Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Exciting Times

Exciting Times

The book of the summer … Kept me rapt until the final pageTHE TIMES

A sharp, smart, witty modern love story. I loved it‘ David Nicholls, author of ONE DAY

More than lives up to the hype … Likely to fill the Sally-Rooney-shaped hole in many readers’ livesIRISH TIMES

Droll, shrewd and unafraid – a winning debut‘ Hilary Mantel, author of WOLF HALL

I’ve been pushing Exciting Times on everyone I know. Some of Dolan’s pithy observations of her characters are the best I’ve read since Edward St AubynOBSERVER

A frankly sensational book‘ Pandora Sykes on THE HIGH LOW

In the tradition of Dorothy Parker, Joan Rivers and Nora Ephron … I found myself purring with pleasure. …This is comic writing at the highest level’ Craig Brown, DAILY MAIL

When you leave Ireland aged 22 to spend your parents’ money, it’s called a gap year. When Ava leaves Ireland aged 22 to make her own money, she’s not sure what to call it, but it involves:

– a badly-paid job in Hong Kong, teaching English grammar to rich children;
– Julian, who likes to spend money on Ava and lets her move into his guest room;
– Edith, who Ava meets while Julian is out of town and actually listens to her when she talks;
– money, love, cynicism, unspoken feelings and unlikely connections.

Exciting times ensue.
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Modern & Contemporary Fiction (post C 1945)

On Sale: 12th April 2020

Price: £19.99

ISBN-13: 9781474613484

Reviews

Among the most hotly tipped debut authors for 2020
The Bookseller
Devastatingly perceptive and articulate. It's a joy to encounter a book so compulsively readable and painfully funny while simultaneously deeply insightful on love, on sexuality, on social class, on their links as terribly inextricable in the 21st century as they ever were. Dolan is a major talent and this is a formidable debut
Luke Kennard, author of THE TRANSITION
Brilliantly funny, surgically sharp, furiously political. Expect to hear lots about Exciting Times next year
Michael Hughes, author of COUNTRY
This is icily brilliant stuff. A poised and surgical examination of class, sex, language and self-making, with some flat-out enviable jokes
Paraic O'Donnell, author of THE HOUSE ON VESPER SANDS
This debut from Dolan explores a love affair between an English teacher and a banker in Hong Kong and the lawyer who blows the whole thing sky-high. Definitely one to watch.
Stylist, 'Best new books for 2020'
Read if you like Animals by Emma Jane Unsworth, Trick Mirror by Jia Tolentino, The Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath
Sunday Times Style
Half Sally Rooney love triangle, half glitzy Crazy Rich Asians high living - and guaranteed to please
Vogue, 'Books We Cant Wait to Read in 2020'
Forensically brilliant - an elegant and painfully funny portrait of greed and hunger, love and indifference
Michelle Gallen, author of BIG GIRL, SMALL TOWN
So wry, witty and insightful
Elizabeth Macneal, author of THE DOLL FACTORY
Fiercely intelligent, brutally funny and written with such heart, Exciting Times announces an impressive new voice in literature.
Nathan Filer, author of THE SHOCK OF THE FALL
A sharp, funny account of a contemporary relationship, told tenderly and with biting, bright insight.
Kiran Millwood Hargrave, author of THE MERCIES
A love story about three expats in Hong Kong - teacher Ava, banker Julian, and the alluring Edith - and explores the nuances and uncertainties of modern love
Cosmopolitan, 'Best Books of 2020'
Exciting Times more than lives up to the hype ... Likely to fill the Sally-Rooney-shaped hole in many readers' lives.
Irish Times
A funny, smart and sensitive exploration of love, privilege and bisexuality that had me gripped from the first page. Dolan's sentences are like a splash of cold water to the face
Clare Fisher, author of HOW THE LIGHT GETS IN
Dolan's debut lives up to the hype, a hypnotic tale
Sarah Hughes, The i newspaper
2020 is set to be a huge year for Naoise Dolan
Irish Examiner
Following the love triangle between three expats living in Hong Kong, Exciting Times dissects the financial and personal transactions that make up life
Platinum magazine
We're really, um, excited about this sharp, smart debut
Red magazine
Finance, sex, cynicism and unspoken feelings are swirled together in a can labelled 'Hong Kong' in this modern love triangle
Irish Independent
A modern love story that will live with you long after you've finished it
Molly Aitken author of THE ISLAND CHILD
Echoes of Sally Rooney's Conversations with Friends resound in this exacting debut novel
Oprah magazine
Droll, shrewd and unafraid - a winning debut
Hilary Mantel, author of WOLF HALL
Hands down one of the most anticipated debuts of the year ... A piercingly provocative look at modern love and power games.
BookRiot
Witty, compelling and with a razor-sharp social commentary. I guzzled it.
Pandora Sykes
Exciting Times, is more caustic and cynical than Rooney's writing, if just as clever ... All the fretting over love and class could be compared to Austen or Wharton, but her light treatment of bisexuality and polyamory is utterly 2020
Guardian
Meet the new Sally Rooney... That might sound like hyperbole but this tale brings fresh and on-point insights into modern love that'll make it a hit with lovers of Normal People
Stylist
Lucky us ... Exciting Times will brighten lockdown ... Very funny ... Extremely sharp ... Insightful and raw
Observer
Dry, sharp, meticulously observed ... A frankly sensational book that's flawlessly executed
Pandora Sykes on The High Low
Every page crackles ... Very funny ... Ultimately a very moving story, one that occupies a small sliver of time and space, but manages a lasting emotional tinnitus ... Naoise Dolan is not the new anyone. She's entirely herself, and that's plenty
Sunday Life, Irish Independent
Dazzling ... So brilliantly executed ... Coming-of-age love is told in technicolour ... Banging lines follow banging lines. Your underlining pen destroys the pages ... With Exciting Times comes a rare and indeed exciting talent, a cacophony of our times, a treat for the socially distanced
Irish Independent
A modern love story ... astute, sardonic and highly emotionally aware ... Heralding for sure a new star in Irish writing
Irish Times
An effervescent snapshot of millennial, attachment-avoidant dating
Daily Mail
Constant, breezy fun
Telegraph
A funny, smart, contemporary love story. Perfect for fans of Sally Rooney and Emma Jane Unsworth
Sunday Times Style
Exciting Times is a joy from start to finish, and the perfect balm for these times-fresh, funny, sharp. Everyone should read it right now. A literary and hilarious tour de force.
Katherine Heiny, author of Standard Deviation