Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

The Unforgetting

The Unforgetting

A spellbinding historical novel of obsession, the lure of fame, and the power of illusion, perfect for fans of The Binding, The Lost Ones and The Foundling

Her fate was decided. Her death was foretold. Her past is about to be unforgotten…



1851. When Lily Bell is sold by her father to a ‘Professor of Ghosts’ to settle a bad debt, she dreams of finding fame on the London stage. But Erasmus Salt wants Lily not as an actress, but as his very own ghost – the heart of his elaborate illusion for those desperate for a glimpse of the spirit world . . .

Obsessed with perfection, Erasmus goes to extreme lengths to ensure his illusion is realistic. When Lily comes across her own obituary in the paper, and then her headstones in the cemetery, she realises that she is trapped, her own parents think she is dead, and that her fate is soon to become even darker . . .

***

Readers are entranced by The Unforgetting . . .


‘This haunting Victorian novel weaves a spellbinding web of deluded dreams and dark deceptionsEssie Fox

Evocative and atmospheric, The Unforgetting is a macabre tale of dark obsessions and deadly ambitions, where nothing is quite what it seems’ Anita Frank, author of The Lost Ones

This Victorian gothic fantasy . . . drips with menace Daily Mail

‘A sinister, fast-paced gothic taleCaitlin Davies, author of Daisy Belle

‘This is dark, gothic historical fiction at its best. A tale of obsession, control, illusion and mystery in the Victorian era. Beautifully written, chilling and haunting‘ The Bookwormery

‘This is a book of magic, of women’s strength, of the power of love . . . a splendid and brilliantly paced novel’ Northern Reader Blog

‘A story of obsession and haunting illusions that will leave the reader chilled to the bone . . . this book entraps you [and] bewitches you‘ Bunny’s Pause Blog

‘From the very first pages, Black’s novel grabs our attention, drawing us into a beautifully evoked, sensory world . . . highly recommended‘ The Literary Shed
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Modern & Contemporary Fiction (post C 1945)

On Sale: 9th January 2020

Price: £14.99

ISBN-13: 9781409190639

Reviews

A feast of Victorian gothic is served with relish in this dark tale
The People
Evocative and atmospheric, The Unforgetting is a macabre tale of dark obsessions and deadly ambitions, where nothing is quite what it seems
Anita Frank, author of THE LOST ONES
This Victorian gothic fantasy offers . . . an atmosphere that drips with menace
Daily Mail
A sinister, fast-paced gothic tale
Caitlin Davies, author of DAISY BELLE
A story of obsession and haunting illusions that will leave the reader chilled to the bone . . . this book entraps you [and] bewitches you
Bunny's Pause Blog
Deliciously haunting Gothic fiction
i newspaper
From the very first pages, Black's novel grabs our attention, drawing us into a beautifully evoked, sensory world . . . highly recommended
The Literary Shed
This haunting Victorian novel weaves a spellbinding web of deluded dreams and dark deceptions
Essie Fox
This is a book of magic, of women's strength, of the power of love . . . a splendid and brilliantly paced novel
Northern Reader Blog
Lose yourself in this atmospheric tale
Best
A chilling, atmospheric page-turner
My Weekly
A lively, pacy read
The Times