Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Good Morning, Midnight

Good Morning, Midnight

For fans of STATION ELEVEN and THE MARTIAN

‘A remarkable and gifted debut novel’ Colson Whitehead, author of THE UNDERGROUND RAILROAD

‘What does it mean to be isolated from the ordinariness of the everyday world, yet to find the extraordinariness of being close to another human being?’ Yiyun Li, PEN/Hemingway Award winner

There is a particular beauty in silence, in being cut off from the world. Augustine is a brilliant, ageing scientist, consumed by the stars. Isolated in the cold but electrifying beauty of an Arctic Circle research base, he scans the universe, trying to find the origins of time itself.

Mission Specialist Sullivan, a divorced astronaut and mother, is aboard the Aether, on its return flight from Jupiter. When all communication goes silent, she is left wondering what she will be returning to.

As the silence expands, these two character begin to understand their place in the world, and what gives their life meaning. For only in the silence can we find out who we truly are.

GOOD MORNING MIDNIGHT is an extraordinarily beautiful and poignant novel about what is to be human – what is means to have experienced ambition, loss, grief, what it means to love and be loved.
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Modern & Contemporary Fiction (post C 1945)

On Sale: 11th August 2016

Price: £14.99

ISBN-13: 9781474600613

Reviews

Ambitious . . . Brooks-Dalton's prose lights up the page in great swathes, her dialogue sharp and insightful, and the high-concept plot drives a story of place, elusive love, and the inexorable yearning for human contact . . . Memorable characters explore complex questions that resonate with the urgency of a glimpse into the void
Publishers Weekly
Beautiful descriptions create a sense of wonder and evoke feelings of desolation while Brooks-Dalton's heartfelt debut novel unfolds at a perfect pace as it asks readers what will be left when everything in the world is gone
Booklist
What does it mean to be isolated from the ordinariness of the everyday world, yet to find the extraordinariness of being close to another human being? . . . Lily Brooks-Dalton takes us on an emotional journey in this beautiful debut
Yiyun Li, author of THE VAGRANTS
A truly original novel, otherworldly and profoundly human . . . This beautiful story reminds us of our deep longing for connection-with those we love, with strangers, with ourselves
Keith Scribner
Good Morning, Midnight is a remarkable and gifted debut novel. Lily Brooks-Dalton is an uncanny chronicler of desolate spaces, whether it's the cold expanse of the universe or the deepest recesses of the human heart
Colson Whitehead, author of THE UNDERGROUND RAILROAD