Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

The Quickening

The Quickening

Feminist gothic fiction set between the late 19th century and the early 20th century – an era of burgeoning spiritualism and the suffragette movement – that couldn’t be more relevant today.

England, 1925. Louisa Drew lost her husband in the First World War and her six-year-old twin sons in the Spanish Flu epidemic of 1918. Newly re-married to a war-traumatised husband and seven months pregnant, Louisa is asked by her employer to travel to Clewer Hall in Sussex where she is to photograph the contents of the house for auction.

She learns Clewer Hall was host to an infamous séance in 1896, and that the lady of the house has asked those who gathered back then to come together once more to recreate the evening. When a mysterious child appears on the grounds, Louisa finds herself compelled to investigate and becomes embroiled in the strange happenings of the house. Gradually, she unravels the long-held secrets of the inhabitants and what really happened thirty years before… and discovers her own fate is entwined with that of Clewer Hall’s.

An exquisitely crafted and compelling mystery that invites the reader in to the crumbling Clewer Hall to help unlock its secrets alongside the unforgettable Louisa Drew.

For fans of The Silent Companions, The Little Stranger and The Familiars.
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Historical Fiction

On Sale: 20th August 2020

Price: £16.99

ISBN-13: 9781409192190

Reviews

Utterly brilliant... full of secrets and deliciously creepy, I raced through it
Lisa Hall
It's twisty and atmospheric, seriously creepy, and has an inspiring central character I was rooting for. Mystery, ghosts and a hint of romance - what's not to love?
Cressida McLaughlin
A powerful, spine-tingling, beautifully written gothic mystery full of real, complex characters, smart, dark twists and utterly immersive historical detail.
Hayley Webster
A spooky treat, which had me turning the pages faster and faster
Cass Green