the differences between the Fitzgeralds and the Flynns. Without a wealthy family behind her, Tara will have to work her way to the life she dreams of. Then Tara finds herself with a heartbreaking decision to make, and must leave the world of Ballygrace behind her and flee to England . . .

Orion

Tara's Fortune

Geraldine O'Neill
Authors:
Geraldine O'Neill
Orion

The Grace Girls

Geraldine O'Neill
Authors:
Geraldine O'Neill
Orion

Cara Gayle

Geraldine O'Neill
Authors:
Geraldine O'Neill

An enchanting story of life and love in 1960s Ireland and beyond, from one of the best saga writers around.Cara Gayle is one of life's pleasers. A young, country school-teacher in 1960s Ireland, she spends her life looking after her philandering husband and her pious mother. When her husband's latest infidelity is revealed, Cara decides it's time to do something for herself. Offered the chance to escape for a few weeks at a family wedding in New York, she's only too keen to accept. There she meets Jameson Carroll, a reclusive artist, and Cara embarks on a once-in-a-lifetime passionate affair. Yet in the background, her return to Ireland looms. Can Cara find the courage, at long last, to finally please herself?

Orion

The Flowers Of Ballygrace

Geraldine O'Neill
Authors:
Geraldine O'Neill
Orion

Tara's Destiny

Geraldine O'Neill
Authors:
Geraldine O'Neill

A gorgeous 1960s saga from a rising star of the genreIt's the start of the 1960s, and the world is changing. But for one woman, it seems things have changed too much already. From the bright-eyed girl growing up in a small Irish village, to the confident young woman running a fine English hotel, Tara's life seems to have changed beyond recognition. On the way, she's met love and heartache - from becoming mistress of Ballygrace house and marrying the dashing Gabriel Fitzgerald, to losing that same sweetheart and being left a desperately young widow. But some things remain, and despite her tumultuous life, Tara still carries with her the spark and determination that has brought her this far. With a spirit as fiery as her striking Titian curls, Tara knows she must face the future with a bold heart, wherever it may lead.TARA'S DESTINY is the captivating final part in Tara's story. Filled with the warmth and charm that have won her so many fans, Geraldine O'Neill delivers a stunning saga, full of passion and drama.

Anna Stuart

Anna wanted to be an author from the moment she could pick up a pen and was writing boarding-school novels behind the sofa by the age of nine. She made the early mistake of thinking she ought to get a 'proper job' and went into Factory Planning - a career that gave her some wonderful experiences, amazing friends and even a fantastic husband, but did not offer much creative scope. So when she stopped to have children she took the chance to start the 'improper job' of writing. During the baby years she wrote in those gaps provided by sleeps, playschools and obliging grandparents, publishing short stories and serials in all the women's magazines.Her ultimate aim was to write longer fiction and several years ago she published a series of successful historical novels under the pseudonym Joanna Courtney. She will continue to publish under that name but is delighted, as Anna Stuart, to also be able to write Bonnie and Stan - a real-life romance set in both the present day and sixties Liverpool.

Candice Carty-Williams

Candice Carty-Williams is a marketer, author and journalist based in London. Born in 1989, the result of an affair between a Jamaican cab driver and a Jamaican-Indian dyslexic receptionist, Candice worked in the media before moving into publishing aged 23. In 2016, Candice created and launched the Guardian and 4th Estate BAME Short Story Prize, is a Penguin Books Write Now mentor, and she also contributes regularly to Refinery29, BEAT Magazine, Guardian Guide and i-D. QUEENIE is her first novel. She can be found on Twitter at @CandiceC_W.

Carlos Ruiz Zafon

Carlos Ruiz Zafón is the author of eight novels, including the international phenomenon THE SHADOW OF THE WIND, and THE ANGEL'S GAME. His work has been published in more than forty-five different languages, has sold over thirty million copies, and has been honoured with numerous international awards. He lives in Los Angeles, California.

Cathy Bramley

Cathy is the author of the best-selling romantic comedies IVY LANE, APPLEBY FARM, CONDITIONAL LOVE, WICKHAM HALL and THE PLUMBERRY SCHOOL OF CONFORT FOOD. She lives in a small Nottinghamshire village with her family and Pearl, the Cockerpoo.Her recent career as a full-time writer of light-hearted romantic fiction has come as somewhat of a lovely surprise after spending eighteen years running her own marketing agency. However, she has always been an avid reader, hiding her book under the duvet and reading by torchlight.

Claire Lombardo

Claire Lombardo is a 2017 graduate of the Iowa Writers' Workshop and has been the recipient of an Iowa Arts Fellowship and a Sun Valley Writers' Conference Fellowship. She is currently an adjunct professor of creative writing at the University of Iowa, and teaches fiction writing at the Iowa Young Writers' Studio. Her short fiction has appeared in, among others, Barrelhouse Magazine, Little Fiction, and Longform. Born and raised in Oak Park, Illinois, she now lives in Iowa City.

E. G. Scott

E. G. Scott is a pseudonym for two NYC-based writers, one a publishing professional and one a screenwriter.

Ed McBain

Ed McBain (1926-2005) was born Salvatore Lombino in New York. He changed his name to Evan Hunter and under that name is known as the author of THE BLACKBOARD JUNGLE and as the writer of the screenplay for Alfred Hitchcock's THE BIRDS. The 87th Precinct series numbers over fifty novels. McBain was a Grand Master of the Mystery Writers of America and was one of three American writers to be awarded the CWA Diamond Dagger for lifetime achievement.

Elisa Lodato

Elisa Lodato grew up in London and read English at Pembroke College, Cambridge. After graduating she went to live in Japan where she spent a year teaching, travelling and learning to speak the language. On returning to the UK she spent many happy years working for Google before training to become an English teacher. Helping pupils to search for meaning in a text inspired Elisa to take up the pen and write her own. Her first novel, AN UNREMARKABLE BODY, was longlisted for the Bath Novel Award 2016. Elisa lives in Surrey with her husband and two children.

Elmore Leonard

Elmore Leonard was born in New Orleans in 1925. He wrote forty-five books during his phenomenal career, including the bestsellers MR PARADISE, TISHOMINGO BLUES, BE COOL and THE HOT KID. Many have been made into successful movies, including GET SHORTY with John Travolta, OUT OF SIGHT with George Clooney and RUM PUNCH, which became Tarantino's JACKIE BROWN. He is the recipient of the Cartier Diamond Dagger Award and the PEN USA Lifetime Achievement Award. He died in 2013 in Detroit.www.elmoreleonard.com

Erica James

Erica James is the number one international bestselling author of twenty-one novels, including the Sunday Times top ten bestsellers Summer at the Lake, The Dandelion Years and Song of the Skylark. She has sold over five million books worldwide and her work has been translated into thirteen languages. Erica won the Romantic Novel of the Year Award for her novel Gardens of Delight, set in beautiful Lake Como, Italy, which has become a second home to her. Her authentic characters are thanks to her fondness for striking up conversation with complete strangers.[Author photo, picture credit]Chat to Erica online:www.ericajames.co.uk[twitter logo] @TheEricaJames[facebook logo] @EricaJamesAuthor[Instagram logo] @the_ericajames

Evan Hunter

Evan Hunter was born in New York City in 1926. He was widely recognised as one of America's most popular novelists, as well as a successful writer for television and cinema whose credits include the screenplay for Alfred Hitchcock's The Birds. As Ed McBain, Evan became one of the most illustrious names in crime fiction. He was a holder of the Mystery Writers of America's coveted Grand Master Award. Evan died in June 2005 at the age of 79.

Gillian Flynn

GILLIAN FLYNN is the author of the #1 SUNDAY TIMES bestseller GONE GIRL, for which she wrote the Golden Globe-nominated screenplay, and the SUNDAY TIMES bestsellers DARK PLACES and SHARP OBJECTS. A former critic for ENTERTAINMENT WEEKLY, she lives in Chicago with her husband and children.

Gillian Kemp

Gillian Kemp has been a clairvoyant all her life and it is her strong belief that 'all women are witches because all women have feminine intuition'. She has worked at corporate events for Fortnum & Mason and Absolute Radio amongst others, and she currently writes for the Daily Mail Online. She also works with private clients and more information can be found on her website: www.gilliankemp.com.