We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

High Vaultage

Hardcover / ISBN-13: 9781399604161

Price: £22

ON SALE: 14th March 2024

Genre: Fiction & Related Items

Disclosure: If you buy products using the retailer buttons above, we may earn a commission from the retailers you visit.

EVEN GREATER LONDON, 1887.

An uninterrupted urban plane encompassing the entire lower half of England and, for complex reasons, only the upper third of the Isle of Wight. The immense Tower casts electricity through the sky, powering the mind-boggling mechanisms of the city. The engineer-army of Isambard Kingdom Brunel swarms across the capital, building, demolishing, and rebuilding whatever they see fit. And at the heart of it all sits the country’s first private detective agency.

Archibald Fleet and Clara Entwhistle hoped things would pick up quickly for their new enterprise. No-one is taking them seriously, but their break will come soon. Definitely. Probably.

Meanwhile, police are baffled by a series of impossible bank robberies, their resources absorbed by the case. Which means that when a woman witnesses a kidnapping, Fleet-Entwhistle Private Investigations is the only place she can turn for help. They’re more than happy to oblige!

But what’s the motive behind the kidnap? As Clara and Fleet investigate, they find more than they could ever have imagined . . .

From the creators of the acclaimed audio drama podcast Victoriocity comes a hilarious novel set in the greatest, most chaotic city in history. Twisty, inventive, and joyously funny, High Vaultage is perfect for fans of Ben Aaronovitch, Douglas Adams, and Terry Pratchett.

What's Inside

Read More Read Less

Reviews

Prepare for an electrifying ride through Even Greater London in this delightfully twisted mash-up of Douglas Adams and Charles Dickens. High Vaultage positively crackles with invention and intrigue and I loved every page. Mark my words: Fleet and Clara are destined to join the waxwork hall of fame for all-time great literary detective duos
Helen Marshall, World Fantasy Award-winning author of GIFTS FOR THE ONE WHO COMES AFTER and THE MIGRATION
If Douglas Adams . . . were still alive and wanted to get into podcasting, VICTORIOCITY might likely be something he'd have written
Vulture
It is everything I hoped it would be (everything the radio show led me to think it would be) and more: a masterly comic writing and a superb piece of worldbuilding, as perfect a piece of neo-Victoriania as I remember since ... well, since the actual Victorian epoch, which I remember well. You will laugh, you will cry (with laughter), and most of all you will frantically turn the pages. Unlike Queen Victoria, we are most assuredly amused
Adam Roberts, author of THE THING ITSELF and PURGATORY MOUNT
Very funny . . . Extremely easy to recommend, especially to fans of Discworld, Dishonoured or Douglas Adams
Alasdair Beckett-King
I LOVED this book . . . I just loved spending time with Clara and Fleet and revelling in their delightful dialogue and marvelling at the wonders of Even Greater London (then having to go and have a lie-down, obviously), and of course trying to solve the Fiendish Mystery (all the while worrying about the safety of an annoying beagle). I already want to return to Mrs Pomligan's Coffee House (and Museum of Nearby Horrible Murder) and take another cab to the Thames Glacier, so I'm desperately hoping that there will be more adventures to come... Thank you so much for sending this to me! Also, for any reader who's already a Victoriocity podcast fan, it's so great to get to know our favourite characters even more, and their voices come through fantastically vividly. But for anyone new to the world, this is a wonderful introduction to the mysterious mechanical madness that is Even Greater London, and the many Highly Suspicious Goings-On therein. And they have a whole podcast to listen to after they've finished!
Sarah Brooks, author of THE CAUTIOUS TRAVELLER'S GUIDE TO THE WASTELANDS
The sheer inventiveness keeps you sleuthing on
The Financial Times
If you put Sherlock Holmes in a blender with Dickens, and then filtered it through a Terry Pratchett filter - the result is a whole lot of fun
Front Row, BBC Radio 4
Electrifying! Full of whimsical humour and unexpected twists, the weird and wonderful world of HIGH VAULTAGE has private detectives and bank heists galore, with a mostly mechanical Queen Victoria thrown in for good measure
Thomas D. Lee, bestselling author of PERILOUS TIMES
Wickedly funny, deliriously inventive, delightfully weird. The Sugdens' Even Greater London is one of the best-realised fantasy playgrounds since Great A'Tuin ambled across the stars with The Discworld on their back
Malcolm Devlin, BSFA-nominated author of YOU WILL GROW INTO THEM

Events