Jon Wallace - Rig - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £16.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9780575118898
    • Publication date:16 Jun 2016
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780575119086
    • Publication date:16 Jun 2016

Rig

By Jon Wallace

  • Paperback
  • £9.99

A fast-moving, filmic and violent SF thriller, perfect for fans of Jack Campbell. A meeting of The Road and Rogue Trooper.

A fast-moving, filmic and violent SF thriller, perfect for fans of Jack Campbell. A meeting of The Road and Rogue Trooper.

'My nanotech is dead. By definition I am no longer Ficial. On the other hand I don't experience your emotions. That makes me inhuman. Like I said: neither one nor the other.'

Caught in a world that is too busy destroying itself to care for anything except how to exploit the weak, Kenstibec is the ultimate outsider: he used to be invulnerable but now he's just a killer with no-one to kill for.

But when the old world is ending everyone needs a reason to live, someone to live for. Kenstibec is on a
quest. A quest that will take him across a freezing ocean and into the cold heart of a new world order.

Biographical Notes

Jon Wallace debuted with Barricade in 2014. The novel sparked controversy and divided reviewers but also won vociferous fans. He has had short stories published in Interzone. Before writing full time he worked in marketing in the charities sector.

He currently lives in North London with his wife.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780575118928
  • Publication date: 20 Apr 2017
  • Page count: 304
  • Imprint: Gollancz
The worldbuilding is so well done, the mood powerfully maintained and the writing is superb. — FOR WINTER NIGHTS
If this is going to be the final book in the series, then Wallace has gone out on a high. — PILE BY THE BED
Gollancz

Steeple

Jon Wallace
Authors:
Jon Wallace
Gollancz

Barricade

Jon Wallace
Authors:
Jon Wallace

Kenstibec was genetically engineered to build a new world, but the apocalypse forced a career change. These days he drives a taxi instead.A fast-paced, droll and disturbing novel, BARRICADE is a savage road trip across the dystopian landscape of post-apocalypse Britain; narrated by the cold-blooded yet magnetic antihero, Kenstibec.Kenstibec is a member of the 'Ficial' race, a breed of merciless super-humans. Their war on humanity has left Britain a wasteland, where Ficials hide in barricaded cities, besieged by tribes of human survivors. Originally optimised for construction, Kenstibec earns his keep as a taxi driver, running any Ficial who will pay from one surrounded city to another. The trips are always eventful, but this will be his toughest yet. His fare is a narcissistic journalist who's touchy about her luggage. His human guide is constantly plotting to kill him. And that's just the start of his troubles. On his journey he encounters ten-foot killer rats, a mutant king with a TV fixation, a drug-crazed army, and even the creator of the Ficial race. He also finds time to uncover a terrible plot to destroy his species for good - and humanity too.

Bob Shaw

Bob Shaw (1931 - 1996) Bob Shaw was born in Belfast in 1931. After working in engineering, aircraft design and journalism he became a full time writer in 1975. Among his novels are Orbitsville, A Wreath of Stars, The Ragged Astronauts and his best-known work Other Days, Other Eyes, based on the Nebula Award-nominated 'Light of Other Days', the story that made his reputation. Although his SF novels and stories were for the most part serious, Shaw was well-known in fannish circles for his sense of humour, and his witty 'Serious Scientific Talks' were a favourite of attendees at Eastercons. Bob Shaw won two Hugos and three BSFA Awards. He died in 1996.

Bratniss Everclean

Bratniss Everclean is not, you will be surprised to hear, a real name.

Dave van Arnam

Dave van Arnam (1935-2002) was an American SF author.

David Bischoff

David Bischoff is an American SF author. Born in Washington D.C. and now living in Eugene, Oregon, Bischoff writes science fiction books, short stories, and scripts for television. Though he has been writing since the early 1970s, and has had over 80 books published, Bischoff is best known for novelizations of popular movies and TV series including the Aliens, Gremlins, Star Trek: The Next Generation, and WarGames.

David Harris

?

E. Everett Evans

.

Gordon Eklund

Gordon Eklund is an American SF author.

Grania Davis

Grania Davis is an American SF author.

Harlan Ellison

Harlan Ellison is a multiple Hugo and Nebula Award winning writer and editor. He wrote the script for the hugely popular Star Trek episode, The City on the Edge of Forever, the Nebula Award-winning novella, A Boy and his Dog, and many acclaimed stories including 'Shatterday' and 'I Have No Mouth and I Must Scream'. His groundbreaking anthology Dangerous Visions was instrumental in defining the New Wave movement. Harlan Ellison lives in Los Angeles.

Hjalti Danielsson

Hjalti Daníelsson has worked in different capacities on EVE Online since its start in 2003 and currently serves as CCP¿s main creative writer for the harsh universe of New Eden, the setting for EVE Online. He is the author of more than seventy short stories and assorted other fiction set in the EVE Online universe.

Holly Lisle

Holly Lisle lives and works in the USA - she is the author of a number of successful fantasy novels and has collaborated with many household names.

Jack C Haldeman II

Jack C Haldeman (1941-2002) was an American SF author and elder brother of Joe Haldeman.

Jeaniene Frost

Jeaniene Frost is the author of the dark fantasy NIGHT HUNTRESS series. A long-time vampire aficionado, she currently lives in Florida with her husband and dog.You can learn more at www.jeanienefrost.com.

John Marco

John Marco has worked in various industries including aviation, computers and home security. He now writes full time. He lives on Long Island in the USA.

Jonathan Maberry

"Maberry has outdone himself with a deliciously diabolical plot and bone-chilling scenarios that keep you riveted to every page. Brutal action, insanely intelligent, and so real that the hair on the back of your neck stands up!" L.A. Banks. Jonathan Maberry is a stunning dark thriller writer and a fabulous new talent.

Joseph Green

Joseph l. Green (1931 - ) Joseph Lee Green was born in Florida in 1931. He worked for almost four decades on the American space programme, retiring from NASA as Deputy Chief of the Education Office at the Kennedy Space Center. A prolific writer of short fiction, he produced only five novels, the best known of which is 1971's Gold The Man. He was a charter member of the SFWA and one of the first American writers to be published on Victor Gollancz's nascent science fiction list.

Josephine Saxton

Josephine Saxton (1935 -) Josephine Mary Howard was born in Halifax, Yorkshire, in 1935 and from the mid-60's produced a body of highly regarded sceicne fiction novels and short stories under the name Josephine Saxton. Her 1986 novel Queen of the States was nominated for the 1987 Arthur C. Clarke Award. She lives in Warwickshire.

K. W. Jeter

* K. W. Jeter an award-winning novelist * Superb reviews for the Blade Runner sequel novels * Enduring impact of the Blade Runner film * Legendary status of Philip K. Dick