Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

The Storms of War

The Storms of War

The first novel in Kate Williams’ groundbreaking new historical series which begins in the First World War. For fans of BIRDSONG and DOWNTON ABBEY.

In the idyllic early summer of 1914, life is good for the de Witt family. German Rudolf and his aristocratic English wife Verena are planning the wedding of their daughter, Emmeline, while their eldest son Arthur is studying in Paris and Michael is just back from his first term at Cambridge. Celia, the youngest of the de Witt children, is on the brink of adulthood, and secretly dreams of escaping her carefully mapped out future and exploring the world.

But with the onslaught of war, the de Witts find themselves in danger of losing everything they hold dear. As Celia struggles to make sense of the changing world around her, she lies about her age to join the war effort and finds herself embroiled in a complex plot that puts her and those she loves in danger.

With gripping detail and brilliant empathy, Kate Williams tells the story of Celia and her family as they are shunned by a society that previously embraced them, torn apart by sorrow, and buffeted and changed by the storms of war.
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Modern & Contemporary Fiction (post C 1945)

On Sale: 12th March 2015

Price: £8.99

ISBN-13: 9781409144885

Reviews

Kate Williams in a vivid writer, conjuring atmosphere through scents and tastes as well as period props. The enjoyable elements of a sweeping family saga are present, but Williams also develops a sense of the emotional and psychological revolutions, both collective and individual, that were catalysed by the conflict
Lisa Hilton, TLS
'As spellbinding as Ken Follett's Fall of Giants'
BOOKLIST
Williams keeps her story moving and the result is a vivid portrait of a perennially fascinating period of history.
Stephanie Merritt, THE OBSERVER
Historian Kate Williams's epic about the First World War starts in the idyllic country mansion of the wealthy de Witt family ... [she] outlines the tragedy of war but also reveals .. how this first modern conflict changed British society beyond recognition.
SUNDAY EXPRESS
A wonderful evocation of a family torn apart by war, packed with drama and written with a sensitive warmth and fantastic historical insight
Imogen Robertson
[An] all-encompassing, sweeping epic. It's a book to get immersed in for hours at a time . . . powerful . . . a wonderful achievement
Katherine Webb
Deeply researched and intelligently written, 'The Storms of War' brings Edwardian England to life - life overshadowed by the war that is recreated here in vivid and visceral fashion. Historical fiction that mostly manages to be both cerebral and educational without feeling dull.
THE BOOKBAG
Brilliant - a passionate and poignant story of a glittering family on the precipice of a vanished world. Spellbinding, gripping and beautiful - a must read . . . the new CAZALET CHRONICLES
Lisa Hilton
This book has more firepower than DOWNTON . . . Powerful storytelling.
Alex Gordon, PETERBOROUGH EVENING TELEGRAPH
The new novel by the historian Kate Williams, is an epic story about a young woman whose idyllic world is shattered by the First World War,
SUNDAY TELEGRAPH STELLA Magazine
a big juicy drama set on the eve of the First World War. TV historian Kate Williams paints a spellbinding portrait of a family clinging on desperately to their privileged way of life
GOOD HOUSEKEEPING
Wartime-saga lovers will be kept on their toes to the end.
DAILY MAIL
Williams is too good a historian for melodramatic sentimentality; trusting the historical detail, the reader can relax into a well-paced, truly affecting narrative . . . Richly detailed, light of foot, Williams tantalises with loose ends and disturbs with shocking shadows
INDEPENDENT
This terrific saga comes with a fascinating twist ... Williams has a gift for showing how great movements in history affect the lives of people caught up in them
Kate Saunders, THE TIMES
Celia de Witt is the 15 year old daughter of a German born industrialist and his aristocratic wife who live in a magnificent country house; her elder sister is about to have a grand society wedding. What could go wrong? The First World War, that's what ... shades of Downton, with a dash of Atonement
TATLER
A beautifully conjured family saga. Fans of DOWNTON ABBEY will love it
Alison Weir
This is the first part in a trilogy set against the the First World War that delves into the complexities of loyalty and survival as life in the de Witt family is ineradicably changed.
WOMAN & HOME