Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

The Daughter's Secret

The Daughter's Secret

A pupil. A teacher. A mother’s worst nightmare



An addictive novel of psychological suspense. A gripping crime thriller for fans of Liane Moriarty’s Big Little Lies and Louise Doughty’s Apple Tree Yard.

My daughter is a liar. A liar, liar, liar. And I’m starting to see where she gets it from.

When Rosalind’s fifteen-year-old daughter, Stephanie, ran away with her teacher, this ordinary family became something it had never asked to be. Their lives held up to scrutiny in the centre of a major police investigation, the Simms were headline news while Stephanie was missing with a man who was risking everything.

Now, six years on, Ros takes a call that will change their lives all over again. He’s going to be released from prison. Years too early. In eleven days’ time.

As Temperley’s release creeps ever closer, Ros is forced to confront the events that led them here, back to a place she thought she’d left behind, to questions she didn’t want to answer. Why did she do it? Where does the blame lie? What happens next?

Readers love this gripping psychological thriller:

‘Unputdownable’

‘Compelling’

‘Leaves its mark’

‘Tense and emotionally charged’
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Modern & Contemporary Fiction (post C 1945)

On Sale: 13th August 2015

Price: £7.99

ISBN-13: 9781409157052

Reviews

Eva Holland's gripping debut is unputdownable.
HELLO
When Stephanie, 15, ran off with her teacher, her mum Rosalind and family were subject to an investigation and public scrutiny. Six years on, the teacher's coming out of prison and Rosalind has to face unanswered questions.
WOMAN
Holland builds a fascinating story around a compelling subject. And the ending? It certainly leaves its mark. A great debut - Holland is definitely one to watch.
HEAT
A story to resonate with all parents.
THE SUN
Tense and emotionally charged with an uncomfortably ominous atmosphere, this startling novel leads us through the complex relationship between a mother and daughter.
SUNDAY EXPRESS
FRESH as today's headlines, Holland's sharp debut focuses on Rosalind Simm, the mother of 15-year-old Stephanie who ran away with her school geography teacher six years ago.
DAILY MAIL