Related to: 'Bloody Winter'

Adapted from the novel by award-winning crime author Denise Mina

NEWS: The Field of Blood Returns to BBC1

The Field Of Blood, adapted from the novel by award-winning crime author Denise Mina, returns to BBC1 this week with a stellar cast, including David Morrissey, Katherine Kelly, Jayd Johnson and Ford Kiernan.

Orion

Woman of the Dead

Bernhard Aichner
Authors:
Bernhard Aichner

How far would you go to avenge the one you love? Blum has a secret buried deep in her past. She thought she'd left the past behind. But then Mark, the man she loves, dies. His death looks like a hit-and-run. It isn't a hit-and-run. Mark has been killed by the men he was investigating. And then, suddenly, Blum rediscovers what she's capable of...KILL BILL meets DEXTER via THE GIRL WITH THE DRAGON TATTOO, WOMAN OF THE DEAD is a wild ride of a thriller where the first stage of grief is revenge. And revenge is a dish best served bloody.Read by Victoria FoxTranslation (c) Anthea Bell 2015(p) 2015 Orion Publishing Group

The Murder Room

The Unburied

Charles Palliser
Authors:
Charles Palliser
The Murder Room

Fear Stalks the Village

Ethel Lina White
Authors:
Ethel Lina White

In a lovely English village of flowers, Tudor cottages and cobbled streets, Joan Brook works as companion to Lady d'Arcy, living in at the huge mansion with its surrounding park. And the village is not too small for Joan to have found a man whom she can love.Suddenly the peaceful surface of life is shattered as a poisonous letter is received by the town's most saintly citizen. It is followed by others; no one is safe from the anonymous letter writer. With the letters comes death. In the anguished days that follow, Joan realises that she too is in danger. For to receive one of these letters could mean the end of her love ... and her life.

The Murder Room

The First Time He Died

Ethel Lina White
Authors:
Ethel Lina White

Charlie Baxter has never been a success. Yes, he's popular with women, but he's not exactly a party guy. A cheerful loser, that's Charlie. He has even made a hash of his 'death'. For, having almost exhausted a legacy left to him by a rich aunt, he has planned to insure his life and then 'die'. But he has failed to foresee the ramifications of his sinister scheme. And he has reckoned without people cleverer than him - the insurance company, for one.Then there's his wife, Vera, who is playing along for her own benefit ...

The Murder Room

Wax

Ethel Lina White
Authors:
Ethel Lina White

Reporter Sonia Thompson discovers threads linking prominent members of Riverpool society with the chamber of horrors in a neglected waxworks museum. Married Lilith Nile is using it as a place to meet Sir Julian. Schoolteacher Miss Monroe is obsessed with the moth-eaten figure of Mary of England. And why does Mr Cuttle, the amorous Alderman, take such a keen interest in the museum?When Sir Julian, having spent the night in the waxworks for a bet, is found dead, and an epidemic of purse-snatching sweeps Riverpool, Sonia realises that she is on the verge of uncovering a sinister plot. Forced to bring matters to a head, Sonia resolves to spend a night alone in the waxworks ...

The Murder Room

The Third Eye

Ethel Lina White
Authors:
Ethel Lina White
The Murder Room

The Elephant Never Forgets

Ethel Lina White
Authors:
Ethel Lina White
The Murder Room

Step in the Dark

Ethel Lina White
Authors:
Ethel Lina White
The Murder Room

She Faded into Air

Ethel Lina White
Authors:
Ethel Lina White

At four o'clock on a misty October afternoon in London, Evelyn Cross, blonde, nineteen and fashionably dressed, vanishes into thin air. Evelyn is the daughter of wealthy Raphael Cross. She has been seen going into the flat of Madame Goya, a fortune teller in Mayfair, but in response to Mr Cross's distracted enquiries, Madame Goya swears that his daughter never entered her flat. Then another millionaire's daughter goes missing in the same block of flats, and Cross decides to employ the services of Alan Foam, Private Investigator.But if Foam thinks this is a straightforward case of find the victim, he'll need to think again ...

The Murder Room

Midnight House

Ethel Lina White
Authors:
Ethel Lina White
The Murder Room

The Man Who Loved Lions

Ethel Lina White
Authors:
Ethel Lina White

The roar of a lion is not the kind of music one expects to hear at night in the stillness of the English countryside.Yet in the neighbourhood of 'Ganges', Sir Benjamin Watson's house, that terrifyingly wild sound is not uncommon. Sir Benjamin is rich enough to indulge his expensive hobby of a private zoo. The first time Ann Sherborne, walking at night to the gates of 'Ganges' on that strange, eventful visit, hears the savage roar, her courage dies and she starts to run. But that frightening experience is just a prelude to a night charged with terror, when not only fear but death stalks 'Ganges', playing havoc among the guests assembled there ...

The Murder Room

They See in Darkness

Ethel Lina White
Authors:
Ethel Lina White
The Murder Room

Spirit of Steamboat

Craig Johnson
Authors:
Craig Johnson
Orion

After the Crash

Michel Bussi
Authors:
Michel Bussi

On the night of 22nd December 1980 a plane crashes on the Franco-Swiss border and engulfed in flames. 168 out of 169 passengers are killed instantly. The miraculous sole-survivor is a newborn baby.But the identity of the child is unknown, and two families - one rich and affluent, and the other poor - step forward to claim her. So begins a private investigation that wil go on for the next 18 years . . .The novel opens on the eve of the girl's eighteenth birthday. For years now Credule Grand-Duc has been trying to uncover the truth about the child's identity - is she Emilie or Lyse-Rose?. And now, it seems he has discovered a terrible secret. He plans to take his own life, but not beforehe places his account of the investigation in the girl's hands. However someone else gets to him first...Read by Daniel Philpott(p) 2015 Orion Publishing Group

W&N

Oxford Blood

Antonia Fraser
Authors:
Antonia Fraser

Lord Saffron, one of the young bloods at Oxford University, is heir to a considerable fortune. But while making a documentary about the exotic lifestyles of the university's over-privileged set, Jemima Shore discovers that this handsome young man, with his lavish dances and sumptuous weekend parties, is not quite what he seems. And when a student is murdered and a series of attempts are made on Saffron's life, Jemima realises that she has started a terrible chain of events...

The Murder Room

Three at the Angel

Maurice Procter
Authors:
Maurice Procter

Lou Fingerhut's boxing career is finished, but a golden opportunity drops into his lap, one that could see him right for life. Soon he and his old ring mates, Goldie and China, are caught up in an ever-expanding net of crime and violence, chalking up a score of four murders and a jewel robbery.With the police moving in at one end and a rival underworld gang at the other, it dawns on them that they're in deeper than they could have imagined possible. Will they ever break out of this game alive?

W&N

The Detective Branch

Andrew Pepper
Authors:
Andrew Pepper

Pyke joins the newly formed Detective Branch of the Metropolitan police in a tale of corruption and murder set in the dangerous backstreets of 19th-century London...Drury Lane, 1844. A robbery has been committed at a pawnbroker's, leaving three people dead. The man called in to investigate is Pyke, head of the Metropolitan Police's newly formed Detective Branch at Scotland Yard. Pyke must find the culprit and quickly, especially as the identity of one of the victims threatens to expose his own criminal past. A valuable religious artefact appears to have motivated the robbery but when the main suspect commits suicide in police custody, the investigation falters. Then the rector of a wealthy parish is brutally murdered and Pyke spots a connection. His suspicions lead him to a dissolute former Catholic priest, rumours of devil worship, and an old case that no one wants him to investigate.With time running out and the murderer threatening to kill again, Pyke must face up to forces within the police and the church who would prefer the secrets of the past to remain buried for ever ...

W&N

Kill-Devil And Water

Andrew Pepper
Authors:
Andrew Pepper
W&N

The Revenge Of Captain Paine

Andrew Pepper
Authors:
Andrew Pepper
W&N

The Last Days of Newgate

Andrew Pepper
Authors:
Andrew Pepper

'A story of high intrigue and low politics, brutal murder and cunning conspiracies . . . tangy and rambunctious stuff!' Observer 'Gripping and atmospheric' Daily Express'Enjoyably disturbing . . . likely to leave the reader clamouring for more' TLSSt Giles, London, 1829: three people have been brutally murdered and the city simmers with anger and political unrest. Pyke, sometime Bow Street Runner, sometime crook, finds himself accidentally embroiled in the murder investigation but quickly realises that he has stumbled into something more sinister and far-reaching.In his pursuit of the murderer, Pyke ruffles the feathers of some powerful people and, falsely accused of murder himself, he soon faces a death sentence and the gallows. Imprisoned, and with only his uncle and the headstrong, aristocratic daughter of his greatest enemy to help, Pyke must engineer his escape, find the real killer and untangle the web of intrigue that has been spun around him.A story of intrigue, conspiracy and murder set in 19th-century Britain for fans of Antonia Hodgson, Ripper Street and Patrick Easter.'The novel drips with all the atmospheric details of a pre-Victorian murder mystery - "pea-soupers", dingy lanterns and laudanum' The Times'Pyke ia an intriguingly unfathomable character' Financial Times'Pyke is violent, vengeful and conflicted in the best tradition of detectives. His story takes in grisly murder and torture, and uses 1800s London in the same way that hard-boiled fiction uses Los Angeles as a mirror of a corrupt society' Time Out