We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

Magpie Murders

Buy Now:

Audiobook Downloadable / ISBN-13: 9781409161714

Price: £21.99

ON SALE: 6th October 2016

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Crime & Mystery

Disclosure: If you buy products using the retailer buttons above, we may earn a commission from the retailers you visit.

Chosen for the Duchess of Cornwall’s online book club The Reading Room

‘The finest crime novel of the year’ Daily Mail

Seven for a mystery that needs to be solved . . .



Editor Susan Ryland has worked with bestselling crime writer Alan Conway for years. Readers love his detective, Atticus Pünd, a celebrated solver of crimes in the sleepy English villages of the 1950s.

But Conway’s latest tale of murder at Pye Hall is not quite what it seems. Yes, there are dead bodies and a host of intriguing suspects, but hidden in the pages of the manuscript lies another story: a tale written between the very words on the page, telling of real-life jealousy, greed, ruthless ambition and murder.

From the creator of Midsomer Murders comes a fiendish mystery perfect for fans of Agatha Christie’s Miss Marple and Hercule Poirot.

Now available to preorder: MOONFLOWER MURDERS, the fiendishly brilliant follow-up to Magpie Murders

Praise for Magpie Murders – the gripping Sunday Times bestselling crime thriller:


‘Ingenious’ Sunday Times
‘Thrilling and compelling with a stunning twist’ Daily Mail
‘A stylish thriller’ Sunday Mirror
‘A cunning reinvention of the thriller’ Mail on Sunday

Reviews

Horowitz is a superb pasticheur.
Guardian
Superbly written, with great suspects, a perfect period feel and a cracking reveal at the end
Spectator
An ingenious novel-within-a-novel whodunit about the death of a crime writer . . . Part crime novel, part pastiche, this magnificent piece of crime fiction plays with the genre while also taking it seriously
Sunday Times
Putting two books in one with their plots running side by side makes Magpie Murders difficult to put down and Horowitz fans will thoroughly enjoy a cracking good read
Daily Express
Anthony Horowitz's new novel is at once a brilliant pastiche of the English village mystery and a hugely enjoyable tale of avarice and skulduggery in the world of publishing . . . a compendium of dark delights
Irish Times
Although at first glance Horowitz's latest offering appears to be a classic whodunit novel, it will almost certainly prove to be unlike anything you've ever read before, and will have you mulling over its various intrigues in between sittings.
Scotsman
A stylish, multi-layered thriller - playful, ingenious and wonderfully entertaining
Sunday Mirror
Want to read a great whodunnit? Anthony Horowitz has one for you: MAGPIE MURDERS. It's as good as an Agatha Christie. Better, in some ways. Cleverer.
Stephen King
Brilliant. Really, really brilliant. I loved it.
Sophie Hannah, author of The Monogram Murders
We loved this Agatha Christie-esque crime novel. A fiendish mystery within a mystery that will have you hooked from page one
Good Housekeeping
A highly enjoyable twist on the classic whodunnit
Metro
A cunning re-invention of the thriller formula
Thriller of the Week, Mail on Sunday