Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

The English Girl

The English Girl

From Sunday Times

Top Ten bestselling author, Katherine Webb, The English Girl is perfect for fans of Dinah Jefferies, Kate Morton and Santa Montefiore.

In a land full of secrets, you can make your own rules.



Joan Seabrook has fulfilled her lifelong dream to travel to Arabia and has arrived in the ancient city of Muscat with her fiancé, Rory. Desperate to escape the pain of a personal tragedy, she longs to explore the desert fort of Jabrin and unearth the wonders held within.

But Oman is a land lost in time, and gaining permission to explore could prove impossible. Joan’s disappointment is only eased by the thrill of meeting her childhood heroine, pioneering explorer Maude Vickery, and hearing the stories that captured her imagination as a child.

The friendship that forms between the two women will change everything.

Both have desires to fulfil and secrets to keep. As their bond grows, Joan is inspired by the thrill of her new friend’s past and finds herself swept up in a bold and dangerous adventure of Maude’s making. Only too late does she begin to question her actions – actions that will spark a wild, and potentially devastating, chain of events.

‘A compelling and beautifully written tale of adventure, mystery and love, The English Girl enthralled me from the first page. Set against the exotic backdrop of Arabia, Webb brings her world to life with skill and passion.’ Santa Montefiore

‘I’ve loved all Katherine Webb’s books and this is a wonderful addition to my collection. After I finished, I found myself missing the searing heat and huge blue skies of the Omani desert.’ Kate Riordan

Your favourite authors love Katherine Webb’s sweeping novels:



‘An enormously talented writer’ Santa Montefiore

‘Webb has a true gift for uncovering the mysteries of the human heart and exploring the truth of love’ Kate Williams

‘Katherine Webb’s writing is beautiful’ Elizabeth Fremantle

‘A truly gifted writer of historical fiction’ Lucinda Riley

‘Katherine’s writing is rich, vivid and evocative’ Iona Grey
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Modern & Contemporary Fiction (post C 1945)

On Sale: 17th November 2016

Price: £7.99

ISBN-13: 9781409148548

Reviews

A compelling and beautifully written tale of adventure, mystery and love, The English Girl enthralled me from the first page. Set against the exotic backdrop of Arabia, which is both unforgiving and romantic, Webb brings her world to life with skill and passion.
Santa Montefiore
Webb is atmospheric on the pull of the desert, and Joan and Maude are heroines worth following into the hot, wild Arabian horizon.
THE TIMES
Katherine's writing is rich, vivid and evocative and her characters breathtakingly real
Iona Grey
I loved THE ENGLISH GIRL. I was really drawn to both Maude and Joan and was completely absorbed by their exotic adventures. I thought it was a really original working of a dual narrative historical story and felt as authentically and thoroughly researched as The Night Falling. I've loved all Katherine Webb's books and this is a wonderful addition to my collection. After I finished, I found myself miss the searing heat and huge blue skies of the Omani desert.
Kate Riordan
An exotic and absorbing adventure.
WOMAN AND HOME
With memorable characters and wonderful detail, Katherine evokes a little-known episode of British history to give a fascinating perspective on a region so much in the news today. Her depiction of the desert kingdom captures all its beauty and danger.
Vanessa Lafaye
You know with a book by Katherine Webb that the writing will be impeccable and The English Girl is no different. This story of two women half-a-century apart both running away from the narrow margins of their lives is utterly captivating. The desert setting is as bewitching for the reader as it is for the characters, its arid emptiness and its unfamiliarity are vividly wrought with echoes of The Sheltering Sky. Webb's story surprises, too with unexpected twists and kept me gripped to the final page.
Elizabeth Fremantle
A vivid tale of adventure, love and friendship set in '50s Arabia.
HEAT MAGAZINE
... a smattering of romance, and plenty of swashbuckling adventure.
Sunday Mirror