Jostein Gaarder - Through A Glass, Darkly - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £8.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9780753806739
    • Publication date:01 Apr 1999

Through A Glass, Darkly

By Jostein Gaarder

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

Conversations about life and death, between a girl and an angel.

Conversations about life and death, between a girl and an angel.

It's almost Christmas. Cecilia lies sick in bed as her family bustle around her to make her last Christmas as special as possible. Cecilia has cancer. An angel steps through her window. So begins a spirited and engaging series of conversations between Cecelia and her angel. As the sick girl thinks about her life and prepares for her death, she changes subtly, in herself and in her relationships with her family.

Jostein Gaarder is a profoundly optimistic writer, who writes about death with wisdom, compassion and an enquiring mind. THROUGH A GLASS DARKLY will not only bring comfort to the bereaved. It will move and amaze everyone who reads it.

Biographical Notes

Jostein Gaarder was born in Oslo in 1952. Sophie's World, the first of his books to be published in English, has been translated into 60 languages and has sold over 40 million copies. He is the author of many other bestselling, beloved novels and children's books, including The Orange Girl, The Christmas Mystery and The Ringmaster's Daughter. He lives in Oslo with his family.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780297864042
  • Publication date: 15 Jul 2010
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: W&N
W&N

The Universal Tone

Carlos Santana, Ashley Kahn, Hal Miller
Authors:
Carlos Santana, Ashley Kahn, Hal Miller
Orion

Magpie Murders

Anthony Horowitz
Authors:
Anthony Horowitz

'The finest crime novel of the year' Daily Mail***** Seven for a mystery that needs to be solved . . . Editor Susan Ryland has worked with bestselling crime writer Alan Conway for years. Readers love his detective, Atticus Pünd, a celebrated solver of crimes in the sleepy English villages of the 1950s.But Conway's latest tale of murder at Pye Hall is not quite what it seems. Yes, there are dead bodies and a host of intriguing suspects, but hidden in the pages of the manuscript lies another story: a tale written between the very words on the page, telling of real-life jealousy, greed, ruthless ambition and murder.From the creator of Midsomer Murders comes a fiendish mystery perfect for fans of Agatha Christie's Miss Marple and Hercule Poirot.*****Praise for Magpie Murders - the gripping Sunday Times bestselling crime thriller:'Ingenious' Sunday Times'Thrilling and compelling with a stunning twist' Daily Mail 'A stylish thriller' Sunday Mirror 'A cunning reinvention of the thriller' Mail on Sunday

W&N

Charcoal Joe: The Latest Easy Rawlins Mystery

Walter Mosley
Authors:
Walter Mosley
Orion

The English Girl

Katherine Webb
Authors:
Katherine Webb
Orion

The Protector

Jodi Ellen Malpas
Authors:
Jodi Ellen Malpas
Gollancz

Of Sand and Malice Made

Bradley Beaulieu
Authors:
Bradley Beaulieu
Gollancz

Xeelee: Endurance

Stephen Baxter
Authors:
Stephen Baxter
The Murder Room

Mist on the Saltings

Henry Wade
Authors:
Henry Wade
The Murder Room

Constable Guard Thyself

Henry Wade
Authors:
Henry Wade

Two threats from a newly released convict - a poacher framed on a murder charge - put Captain Scole, Chief Constable of Brodshire, on his guard. Special men are assigned to protect him.But four days later, Captain Scole is found shot through the head at his desk in Police Headquarters.A full week later, young Inspector Poole of Scotland Yard is called in to follow a cold trail in the face of open hostility from the local police. And the further he explores the murder, the more baffling it becomes.Could Scole's First World War past be catching up with him - or something much closer to home?

Orion

Cruel Crown

Victoria Aveyard
Authors:
Victoria Aveyard
Orion

Ghost Flight

Bear Grylls
Authors:
Bear Grylls
W&N

The Complete Michael Palin Diaries

Michael Palin
Authors:
Michael Palin

Volume I: THE PYTHON YEARS (1969-1979)Michael Palin's diaries begin when he was newly married and struggling to make a name for himself in the world of television comedy. But Monty Python was just around the corner . . .Enjoying an unlikely cult status early on, the Pythons then proceeded to tour the USA and Canada. As their popularity grew, so Palin relates how the group went their separate ways, later to re-form for stage shows and the celebrated films THE HOLY GRAIL and LIFE OF BRIAN. Living through the three-day week and the miners strike, and all the trials of a peripatetic life are also essential ingredients of these perceptive and funny diaries.Volume II: HALFWAY TO HOLLYWOOD (1980-1988)After a live performance at the Hollywood Bowl, The Pythons made their last performance together in 1983 in the hugely successful MONTY PYTHON'S MEANING OF LIFE. Writing and acting in films and television then took over much of Michael's life, culminating in the smash hit A FISH CALLED WANDA (for which he won a BAFTA for Best Supporting Actor), and the first of his seven celebrated television journeys for the BBC. He co-produced, wrote and played the lead in THE MISSIONARY opposite Maggie Smith, who also appeared with him in A PRIVATE FUNCTION, written by Alan Bennett. Such was his fame in the US, he was enticed into once again hosting the enormously popular show Saturday Night Live, in one edition of which his mother makes a highly successful surprise guest appearance. He filmed several journeys for television and became chairman of the pressure group, Transport 2000. His family remains a constant as his and Helen's children enter their teens.Volume III: Travelling to Work (1988-1998)TRAVELLING TO WORK is a roller-coaster ride driven by the Palin hallmarks of curiosity and sense of adventure. Michael was not the BBC's first choice for the travel series AROUND THE WORLD IN 80 DAYS, but after its success, the public naturally wanted more. Palin, however, had other plans. There was his film AMERICAN FRIENDS, a role in Alan Bleasdale's award-winning drama GBH, the staging of his West End play THE WEEKEND, a first novel, HEMINGWAY'S CHAIR, and a lead role in FIERCE CREATURES. He did find time for two more travel series, POLE TO POLE in 1991 and FULL CIRCLE in 1996, and wrote two bestselling books to accompany them. These ten years in different directions offer riches on every page.

Orion

The World According to Anna

Jostein Gaarder
Authors:
Jostein Gaarder
Orion

Queen Song (A Red Queen Novella)

Victoria Aveyard
Authors:
Victoria Aveyard
W&N

Jemima Shore's First Case

Antonia Fraser
Authors:
Antonia Fraser

'The screams came again: by now they sounded quite blood-curdling to the girl alone in the small room - or was it that they were getting nearer?'From murders and ghostly visitors to devious plots and family feuds, Antonia Fraser's first collection of short stories is a feast of mingled delight and suspense.There are five Jemima Shore stories including the first ever Jemima Shore mystery in which the fifteen-year-old Jemima is confronted by blood-curdling screams and miraculous moving statues in the dead of night. Jemima is at her sparkling best as she solves the case of the Parr children in a remote corner of the Scottish Highlands and elegantly deals with a missing bride on a romantic Venetian honeymoon.

Orion

The Night Falling

Katherine Webb
Authors:
Katherine Webb

The international bestselling author of THE LEGACY and THE UNSEEN returns with a searing novel of secrets and feudsItaly, 1921. When Leandro Cardetta returns to Puglia from America a rich man, he is determined to make his mark. But how did he get so wealthy?Boyd, a quiet English architect, is hired to build Leandro's dreams. But why is he so afraid of Leandro, and what really happened between them years before?When Boyd's wife, Clare, is summoned to Puglia, she is instantly desperate to leave, but soon finds a compelling reason to stay.And Ettore, starving, poor and grieving for his lost fiancée, is too proud to ask his Uncle Leandro for help. Until events conspire to force his hand.Tensions are high as poverty leads veterans of the Great War to the brink of rebellion. And under the burning sky, a reckless love and a violent enmity will bring brutal truths to light . . .Your favourite authors love Katherine Webb's sweeping historical dramas: 'An enormously talented writer' Santa Montefiore 'Webb have a true gift for uncovering the mysteries of the human heart and exploring the truth of love' Kate Williams 'Katherine Webb's writing is beautiful' Elizabeth Fremantle 'A truly gifted writer of historical fiction' Lucinda Riley 'Katherine's writing is rich, vivid and evocative' Iona Grey

Gollancz

A Quantum Mythology

Gavin G. Smith
Authors:
Gavin G. Smith
Gollancz

Windhaven

George R.R. Martin, Lisa Tuttle
Authors:
George R.R. Martin, Lisa Tuttle

Among the scattered islands that make up the water world of Windhaven, no one holds more prestige than the silver-winged flyers, romantic figures who cross treacherous oceans, braving shifting winds and sudden storms, to bring news, gossip, songs and stories to a waiting populace.Maris of Amberly, a fisherman's daughter, wants nothing more than to soar on the currents high above Windhaven. So she challenges tradition, demanding that flyers be chosen by merit rather than inheritance.But even after winning that bitter battle, Maris finds that her troubles are only beginning. Now a revolution threatens to destroy the world she fought so hard to join - and force her to make the ultimate sacrifice...This early collaborative novel from George R. R. Martin and Lisa Tuttle is a masterclass of fantasy and storytelling.

W&N

Do No Harm

Henry Marsh
Authors:
Henry Marsh
W&N

Sophie's World

Jostein Gaarder
Authors:
Jostein Gaarder