Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

We Own The Sky

We Own The Sky

How far would you go to save the one you love?

“Anyone who wishes David Nicholls would write faster needs to grab this with both hands.” Jill Mansell



An emotional page-turner with a heart-pounding dilemma. Fans of Jodi Picoult, David Nicholls and Jojo Moyes will love We Own The Sky.

Anna and Rob were the perfect couple with their whole lives in front of them. When beautiful baby boy Jack came along, their world seemed complete.

But when tragedy strikes they are faced with an impossible choice. They have one chance to save their child, but at what cost?

“…a touching narrative of first love and fatherhood” The Sunday Times

****

Praise for We Own The Sky

‘A beautiful, hugely emotional story.’ – The Sun

‘A heartbreaking read about love and loss.’ – Bella Magazine

‘Prepare to have your heart wrenched by this emotion-drenched story.’ – Sunday Mirror

‘This tender depiction of a father’s love for his son is utterly heartbreaking and will stay with you long after the book has finished.’ – The Express

‘Deeply affecting. A beautiful, remarkable book.’
– Lucy Diamond, author of The Secrets of Happiness

Utterly beautiful, heartbreaking and ultimately uplifting. – Rachael Lucas, author of The State of Grace

What an incredible book this is – such gut-wrenching honesty and depth of emotion. Anyone who wishes David Nicholls would write faster needs to grab this with both hands. It’s a truly stunning achievement. – Jill Mansell

Beautifully rendered and profoundly moving, We Own the Sky illustrates the lengths we’ll go to for those we love. Luke Allnutt is a major new talent in fiction and his debut is not to be missed. – Camille Pagán, bestselling author of Life and Other Near-Death Experiences

*****

What readers are saying about We Own The Sky:

‘Prepare to weep – I defy anyone to read this and not have a tear in their eye.’ reviewer, 5 stars

Emotional and moving. – 5* review, Amazon

This is a truly beautiful story told from the heart and written with such great feeling. – 5* review, Amazon

I loved this book for its honesty, it’s rawness and for its abundance of pure love. It made me laugh, it made me cry, and it will, I know, stay with me for a very long time. – 5* review, Amazon
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Modern & Contemporary Fiction (post C 1945)

On Sale: 8th February 2018

Price: £7.99

ISBN-13: 9781409172291

Reviews

This book brims over with empathy. Rob and Anna's crippling grief is utterly heartbreaking to read. It's at times a difficult read, but I finished it with tears running down my face. This is a book that will get under your skin and stay in your mind for a long time. Beautiful and irresistible.
Clare Swatman, author of Before You Go
We Own the Sky is a life-affirming yet heart-breaking wonder of a book about love in all its forms. Parental love, with the doubts, fears and joy that it brings and also the headrush of falling in love followed by the tough reality of trying to keep alive the magic once real life rears its head. The writing throughout is fluent and lyrical, full of humour and heart. It is one of the most raw and honest novels I've read in a long time - and yet Allnutt constantly finds the joy amidst the heartbreak - the chinks of light in the darkness.
Katie Marsh, author of MY EVERYTHING
This tender depiction of a father's love for his son is utterly heartbreaking and will stay with you long after the book has finished.
Daily Express
Echoes of David Mitchell, Jodi Piccoult and John Green
Grazia
A beautiful, hugely emotional story.
Fabulous Magazine
Beautifully rendered and profoundly moving, We Own the Sky illustrates the lengths we'll go to for those we love. Luke Allnutt is a major new talent in fiction and his debut is not to be missed.
Camille Pagán, bestselling author of Life and Other Near-Death Experiences
Prepare to have your heart well and truly wrenched by this emotion-soaked story.
The People
Both movingly tender and unflinchingly honest - We Own the Sky is story that will stay with me.
Isabel Ashdown, author of LITTLE SISTER
Allnutt provides a visceral, heartbreaking portrait of a father facing the loss of his 'beautiful boy.' Not the macho loss of football scarves and shared pints, but the inconceivable evaporation of memories, of smells and the warmth of physical contact with our children that can be all too fleeting.
Jem Lester, author of SHTUM
Utterly beautiful, heartbreaking and ultimately uplifting.
Rachael Lucas, author of The State of Grace
A breathtaking read that describes perfectly the joy and pain that comes with loving fully and all the compassion and forgiveness it requires. Brimming with hope to the very end.
Steven Rowley, bestselling author of Lily and the Octopus
We Own the Sky is a gripping, heart-squeezing story about how to carry on after losing what we love most. With grace, emotional keenness and a steady moral searchlight, Luke Allnutt guides the reader through the darkest despair and back to hope. A brave and intense novel.
Val Emmich, author of The Remainders
Deeply affecting. A beautiful, remarkable book.
Lucy Diamond, author of THE SECRETS OF HAPPINESS
This book will break your heart, but repair it too. Luke Allnutt's writing is full of compassion. It made me hold my loved ones a little bit closer.'
Katie May, author of THE WHITSTABLE HIGH TIDE SWIMMING CLUB
This tender depiction of a father's love for his son is utterly heartbreaking and will stay with you long after the book has finished.
The Express
A heartbreaking read about love and loss.
Bella Magazine
Prepare to have your heart wrenched by this emotion-drenched story.
Sunday Mirror
Heartbreaking and devastating and complicated, We Own the Sky offers something remarkable: light in the darkest dark and redemption where there ought to be none."
Laurie Frankel, bestselling author of THIS IS HOW IT ALWAYS IS
This sweeping tale of love and loss is a rare find. A wonderful read - but keep the tissues to hand.
The Lady
What an incredible book this is - such gut-wrenching honesty and depth of emotion. Anyone who wishes David Nicholls would write faster needs to grab this with both hands. It's a truly stunning achievement.
Jill Mansell
Absolutely stunning. A fabulous book.
Sheila O’Flanagan, author of WHAT HAPPENED THAT NIGHT
We Own the Sky is a heartbreak of a novel filled with love, sorrow, pain, and--ultimately--hope. The characters are drawn so tenderly, with such beautiful detail, that it's impossible not to feel the emotions that pulse through the pages. Powerful, touching, and poignant, this family's love story had me in tears.
Jill Santopolo, bestselling author of The Light We Lost