Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

The Devil's Claw

The Devil's Claw

An atmospheric new crime series set in the Channel Islands, for readers of Ann Cleeves, Peter May and Elly Griffiths.

Jennifer Dorey thinks she is safe.


Following a traumatic incident in London, Jennifer has returned to her childhood home in Guernsey, taking a job as a reporter at the local newspaper.

After the discovery of a drowned woman on a beach, she uncovers a pattern of similar deaths that have taken place over the past fifty years.

Together with DCI Michael Gilbert, an officer on the verge of retirement, they follow a dark trail of island myths and folklore to ‘Fritz’, the illegitimate son of a Nazi soldier. His work, painstakingly executed, has so far gone undetected.

But with his identity about to be uncovered, the killer now has Jennifer in his sights.

And home is the last place she should be.

THE DEVIL’S CLAW introduces readers to returning characters journalist Jennifer Dorey and DCI Michael Gilbert.

Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Crime & Mystery

On Sale: 30th November 2017

Price: £8.99

ISBN-13: 9781409170280

Reviews

darkly atmospheric, nail-bitingly tense, intrigue-packed - a real crime fiction must read!
Stephanie Marland, author of MY LITTLE EYE
Enthralling, compelling, mysterious
Lisa Hall, author of TELL ME NO LIES
A gripping thriller set in Guernsey. I loved it!
Karen Hamilton, author of THE PERFECT GIRLFRIEND
Fans of Elly Griffiths and Ann Cleeves will love this
Red Magazine
Lara Dearman's The Devil's Claw is a powerful debut. With smooth prose and engaging characters, Dearman draws her readers into a tangled web of secrets. Layer upon layer of lies and unexpected connections will keep readers guessing until the very end.
Karen Dionne, author THE MARSH KING'S DAUGHTER
A dark, thrilling murder mystery in a richly-realised setting - the best debut I've read this year.
Mason Cross
Dark, haunting and full of twists
Chris Whitaker, author of ALL THE WICKED GIRLS
Well-developed characters ensure that the readers will want to see more of Jennifer and company.
PUBLISHERS WEEKLY
Atmospheric and tense. Superb!
Isabel Ashdown, author of LITTLE SISTER
A very exciting new talent, and an amazing setting. Looking forward to reading more!
Ragnar Jonasson
The first in a new series set in the Channel Islands. Jennifer Dorey returns to her childhood home in Guernsey and start work on the local paper. When a drowned woman washes up on the beach, Jennifer uncovers several similar deaths that have taken place over the past fifty years. Jennifer and veteran DCI, Michael Gilbert, follow the clues that lead them to 'Fritz', the illegitimate son of a Nazi soldier. But with his identity about to be revealed, the killer now has Jennifer in his sights. Fans of Elly Griffiths and Ann Cleeves will love this.
Red Magazine
A twisty thriller set in Guernsey and populated with great characters.
Olivia Kiernan, author of TOO CLOSE TO BREATHE
'There is darkness even within the most beautiful of landscapes, and Lara Dearman writes on this with stunning effect in her debut page-turner THE DEVIL'S CLAW. Set in Guernsey and steeped in island folklore, this novel explores a fifty-year-old mystery, and marks the arrival of a fantastic new talent.'
Fiona Cummins, author of RATTLE
A gripping thriller set in Guernsey, tremendous sense of place & characters I really cared about
Laura Marshall, author of FRIEND REQUEST
There is darkness even within the most beautiful of landscapes, and Lara Dearman writes on this with stunning effect in her debut page-turner The Devil's Claw. Set in Guernsey and steeped in island folklore, this novel explores a fifty-year-old mystery, and marks the arrival of a fantastic new talent.'
Fiona Cummins, author of RATTLE
The Devil's Claw is a great read and I absolutely loved it. I've never been to Guernsey but now feel like I know it!
Patricia Gibney, author of THE STOLEN GIRLS