Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

The Last Days of Leda Grey

The Last Days of Leda Grey

‘Leda Grey’s world is utterly beguiling’ THE TIMES Book of the Month

When journalist Ed Peters unearths a dusty old photograph of the alluring and reclusive silent-film actress Leda Grey he is instantly enchanted.

He discovers Leda is still living, alone in a decaying cliff-top house by the sea. And there, after a fifty-year silence, she’s finally ready to share her incredible story.

It is the tale She tells of a volatile love affair, of obsession and jealousy, and the darkly glamorous world of early cinema.

It is a story of She tells of a world filled with secrets and lies, and of a past far more haunting than any of the silent films that Leda Grey once starred in.

A bewitching novel about an enigmatic silent film actress, and the volatile love affair that left her a recluse for over half a century – for fans of Sarah Waters and Tracy Chevalier.

‘A richly evocative story, brimming with intrigue and suspense’ M.L. Stedman, author of THE LIGHT BETWEEN OCEANS
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Historical Fiction

On Sale: 16th November 2017

Price: £8.99

ISBN-13: 9781409146278

Reviews

I loved this book and recommend it to anyone looking for a delightfully immersive and imaginative spell in the past
Martine Bailey, author of AN APPETITE FOR VIOLETS
A wonderfully creepy tale. Leda is a triumph
Vanessa Lafaye, author of Summertime
Macabre, transporting, thick with atmosphere and allusion
Morgan McCarthy, author of The Other Half Of Me
A richly evocative story, brimming with intrigue and suspense
M. L. Stedman, author of THE LIGHT BETWEEN OCEANS
Fox's vivid, sensual prose is - fittingly - as seductive as a siren's song, drawing you into a shadowy Victorian world of obsession and guilt... An intoxicating follow-up to 2011's acclaimed The Somnambulist. Recommended to fans of Sarah Waters
HEAT
Leda Grey's world is utterly beguiling
Antonia Senior, THE TIMES
A richly textured, highly coloured and entirely pleasurable read
METRO
Fox's tale of obsessive love is memorable and unusual
THE SUNDAY TIMES
Shades of Sunset Boulevard in this atmospheric chiller
WOMAN&HOME
A deliciously eerie affair... A story of obsession, jealousy, mysterious deaths and theatrically supernatural goings-on as very strange truths are tantalisingly revealed
SUNDAY EXPRESS
A fabulous foray into a shadowy Victorian world
WOMAN & HOME
Darkly sparkling. Very much enjoyed my days in Leda's twilight world. Doubt I'll sleep all that well tonight...
Anna Mazzola, author of The Unseeing
Dark, haunting, compelling... equal to DuMaurier's novels - this book held me in its grip. Loved it.
Liz Fenwick, author of The Cornish House
An obvious comparison is with early Sarah Waters. The glee with which Fox approaches her material is infectious. All Victorian life is here. Intriguing
THE GUARDIAN