Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

The Arrangement

The Arrangement

A funny, warm debut novel bringing westernised Indian culture to the fore – perfect for fans of Bridget Jones’s Diary and Bend it Like Beckham.

Twenty-nine year-old Raina is still unmarried and battling her family’s expectations for her future – they think that by now she should have been married in a dream Indian wedding. The pressure reaches new heights when her grandmother, Nani, decides to play matchmaker in order to find her the perfect arranged marriage. Eager not to disappoint her family, Raina goes along with the plan but when the love of her life returns – ex-boyfriend Dev – she’s forced to confront her true feelings. As she tries to free herself from the cultural pressures she faces, Raina realises that sometimes you have to disappoint those closest to you in order to forge your own path.

Read by Nina Wadia

(p) 2017 Orion Publishing Group
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Modern & Contemporary Fiction (post C 1945)

On Sale: 10th August 2017

Price: £19.99

ISBN-13: 9781409171331

Reviews

A riotous odyssey into the pressures of cross-cultural modern dating that will chime with every 20-something singleton
ELLE
A gorgeous summer read about the complications of balancing family, friends and love. It's warm and funny, cringeworthy and romantic, and above all wonderfully uplifting
CRESSIDA MCLAUGHLIN, bestselling author of The Canal Boat Cafe
THE ARRANGEMENT is a funny and thoroughly enjoyable read. Sonya Lalli had me rooting for Raina as she faced the pressures of her family's expectation. It's an engaging and very entertaining debut
EMILY KERR, author of Who Does He Think He Is?
THE ARRANGEMENT is a funny and moving exploration of modern love. Sonya Lalli's observations on being single while Indian and female certainly resonated with me, and reminded me of the challenges of balancing family pressures with my desire for independence in my twenties. I enjoyed meeting all the men on Nani's list, even the disastrous dates, because they reflected the hit or miss reality of the modern arranged marriage experience
BALLI KAUR JASWAL, bestselling author of Erotic Stories for Punjabi Widows
Impossible to read without a huge smile on your face. A superior slice of romantic comedy
Best Books To Read This August, RED
A delightfully different story of friendship, family and getting over heartbreak. It's fresh, funny and fabulously written - it had me hooked from the get-go
ANNA BELL, bestselling author of The Bucket List to Mend a Broken Heart
A perfect romance to lose yourself in
STYLIST
An Indian Bridget Jones, full of warmth and wit and so wise. What a fab book, I loved it
LAURA KEMP, author of The Late Blossoming of Frankie Green
Heartwarming and funny
WOMAN'S OWN
Bright and vivid, and fresh and funny - I was utterly charmed by this insight into Raina's struggle to be the perfect Indian daughter. A delightful debut
VERONICA HENRY, bestselling author of The Forever House
An absolute treat - I loved it. My senses were buzzing with delight as I read it
MILLY JOHNSON, bestselling author of The Queen of Wishful Thinking