Francesca Kay - The Translation of the Bones - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback
    More information
    • ISBN:9781780220147
    • Publication date:16 Aug 2012
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781409127482
    • Publication date:16 Aug 2012

The Translation of the Bones

From the Winner of the Orange Award for New Writers 2009

By Francesca Kay

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

From the author of AN EQUAL STILLNESS, winner of the 2009 Orange Award for New Writers

A searingly powerful novel about passion and isolation, about the nature of belief, about love and motherhood, for fans of Ali Smith and Maggie O'Farrell

In a church in Battersea, Mary-Margaret O'Reilly sees blood on her hands and believes she has witnessed a miracle. The consequences are both profound and devastating - not just for her but for others, too: Father Diamond, the parish priest, struggling with his own faith. Stella, adrift in her marriage and aching for her ten-year old son, away at boarding school. Alice, counting the days until her soldier son comes home. And Mary-Margaret's mother, imprisoned in a tower block with nothing but her thoughts for company... What happens to Mary-Margaret will send ripples through this tight community, raising questions about the nature of devotion - in all its forms - and the cost of loving in a confusing world.

'Unfailingly gripping, filled with the essential ingredients - tension and emotion.' Patricia Duncker, LITERARY REVIEW

'Beautifully musical sentences with carefully judged rhythms.' Philip Womack, DAILY TELEGRAPH

'Skillfully constructed and beautifully written.' Peter Parker, SUNDAY TIMES

Biographical Notes

Francesca Kay grew up in south-east Asia and India and has subsequently lived in Jamaica, the United States and Germany. Her first novel, AN EQUAL STILLNESS, won the ORANGE AWARD FOR NEW WRITERS, and was shortlisted for the AUTHORS' CLUB FIRST NOVEL AWARD and for BEST FIRST BOOK in the COMMONWEALTH WRITERS' PRIZE (Europe & South Asia region). She lives with her family in Oxford.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780297865100
  • Publication date: 25 Aug 2011
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: W&N