Related to: 'Stranger of Tempest'

Gollancz

The Man With One Name

Tom Lloyd
Authors:
Tom Lloyd

Salterin is a town full of fear. Fear and sheep. But mostly fear. It lies in the north of a principality recently shattered by the Hanese war, cut off from its neighbours and warily watching the advance of winter. Bandits and wolves haunt the woods, but something worse lies within. A monster named Therian has installed himself as lord of the manor and no one is foolish enough to oppose him. In their hour of need comes a man with one name. A man who will not suffer monsters. Or mutton. But mostly monsters.

Gollancz

Princess of Blood

Tom Lloyd
Authors:
Tom Lloyd
Gollancz

Honour Under Moonlight

Tom Lloyd
Authors:
Tom Lloyd
Gollancz

Old Man's Ghosts

Tom Lloyd
Authors:
Tom Lloyd

Some men can never outrun their ghosts. Enchei thought he'd found a home at last - a life of quiet obscurity far removed from the horror of his military days. After a decade in the Imperial City his mistakes have been few, but one has now returned to haunt him. As Narin's pregnant lover comes to term, life has never been so perilous. There couldn't be a worse time for a nightmare to be unleashed on the Imperial City, but luck's rarely been on Narin's side. Once, Enchei swore he'd take his own life rather than let his past catch up with him, but now it's not just his own in the balance. Demons, rogue mages and vengeful noblemen haunt the city - and a man's ghosts are always watching and waiting...

Gollancz

The Twilight Reign

Tom Lloyd
Authors:
Tom Lloyd

The perfect introduction to one of the best contemporary fantasy authors, Tom LloydIn a land ruled by prophecy and the whims of Gods, a young man finds himself at the heart of a war he barely understands, wielding powers he may never be able to control. Isak is a white-eye, born bigger, more charismatic and more powerful than normal men ... but with that power comes an unpredictable temper and an inner rage. Feared and despised by those around him, he dreams of a place in the army and a change to live his own life, but the Gods have other plans for the intemperate teenager. Over five books we follow Isak's life and the fallout from the choices he has been forced to make - choices that may well lead to his death.This sampler contains almost the first half of STORMCALLER, the first book in the sequence, as well as three related short stories and a lengthy extract from Tom Lloyd's new series, MOON'S ARTIFICE.

Gollancz

The Complete Twilight Reign Collection

Tom Lloyd
Authors:
Tom Lloyd
Gollancz

The God Tattoo

Tom Lloyd
Authors:
Tom Lloyd

A collection of short stories set in the world of the Twilight Reign seriesEleven stories that add further colour and shape to the epic story of the Twilight Reign series - this is an essential volume for Tom Lloyd's many fans.The history of the Land may remember the slaughter at Moorview or the horror of Scree's fall, but there were other casualties of the secret war against Azaer - more tales surrounding those bloody years that went unrecorded. In the shadow of memorials to the glorious dead, these ghosts lie quiet and forgotten by all but a few.A companion collection to the Twilight Reign quintet, these eleven stories shine a rather different light on the Land. Look past the armies and politics of the Seven Tribes and you will find smaller moments that shaped the course of history in their own way. But even forgotten secrets can kill. Even shadows can have claws.

Gollancz

Moon's Artifice

Tom Lloyd
Authors:
Tom Lloyd

Tom Lloyd kicks off a spectacular new fantasy series, perfect for fans of George R. R. Martin, Joe Abercrombie and, of course, Tom Lloyd!In a quiet corner of the Imperial City, Investigator Narin discovers the result of his first potentially lethal mistake. Minutes later he makes a second.After an unremarkable career Narin finally has the chance of promotion to the hallowed ranks of the Lawbringers - guardians of the Emperor's laws and bastions for justice in a world of brutal expediency. Joining that honoured body would be the culmination of a lifelong dream, but it couldn't possibly have come at a worse time. A chance encounter drags Narin into a plot of gods and monsters, spies and assassins, accompanied by a grief-stricken young woman, an old man haunted by the ghosts of his past and an assassin with no past. On the cusp of an industrial age that threatens the warrior caste's rule, the Empire of a Hundred Houses awaits civil war between noble factions. Centuries of conquest has made the empire a brittle and bloated monster; constrained by tradition and crying out for change. To save his own life and those of untold thousands Narin must understand the key to it all - Moon's Artifice, the poison that could destroy an empire.

Gollancz

The Dusk Watchman

Tom Lloyd
Authors:
Tom Lloyd
Gollancz

The Ragged Man

Tom Lloyd
Authors:
Tom Lloyd
Gollancz

The Stormcaller

Tom Lloyd
Authors:
Tom Lloyd
Gollancz

The Grave Thief

Tom Lloyd
Authors:
Tom Lloyd
Gollancz

The Twilight Herald

Tom Lloyd
Authors:
Tom Lloyd

The sequel to the bestselling THE STORMCALLERAfter the shattering events of THE STORMCALLER, the eyes of the Land are on the minor city of Scree, which could soon be obliterated as the new Lord of the Farlan plots his revenge against Scree's rulers. Suffering under an unnatural summer drought and surrounded by volatile mercenary armies that may be its only salvation, the city is a strange sanctuary for a fugitive abbot to flee to, but he is only the first of many to be drawn there.Kings and princes, lords and monsters; all walk the sun-scorched streets while the evenings witness the performance of cruel and subversive plays that work their way into the hearts of the audience. Elite soldiers clash after dark and the city begins to tear itself apart as the sanity of its citizens crumbles, yet even chaos can be scripted. There is a malevolent will at work in Scree and one that has a lesson for the entire Land; nations can be manipulated, prophecies perverted, and Gods denied. Nothing lies beyond the reach of a shadow, and no matter how great a man's power, there some things he cannot be protected from.

Adam Roberts

Adam Roberts is commonly described as one of the UK's most important writers of SF. He is the author of numerous novels and literary parodies. He is Professor of 19th Century Literature at Royal Holloway, London University and has written a number of critical works on both SF and 19th Century poetry. He is a contributor to the SF ENCYCLOPEDIA.

Allan Corduner

Allan Corduner trained at the Bristol Old Vic Theatre School and has appeared on stage in PASSION at the Donmar Warehouse, SERIOUS MONEY in the West End and TITANIC on Broadway, and on screen in DA VINCI'S DEMONS, YENTL and TOPSY-TURVY, amonst many other roles. He is a highly experience voice actor and memorably narrated the voice of Death when reading THE BOOK THIEF.

Andrzej Sapkowski

Sapkowski was born in 1948 in Poland. He studied economy and business, but the success of his fantasy cycle about the sorcerer Geralt de Rivia turned him into a bestselling writer and he is now one of Poland's most famous and successful authors, selling more in his own country than Stephen King or Michael Crichton.

Brandon Sanderson

Brandon Sanderson was born in Nebraska in 1975. Since then he has written, amongst others The Mistborn books and begun the internationally bestselling Stormlight Archive. He was also chosen by Robert Jordan's family to complete Jordan's Wheel of Time Sequence. He lives in Utah.Visit his website at http://www.brandonsanderson.com, follow him on Twitter at https://twitter.com/BrandSanderson and like him on Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/BrandSanderson. Read his blogs at http://mistborn.blogspot.co.uk andhttp://mistborn.livejournal.com.

Carrie Vaughn

Carrie Vaughn was born in California, but grew up all over the country, a bona fide Air Force Brat. She currently lives in Colorado with her miniature American Eskimo dog, Lily. She has a Masters degree in English Lit, loves to travel, and is known occasionally to pick up a rapier.

Chloe Neill

Chloe Neill was born in the south of the USA and currently resides in Nebraska. SOME GIRLS BITE was her debut novel and the first in the Chicagoland Vampires series. She is also the author of the YA Dark Elite series.

David Rintoul

David Rintoul has played leading parts with most of the major British theatre companies. Many television appearances include Darcy in the first BBC Pride and Prejudice. He frequently appears on radio and has recorded over a hundred audio books. At the time of recording he was playing Dr Jake Houseman in the original London cast of the smash-hit musical Dirty Dancing.