Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

White Tears Brown Scars

White Tears Brown Scars

“Powerful and provocative” – Dr. Ibram X. Kendi, author of the New York Times bestselling How to be an Antiracist

For readers of Layla F. Saad’s
Me and White Supremacy and Reni Eddo-Lodge’s Why I’m No Longer Talking to White People About Race, White Tears/Brown Scars is an explosive book of history and cultural criticism that reveals how white feminism has been used as a weapon of white supremacy and patriarchy deployed against Black and Indigenous women, and women of colour.

Taking us from the slave era, when white women fought in court to keep “ownership” of their slaves, through the centuries of colonialism, when they offered a soft face for brutal tactics, to the modern workplace and the weaponisation of white women’s tears, White Tears/Brown Scars tells a charged story of white women’s active participation in campaigns of oppression and offers a long overdue validation of the experiences of women of colour.

Discussing subjects as varied as The Hunger Games, Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez, the viral BBQ Becky video, and 19th century lynchings of Mexicans in the American Southwest, Ruby Hamad undertakes a new investigation of gender and race. She shows how the division between innocent white women and racialised, sexualised women of colour was created, and why this division is crucial to confront.

With rigour and precision, Hamad builds a powerful argument about the legacy of white superiority that we are socialised within, a reality that we must apprehend in order to fight.
Read More

Genre: Society & Social Sciences / Society & Culture: General / Social Issues & Processes / Feminism & Feminist Theory

On Sale: 22nd October 2020

Price: £16.99

ISBN-13: 9781398703117