Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Sad Janet

Sad Janet

‘Hilarious, wicked, wise and tender’ (Cynthia D’Aprix Sweeney) – a whip-smart black comedy for fans of The New Me and My Year of Rest and Relaxation



Named one of the Best Books of the Summer by LitHub, The Millions, Refinery29, and Hey Alma.

***

Meet Janet. Janet is sad. Not about her life, about the world. Have you seen it? That’s why she works at a dog shelter in the woods, where she can wear a giant coat and avoid human contact.

The thing is, she’s not out to make anyone else sad. She’s not turning up to weddings shouting that most marriages end in divorce. She can still be (kind of) normal when she wants to, she just doesn’t want to, most of the time.

Nevertheless, when her her doctor offers her a new pill that promises one day off from being sad, even Janet is curious. But experimenting with happiness turns out to have unexpected side-effects for all involved…

Hilarious, provocative and profound, Sad Janet is the antidote for our happiness-obsessed times.

‘A tragicomic riot of a book – charging, foul-mouthed and tender, across the modern condition’ Claudia Dey, author of Heartbreaker

‘Try reading Sad Janet … It might just make you happy’ Marcy Demansky, author of Very Nice

‘A biting, pitch-perfect novel about one woman’s desire to stay true to herself in a world that rewards facile happiness … a dazzling debut’ Cynthia D’Aprix Sweeney

The narrative voice of Janet in Britsch’s debut novel is a skin-tingling combination of new and
necessary’ Booklist starred review
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Modern & Contemporary Fiction (post C 1945)

On Sale: 16th June 2020

Price: £14.99

ISBN-13: 9781409198673