Related to: 'Daddy's Little Soldier'

Trapeze

A Desperate Cry for Help

Maggie Hartley
Authors:
Maggie Hartley

Twelve-year-old Meg arrives at Maggie's after a fire destroys the children's home she's been living in. Terrified and having lost most of her possessions, Maggie must work hard to make the vulnerable young girl feel at home. But traumatised by the fire, and angry and vulnerable, having been put into care by her mother, Meg is lashing out at everyone around her. Can Maggie reach this damaged little girl before it's too late? And before Meg's destructive behaviour puts Maggies life - and the lives of the other children in her care - at risk?

Trapeze

Denied a Mummy

Maggie Hartley
Authors:
Maggie Hartley

When Maggie's latest placement arrives on her doorstep, it is clear that Sean, Dougie and their big sister Mary have been through unspeakable traumas in their short?lives. Violent and malnourished,?the siblings have been left to fend for themselves by their drug-addicted parents. Maggie must use all of her skills and experience as a foster carer to help these damaged siblings to learn to be children again. With much love, care and patience, their behaviour gradually starts to improve and social services start looking for a forever family for them. But alarm bells start to ring when Maggie meets the couple who have been matched to adopt the siblings. It is clear that they're looking for the perfect, ready-made family, and they're not going to get it with these vulnerable brothers and sister. Despite raising her concerns with social services, Maggie is powerless to prevent the adoption from going ahead and she must put aside her own fears to help the siblings settle in with their new parents. But she can't shake the feeling of dread as she waves them goodbye.A few months later, Maggie's worst nightmares come true when she learns that the children have been handed back to the care of social services following the breakdown of the adoption. Maggie must fight to get the children returned to her, but is it too late to undo the damage that has been done?

Trapeze

Sold To Be A Wife

Maggie Hartley
Authors:
Maggie Hartley

The powerfully moving new novel from Sunday Times bestselling author, Maggie Hartley.Fourteen-year-old Shazia has been taken into care after a conversation at school leads her teacher to suspect that the teenager's family are planning to send her to Pakistan for an arranged marriage. To her family's fury, Shazia is sent to live with foster carer Maggie Hartley whilst social services investigate. But with Shazia denying everything and social services unable to find any evidence to support the teacher's fears, Shazia is allowed to return home. But a few weeks later, Maggie is woken up in the middle of the night by a phone call from a terrified Shazia, who has managed to escape the family home through a window. Sobbing, she confesses to Maggie that her parents are planning to send her to Pakistan to be married in a few days, and have threatened to kill her if she speaks out again. Returned to Maggie's care, Shazia is petrified that her parents will track her down and kill her, and Maggie must be on constant alert. But the worst is yet to come when it emerges that Shazia is the victim of FGM. Can Maggie help this damaged and traumatised young girl understand what has happened to her and to find a way to heal?In this new book, Maggie Hartley taps into the highly topical issues of FGM and arranged marriage, and presents a sensitive and unique insight into the effect these practices have on their young victims.

Trapeze

Is It My Fault, Mummy?

Maggie Hartley
Authors:
Maggie Hartley

Foster carer Maggie Hartley is used to receiving placements at short notice, but the arrival of seven-year-old Paris sees her handling one of her most heart-breaking cases yet. Paris arrives at Maggie's house with the police, after the traumatised little girl is found wandering the streets alone, sobbing that she can't wake up her baby brother. When the police eventually discover where Paris lives, they make a shocking discovery: her mum and stepdad are in a heroin-induced coma, and it's too late to save five-month-old baby Joel. Paris is convinced it's all her fault but slowly, through love and care, she begins to open up to Maggie and reveals the horrendous neglect and abuse she and her brother endured. Maggie is stunned to discover that Paris knows exactly how to make a bottle and change a nappy, and it soon becomes clear that this little girl was forced to shoulder the responsibility of looking after her baby brother singlehandedly. With both parents on remand in prison and charged with neglect, Maggie must slowly try to break down the wall of guilt surrounding this damaged little girl and help her heal from the trauma of her brother's death.

Trapeze

Battered, Broken, Healed

Maggie Hartley
Authors:
Maggie Hartley

A new challenge faces foster carer Maggie Hartley: this time it's not a child that's at risk, it's her mother. Can Maggie help Hailey to escape her abusive husband, and reunite her with her baby daughter? A heartbreaking true story perfect for fans of Cathy Glass, Casey Watson, Angela Hart and Rosie Lewis.*****A TRUE STORY BY THE SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLING AUTHOR MAGGIE HARTLEYWhen six-week-old Jasmine is placed in her care, foster mother Maggie Hartley is delighted to have a baby in the house again. Maggie's been given temporary custody of Jasmine after social services were concerned that the baby was failing to thrive and develop. With Maggie's love and care, Jasmine soon flourishes into a healthy, happy baby - but it is clear that all is not quite as it seems with her mum, Hailey. Timid, pale and withdrawn, Hailey looks as though she is carrying the weight of the world onher shoulders. Maggie fears she may be suffering from postnatal depression until late one night she discovers Hailey on her doorstep, her body battered and broken, her spirit crushed. Hailey admits that her husband has been abusing her for years, but this revelation places Maggie in an awful situation: there's no way Hailey can regain custody of Jasmine until her husband is off the scene. But after years of physical and emotional abuse, can Hailey find the strength to leave him? An uplifting and ultimately redemptive story by Sunday Times bestselling foster carer Maggie Hartley. Perfect for fans of Cathy Glass, Casey Watson, Angela Hart and Rosie Lewis.

Trapeze

Too Scared To Cry

Maggie Hartley
Authors:
Maggie Hartley
Trapeze

The Girl No One Wanted

Maggie Hartley
Authors:
Maggie Hartley
Trapeze

Who Will Love Me Now?

Maggie Hartley
Authors:
Maggie Hartley
Trapeze

Too Young to be a Mum

Maggie Hartley
Authors:
Maggie Hartley
Trapeze

The Little Ghost Girl

Maggie Hartley
Authors:
Maggie Hartley
Trapeze

A Family For Christmas

Maggie Hartley
Authors:
Maggie Hartley
Orion

Tiny Prisoners

Maggie Hartley
Authors:
Maggie Hartley
Orion

Too Scared to Cry

Maggie Hartley
Authors:
Maggie Hartley

A digital short story from author and foster carer Maggie Hartley. Also contains a sneak peek chapter from Maggie's highly anticipated debut memoir, TINY PRISONERS.Brothers Ben and Damien are shockingly quiet when they arrive on Maggie's doorstep. They don't shout or play like normal three and four year olds. They hardly dare make a sound, so much have they been conditioned to be 'seen and not heard' by their mother and controlling stepfather.More disturbingly, their little baby half-brother Noah is completely unresponsive. He doesn't play, he doesn't smile, he doesn't crawl - he doesn't even cry. In a state of blankness brought about by emotional neglect, poor baby Noah is disconnected from the world. Maggie has never seen such a young life so affected before. Yet with time, love and care, Maggie gradually unpicks what has caused this terrible void. She teaches the children to play and laugh and to not be afraid to make noise. We see Ben, Damien and Noah take steps towards a positive future and their journey reaches a happy conclusion when they are adopted by a loving family. With love and affection, they are no longer scared to be themselves. They are free to make their voices heard.

Cass Hunter

Cass Hunter was born in South Africa and moved to the UK in 2000. She lives in North London with her husband and two sons. She is an avid lifelong learner, and works at a London university. Cass Hunter is the pen name of Rosie Fiore, whose novels include After Isabella, What She Left, Babies in Waiting and Wonder Women.

Cathryn Kemp

Cathryn Kemp is an award-winning journalist and author. She has written across the spectrum of the British press, both tabloid and broadsheet, and online, and for many magazines. In 2002 she won the Peter Wilson Award for Journalism before running her own, highly successful press agency writing for radio and television. She is the author of PAINKILLER ADDICT, published by Piatkus in 2012, which won the Big Red Read Prize for non-fiction in 2013. This is a personal and lovingly crafted account of her grandmother's life and her legacy.

Dan Sheehan

Dan Sheehan received his MFA from University College Dublin. His writing has appeared in the IRISH TIMES, the LOS ANGELES REVIEW OF BOOKS, GUERNICA, TRIQUARTERLY, WORDS WITHOUT BORDERS, BOMB, and ELECTRIC LITERATURE, among others. He currently works as an editor at Literary Hub and lives with his wife Téa Obreht in New York. RESTLESS SOULS is his first novel.@danpjsheehan

Emma Powell

Emma Powell's recent theatre credits include '.45' for Hampstead Theatre, Lady Macbeth and Lady Capulet for C Company, roles in 'Two Gentlemen of Verona' and 'Julius Caesar' for the RSC and 'Persuasion' and 'The Rivals' for ReCreation Theatre Company. Her Radio Drama work includes the classic series 'A Dance to the Music of Time' for Radio 4 and 'Use It or Lose It' for Radio 3 as well as the comedy horror podcast series 'In the Gloaming'. She also has many voice-over credits. GRACELING and FIRE are her first audiobooks for Orion.

Erica James

Erica James is the number one international bestselling author of twenty-one novels, including the Sunday Times top ten bestsellers Summer at the Lake, The Dandelion Years and Song of the Skylark. She has sold over five million books worldwide and her work has been translated into thirteen languages. Erica won the Romantic Novel of the Year Award for her novel Gardens of Delight, set in beautiful Lake Como, Italy, which has become a second home to her. Her authentic characters are thanks to her fondness for striking up conversation with complete strangers.[Author photo, picture credit]Chat to Erica online:www.ericajames.co.uk[twitter logo] @TheEricaJames[facebook logo] @EricaJamesAuthor[Instagram logo] @the_ericajames

Flynn Berry

FLYNN BERRY is a graduate of the Michener Center and has been awarded a Yaddo residency. She graduated from Brown University.Her first novel, UNDER THE HARROW, was awarded the Edgar Award for Best First Novel and was called 'a triumph' (Sunday Times) and 'thrilling' (New York Times). She lives in California.

Geraldine O'Neill

Geraldine O'Neill is the author of the Tara Flynn trilogy, set in 1950s Ireland. She was born in Lanarkshire, Scotland, and has lived in County Offaly, Ireland, since 1991. Formerly a schoolteacher in Ireland and UK, she now writes full time. She is married to Michael Brosnahan, has two adult children and has recently become a grandmother, which she loves.