We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

The Vanishing of Joni Blackwood

ebook / ISBN-13: 9781398716506

Price: £9.99

ON SALE: 18th April 2024

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Thriller / Suspense

Disclosure: If you buy products using the retailer buttons above, we may earn a commission from the retailers you visit.

‘This is an absolute page-turner, I’m actually on pins waiting for the story to unfold and my anxiety is through the roof. And what a jaw-swinging, heart-palpitating ending this book has, too! This was an easy 5 star for me.’ Reader Review, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

The debris from the party the night before is scattered underneath the village tree and across the cobbles. Red wine stains the ground like blood. And Joni has vanished.

Everyone in the village loves Joni Blackwood. She is beautiful and bold, and it’s no surprise to anyone when on All Gallows’ Eve, she is crowned Gallows Queen. After all, despite fierce competition from the charity-giving and churchgoing mothers in the village, she has won this honour five years in a row.

But this year, the morning after the All Gallows’ Eve bonfire is not like the mornings before. This year, Joni is missing, the shower left running in her cottage.

When the next day, human remains are found in the church graveyard, everyone is quick to assume that the mystery of Joni’s whereabouts has had a swift and deadly answer. But when it’s revealed that the remains are the small bones of a baby, it’s clear that Joni’s disappearance only marks the start of dark truths in the village coming to light.

If the remains aren’t Joni’s, did she vanish because she put them there? Or because she knows who did?

The Vanishing of Joni Blackwood is an utterly compelling mystery with a twist you won’t see coming. Perfect for fans of C J Tudor, Caroline Mitchell and Erin Kelly.

Read what everyone is saying about The Vanishing of Joni Blackwood:


‘Lisa Rookes has written a gem of a book. It’s small town claustrophobia that bites in all the right places. A surefire five star read.’ Reader Review, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘I meannnnn I am currently jaw to the floor. I was not expecting that very end twist!!! This was such a wild ride and I honestly don’t feel a review can do the twists and turns justice, you just need to go and read it… Small town… drama… it’s got it all.’ Reader Review, ⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘I absolutelyyyyyyy loved the atmospheric setting of the small village… And that final reveal? Wow! I didn’t see it coming at all.🔥🔥🔥… You’ll love this one. It’s a real page-turner, and I can’t wait to read more from Lisa Rookes’ Reader Review, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘A brilliantly chilling mystery novel. Super creepy! Lisa’s got a really great voice… Strange in the best way. Loved it.’ Reader Review, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘This book was really a page turner from the first chapter… The author did a wonderful job describing relationships and their dynamics… Cannot wait to read more from this author.’ Reader Review, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘The plot drew me in instantly and I knew I couldn’t put it down until I knew the truth of Joni Blackwood, a very tense and suspenseful read.’ Reader Review, ⭐⭐⭐⭐

Reviews

Creepy, dark, and twisted!
Sharon Bolton, author of The Craftsman
This one is for all the gothic thriller fans... A gripping, pacy read with bold characters, gasp-out-loud twists, and an ending you'll never see coming.
Carly Reagon, author of The Toll House