Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Letters from the Dead

Letters from the Dead

‘Gothic, claustrophobic, and wonderfully dark’

GUARDIAN on Sam Hurcom’s Thomas Bexley novels...

The next stifling, atmospheric gothic crime novel following one of the world’s first forensic photographers – for fans of The Woman in Black, The Silent Companions and Little Strangers.

* * * * * * * *

1905. A year after ‘the affair’ in Dinas Powys, Thomas Bexley has become a drunkard and recluse, haunted by terrible visions of the dead. But when news of a spate of extraordinary kidnappings reaches him, Thomas is shocked to learn that his dear friend and former mentor, Professor Elijah Hawthorn, is the lead suspect.

Discovering a plea for help from Hawthorn claiming to have unearthed a gruesome conspiracy at the heart of the Metropolitan Police, Thomas embarks on a journey to prove Hawthorn’s innocence.

But wherever Thomas goes, he is followed by the dead, and as the mystery of Hawthorn’s disappearance deepens, so too does Thomas’s apparent insanity…

How can Thomas be certain of the truth when he can’t trust anybody around him, not even himself…?

* * * * * * * *

Praise for Sam Hurcom:

‘An intriguing debut’ THE TIMES

‘A promising debut – gothic, claustrophobic and wonderfully dark GUARDIAN

‘A sparkling debut from a name to watch…You might as well be in another world. This is top notch historical crime fiction, with a dash of the supernatural. A gorgeous book and a riveting tale‘ David Young
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Crime & Mystery

On Sale: 26th November 2020

Price: £14.99

ISBN-13: 9781409189930

Reviews

A sparkling debut from a name to watch. Hurcom expertly weaves a tale of claustrophobic suspicion set in a Welsh village a few miles from Cardiff - but so inward-looking and insular you might as well be in another world. This is top notch historical crime fiction, with a dash of the supernatural. A gorgeous book and a riveting tale
David Young on A SHADOW ON THE LENS
An intriguing debut
The Times on A SHADOW ON THE LENS
A promising debut - gothic, claustrophobic and wonderfully dark
Guardian on A SHADOW ON THE LENS