We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

Hello, Stranger

Paperback / ISBN-13: 9781398717442

Price: £9.99

ON SALE: 30th May 2024

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Romance

Disclosure: If you buy products using the retailer buttons above, we may earn a commission from the retailers you visit.

Struggling artist Sadie Montgomery never saw what was coming… Literally!

One minute she’s celebrating placing as a finalist in a prestigious portrait-painting competition, the next she’s lying in a hospital bed diagnosed with a “probably temporary” condition known as face blindness. She can still see – but every face she looks at is now a jumbled puzzle of disconnected features.

As she struggles to hang on to her artistic dream, work through major family issues, and take care of her beloved dog Peanut, she falls in love – not with one man but two. The timing couldn’t be worse.

Making judgment calls on anything right now is a nightmare. If only her life were a little more in focus, Sadie might be able to have it all…

*****

PRAISE FOR NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER KATHERINE CENTER

‘My perfect 10 of a book. As funny and sweet as all the very best nineties rom-coms, but with Center’s signature heart-tugging depth. I wish I could erase it from my mind just to read it again for the first time. A shot of pure joy.’
EMILY HENRY, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Book Lovers

‘Great rollicking fun! Prepare to laugh and swoon and grin your pants off.’
HELEN HOANG, bestselling author of The Kiss Quotient

‘Absolutely, unequivocally delightful!’
JODI PICOULT, #1 New York Times bestselling author

‘Katherine Center writes about falling down, growing up, and finding love like nobody else.’
BRENÉ BROWN, bestselling author of Dare to Lead

‘Serious Nora Ephron vibes.’
TAYLOR JENKINS REID, #1 bestselling author of The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo

‘Oh, how I love Katherine Center’s writing!’
JODI PICOULT, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Wish You Were Here

Reviews

This charming, heartfelt romantic comedy has a well-told, unique storyline, and Sadie's prosopagnosia feels deftly explained, explored, and treated with respect. There's chemistry between the protagonists with a slow-burn relationship, but there's also a focus on Sadie's mental and emotional growth, as well as her artistic frustrations and problem-solving methods. Readers who enjoy Jenny Colgan and Susan Mallery will love this engaging, well-written romance from Center
Library Journal
The reigning queen of comfort reads
BookPage
This emotional contemporary from Center tugs on the heartstrings and grabs attention. Portrait artist Sadie Montgomery, 28, may finally get her big break when she's selected to enter a prestigious competition. Unfortunately, the contest coincides with a minor medical procedure that turns into emergency brain surgery, and the recovery process leaves her unable to make sense of human faces. Though warned by her neuropsychiatrist that her (possibly) temporary face blindness may make her interpret her other senses incorrectly, Sadie works to get her painting back on track with the support of her best friend, Sue, and her neighbor, Joe, who she can only recognize from the bowling jacket he wears all the time. She also tries dating her hunky veterinarian, Dr. Addison, hoping a relationship will help her settle back into normal. But is she seeing the whole picture? Center takes Sadie's life seriously and her struggles with adulting resonate even before her face blindness sets in. Meanwhile, a dash of humor and an endearing love story make the pages fly. Readers will be hooked.
Publishers Weekly (Starred Review)