T. J. Bass - The Godwhale - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780575130135
    • Publication date:13 Mar 2014
Books in this series

The Godwhale

By T. J. Bass

  • Paperback
  • £9.99

A post-apocalyptic dystopian fable by the acclaimed author of HALF PAST HUMAN. Introduction by Ken MacLeod.

A post-apocalyptic dystopian fable by the acclaimed author of HALF PAST HUMAN, with an introduction by Ken MacLeod

Rorqual Maru was a cyborg - part organic whale, part mechanised ship - and part god. She was a harvester - a vast plankton rake, now without a crop, abandoned by earth society when the seas died. So she selected an island for her grave, hoping to keep her carcass visible for salvage.

Although her long ear heard nothing, she believed that man still lived in his hive. If he should ever return to the sea, she wanted to serve. She longed for the thrill of a human's bare feet touching the skin of her deck. She missed the hearty hails, the sweat and the laughter.

She needed mankind. But all humans were long gone ... or were they?

Biographical Notes

Thomas Joseph Bassler was an American science fiction writer and doctor, principally known for his 'Hive' stories. The first of these, published in GALAXY SCIENCE FICTION and IF, were combined into the novel HALF PAST HUMAN, which was nominated for the NEBULA AWARD in 1972. Loose sequel, THE GODWHALE, was also nominated three years later. His work explored the theme of overpopulation and was notable for its strong command of biological extrapolation. He died in 2011.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780575129931
  • Publication date: 13 Mar 2014
  • Page count: 304
  • Imprint: Gollancz
Orion

Xeelee: Redemption

Stephen Baxter
Authors:
Stephen Baxter
Gollancz

After Atlas

Emma Newman
Authors:
Emma Newman
Gollancz

The Smoke

Simon Ings
Authors:
Simon Ings
Gollancz

Exodus

Alex Lamb
Authors:
Alex Lamb

The Photurians - a hivemind of sentient AIs and machines - were awakened by humanity as part of a complex political trap. But they broke free, evolved, and now the human race is almost finished. Once we spanned dozens of star systems; now only four remain, and Earth is being evacuated.But the Photes can infect us, and among the thousands rescued from our home world may be enemy agents. Tiny colonies struggle to house the displaced. Our warships are failing. The end of humanity has come.But on a distant planet shielded from both humanity and the Photurians, one hope may still live. The only person who might be able to intervene. The roboteer. He is trapped in a hell of his own making, and does not know he is needed. And so a desperate rescue mission is begun. But can he be reached in time? Or will he be the last remnant of humanity in the universe?

Gollancz

Elysium Fire

Alastair Reynolds
Authors:
Alastair Reynolds
Orion

The Night Market

Jonathan Moore
Authors:
Jonathan Moore

'Do you ever think there's maybe something that's gone wrong with the world?'A man is found dead in one of the city's luxury homes. Homicide detective Ross Carver arrives at the scene when six FBI agents burst in and forcibly remove him from the premises. Two days later...Carver wakes in his bed to find Mia a neighbor he's hardly ever spoken to, reading aloud to him. He has no recollection of the crime scene, no memory of how he got home, and no idea that two days have passed. Carver knows nothing about this woman but as he struggles to piece together what happened to him, he soon realizes he's involved himself in a web of conspiracy that spans the nation. And Mia just might know more than she's letting on...'Moore has a great gift for the macabre and the creepy.' The TimesRead by Tim Flavin(p) 2018 Orion Publishing Group

Gollancz

Planetfall

Emma Newman
Authors:
Emma Newman
Gollancz

The Man In The High Castle

Philip K. Dick
Authors:
Philip K. Dick
Gollancz

Austral

Paul McAuley
Authors:
Paul McAuley
Gollancz

The White City

Simon Morden
Authors:
Simon Morden
Gollancz

The Fallen Kingdom

Elizabeth May
Authors:
Elizabeth May

My name is Lady Aileana Kameron. First the fae murdered my mother. Then they destroyed my world.Then one of them killed me.Now I'm fighting for more than revenge.The long-awaited final book in the Falconer trilogy is an imaginative tour-de-force that will thrill fans of the series.Aileana Kameron, resurrected by ancient fae magic, returns to the world she once knew with no memory of her past and with dangerous powers she struggles to control. Desperate to break the curse that pits two factions of the fae against, her only hope is hidden in an ancient book guarded by the legendary Morrigan, a faery of immense power and cruelty. To save the world and the people she loves, Aileana must learn to harness her dark new powers even as they are slowly destroying her.Packed with immersive detail, action, romance, and fae lore, The Fallen Kingdom brings the Falconer's story to an epic and unforgettable conclusion.

Gollancz

Xeelee: Vengeance

Stephen Baxter
Authors:
Stephen Baxter
Gollancz

The Massacre of Mankind

Stephen Baxter
Authors:
Stephen Baxter
Gateway

Minority Report

Philip K. Dick
Authors:
Philip K. Dick
Gollancz

Tales From the End of Time

Michael Moorcock
Authors:
Michael Moorcock
Gollancz

Maskerade

Terry Pratchett
Authors:
Terry Pratchett

THE SHOW MUST GO ON, AS MURDER, MUSIC AND MAYHEM RUN RIOT IN THE NIGHT...The Opera House, Ankh-Morpork... A huge, rambling building, where innocent young sopranos are lured to their destiny by a strangely familiar evil mastermind in a hideously deformed evening dress...At least, he hopes so. But Granny Weatherwax, Discworld's most famous witch, is in the audience. And she doesn't hold with that sort of thing.So there's going to be trouble (but nevertheless a good evening's entertainment with murders you can really hum...)

Gollancz

Interesting Times

Terry Pratchett
Authors:
Terry Pratchett
Gollancz

Moving Pictures

Terry Pratchett
Authors:
Terry Pratchett

The alchemists of the Discworld have discovered the magic of the silver screen. But what is the dark secret of Holy Wood hill?It's up to Victor Tugelbend ('Can't sing. Can't dance. Can handle a sword a little') and Theda Withel ('I come from a little town you've probably never heard of') to find out...MOVING PICTURES, THE TENTH DISCWORLD NOVEL IS A GLORIOUSLY FUNNY SAGA SET AGAINST THE BACKGROUND OF A WORLD GONE MAD!

Gollancz

Good Omens

Neil Gaiman, Terry Pratchett
Authors:
Neil Gaiman, Terry Pratchett

There is a hint of Armageddon in the air. According to the Nice and Accurate Prophecies of Agnes Nutter, Witch (recorded, thankfully, in 1655, before she blew up her entire village and all its inhabitants, who had gathered to watch her burn), the world will end on a Saturday. Next Saturday, in fact. So the Armies of Good and Evil are massing, the four Bikers of the Apocalypse are revving up their mighty hogs and hitting the road, and the world's last two remaining witchfinders are getting ready to Fight the Good Fight. Atlantis is rising. Frogs are falling. Tempers are flaring, and everything appears to be going to Divine Plan.Except that a somewhat fussy angel and a fast-living demon are not particularly looking forward to the coming Rapture. They've lived amongst Humanity for millennia, and have grown rather fond of the lifestyle. So if Crowley and Aziraphale are going to stop it from happening, they've got to find and kill the AntiChrist (which is a shame, really, as he's a nice kid). There's just one glitch: someone seems to have misplaced him.Terry Pratchett and Neil Gaiman's brilliantly dark and funny take on mankind's final judgment is back, in a new hardcover edition which includes an introduction by the authors.

Gollancz

Half Past Human

T. J. Bass
Authors:
T. J. Bass

A novel of dystopian future in the tradition of SOYLENT GREEN and H.G. Wells' THE TIME MACHINE, with an introduction by Ken MacLeodTinker was a good citizen of the Hive - a model worker. But when he was allowed sexual activation he found Mu Ren who, like him, harboured forbidden genes. And so began the cataclysm.But in a world where half-wild humans are hunted for sport - and food - can anyone overthrow the Hive? Greater by far than its stunted, pink-blooded citizens, the Hive is more than prepared to rise and crush anyone who challenges its supremacy ...