Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

The Matchmaker

The Matchmaker

‘I thoroughly enjoyed this smart, feel-good read. It’s witty, sharp and has real depth to it, and I love that even though it’s uplifting, it doesn’t ever shy away from the realities of life.’ – BETH O’LEARY, bestselling author of The Flatshare



An emotionally charged, funny and warm novel, perfect for fans of THE MAN WHO DIDN’T CALL by Rosie Walsh, SOME KIND OF WONDERFUL by Giovanna Fletcher and IT STARTED WITH A TWEET by Anna Bell.

For Caitlin Carter, love means business.


She’s taken matchmaking back to basics. There is no swiping left. No creepy location tracker. Definitely no unsolicited pics of areas of the anatomy no one wants to see. She’s made dating great again: personal, patient… and profitable. Her startup is going from strength to strength, with clients wanting to find the love she has with her own husband Harry, and she even has celebrities wanting to use her services…

Caitlin is living the perfect life.

Except it’s all a perfect lie. And Caitlin doesn’t know how long she can keep it up.


In an era of social media and dating apps, when we have never been more connected yet more isolated, The Matchmaker is a story about love, loss and loneliness, and learning to accept your reality.

‘I absolutely adored The Matchmaker – It’s such a skilful, nuanced and thoughtful exploration of the full complexities of love – and the way that all of the different people who love us make us who we are. It’s refreshing, uplifting and brilliantly observed.’ – DAISY BUCHANAN
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Modern & Contemporary Fiction (post C 1945)

On Sale: 28th November 2019

Price: £8.99

ISBN-13: 9781409188384

Reviews

A fresh, funny and clever read
Gillian McAllister
A witty, wise story about accepting your own reality
Woman & Home
Funny, sad and painfully relatable, The Matchmaker is a gorgeously written tale for our times about finding love and losing it, and keeping up appearances. Catriona's writing is full of heart and soul, and I can't wait to see what she does next.
Stacey Halls, bestselling author of The Familiars
I absolutely adored The Matchmaker. It's such a skilful, nuanced and thoughtful exploration of the full complexities of love - and the way that all of the different people who love us make us who we are. It's refreshing, uplifting and brilliantly observed, it's a very smart look at how Millennials have grown up and the impact our obsession with perfection has had on our lives.
Daisy Buchanan
I absolutely loved The Matchmaker. It completely swept me away. It is fun, hopeful and heartbreaking, and I cried more than once!
Lia Louis, author of Somewhere Close to Happy
I thoroughly enjoyed this smart, feel-good read. It's witty, sharp and has real depth to it, and I love that even though it's uplifting, it doesn't ever shy away from the realities of life.
Beth O'Leary, bestselling author of The Flatshare
Full of fun, laughter and sucker-punch emotion, we guarantee you'll fall in love with this brilliant debut
Fabulous, Sun on Sunday
...there is real emotional depth in this uplifting and deceptively thoughtful meditation on love and friendship.
Sunday Mirror
This is a wise, witty and emotionally-charged story about the complexities of love, loss, isolation and loneliness. It'll make you laugh, cry and feel grateful for the people you care about most
Heat
A tear-jerker of a read
BELLA