Jostein Gaarder - The Christmas Mystery - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

The Christmas Mystery

By Jostein Gaarder

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

A startlingly original presentation of the Nativity story, woven into an enthralling and mysterious novel.

Fifty years ago a girl disappeared from her home in Norway. She ran after a lamb and found herself travelling right across Europe to Palestine, and back through 2000 years to meet the Holy Family in Bethlehem. There she met angels, shepherds, wise men and other biblical characters who joined her on her pilgrimage; and she heard of many of the things that happened in the world in the last 2000 years.

In present-day Norway, a boy acquires a strange old Advent calendar. Hidden in each of the windows is a tiny piece of paper. Little by little these pieces unfold the girl's story and as we learn what happened to her, another story is revealed - that of the strange old man who made the calender.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780753808665
  • Publication date: 07 Oct 1999
  • Page count: 256
  • Imprint: W&N
A magical Christmas adventure based around advent. It has a warm, festive feel to it and I'm sure anyone would enjoy it at Christmas time. — WORCHESTERNEWS.CO.UK
W&N

An Unreliable Man

Jostein Gaarder
Authors:
Jostein Gaarder

From the creative genius of Jostein Gaarder, a novel about loneliness and the power of words - perfect for fans of Sophie's WorldJakop is a lonely man. Divorced from his wife, with no friends apart from his constant companion Pelle, he spends his life attending the funerals of people he doesn't know, obscuring his identity in a web of lies and improbable stories. As his addiction to storytelling spirals out of control, he is forced to reconcile his love of language and stories, with the ever more urgent need for human connection - and truth. An Unreliable Man is a moving and thought-provoking novel about loneliness and truth, about how language and storytelling create connections and meaning, and about seeking a place in the world.Decades after his global bestseller Sophie's World, Jostein Gaarder has written a poignant and funny book for our times - full of life and hope.Praise for Sophie's World - an international cult favourite'A simply wonderful, irresistible book' Daily Telegraph'A unique popular classic' The Times"An improbable international bestseller . . . [A] tour de force' Time'Extraordinary' Newsweek'Sheer delight' Madeleine L'Engle

Gollancz

Spelltrigger

Sam Sykes
Authors:
Sam Sykes

A young thief is being interrogated by her captors about a heist: every answer she gives is half-truth and half-lie. Every answer she gives leads to a flashback, revealing filled with tremendous action to the reader. Written in a very accessible and engaging style, this is a story packed with attitude, a brilliant first-person POV, and a clever narrative structure.Sykes has also created one of the most satisfying and original magical systems to match the story, and these elements come together in a very solid and satisfying way to create and innovative and eye-catching read. Full of energy, this is a positive and fun fantasy tale for the post-grimdark generation of readers.

Orion

Not Just for Christmas

Natalie Cox
Authors:
Natalie Cox
Orion

In a House of Lies

Ian Rankin
Authors:
Ian Rankin

The iconic Ian Rankin returns with a new Detective John Rebus novel - this year's essential must-read bestseller.* * * * *In a house of lies, who can ever know the truth?

Orion

I See Through You

Daisy McNally
Authors:
Daisy McNally

Orion

Denial

Peter James
Authors:
Peter James

Orion

Dreamer

Peter James
Authors:
Peter James

When waking from your dream means living your nightmare...The last time the dream came, Sam was seven years old; and that was the night her parents were to die.Twenty-five years later, Sam's nightmares are starting to come true once more. Now a successful TV commercials producer, juggling her roles of career woman, wife and mother, she attempts to shut them out.But soon Sam is faced with the reality of dreams in which her life and that of her family are threatened. In desperation, she consults the experts: a psychiatrist; a clairvoyant ... but to no avail. Sam is being inexorably drawn into a vortex of terror from which there is no escape...'Britain's closest equivalent to Stephen King.' Sunday Times 'Peter James is getting better with every book.' TimesRead more from the multi-million copy bestselling author of the Roy Grace novels:Possession DreamerSweet Heart Twilight Prophecy Host Alchemist Denial The Truth Faith * Each Peter James novel can be read as a standalone*

Orion

Faith

Peter James
Authors:
Peter James

Orion

Possession

Peter James
Authors:
Peter James
Orion

Prophecy

Peter James
Authors:
Peter James

Orion

Twilight

Peter James
Authors:
Peter James
Orion

Autumn at the Café at the End of the Pier

Helen Rolfe
Authors:
Helen Rolfe
Gollancz

The Left Hand of Darkness

Ursula K. Le Guin
Authors:
Ursula K. Le Guin

'Love doesn't just sit there, like a stone, it has to be made, like bread; remade all the time, made new' Two people, until recently strangers, find themselves on a long, tortuous and dangerous journey across the ice. One is an outcast, forced to leave his beloved homeland; the other is fleeing from a different kind of persecution. What they have in common is curiosity, about others and themselves, and an almost unshakeable belief that the world can be a better place. As they journey for over 800 miles, across the harshest, most inhospitable landscape, they discover the true meaning of friendship, and of love.

Orion

Annihilation

Megan DeVos
Authors:
Megan DeVos

'The Hunger Games meets The Road' MTVThis is the end of us all.For Hayden and Grace, the threat of war has become a reality. The world is running out of resources, driving the survivors to drastic, inhuman measures. Blackwing is the obvious target and physical attacks from enemies are accompanied by the devastating mental turmoil that cannot be fought off with weapons.This is life impacted by war with enemies, allies and oneself. Now, not much is certain, but a few things are guaranteed:There will be pain. There will be death. There will be annihilation.

Orion

Revolution

Megan DeVos
Authors:
Megan DeVos

'The Hunger Games meets The Road' MTVYou fight, you kill, you steal, you lie.... or you die. As war breaks out between Blackwing and Greystone, Grace's allegiance becomes clear. But that doesn't make her task any easier.Hayden knows that war is coming. That these raids are just the beginning, and there is something else coming for them. But can he save his camp and free himself at the same time?Welcome to the revolution.

Orion

Loyalty

Megan DeVos
Authors:
Megan DeVos
Orion

Anarchy

Megan DeVos
Authors:
Megan DeVos

'The Hunger Games meets The Road' MTVThe world is different now. There are no rules, no governments, and no guarantees that you'll be saved.Rival factions have taken over, fighting each other for survival with no loyalty to anyone but their own. At 21, Hayden has taken over Blackwing and is one of the youngest leaders in the area. In protecting his camp from starvation, raids from other factions and the threat of being kidnapped, he has enough to worry about before he finds Grace. The daughter of the head of the rival camp Greystone, she is slow to trust anyone, much less the leader of those she has been trained to kill. This is danger. This is chaos. This is anarchy.

W&N

The Map of Salt and Stars

Jennifer Zeynab Joukhadar
Authors:
Jennifer Zeynab Joukhadar
Orion

The Lido

Libby Page
Authors:
Libby Page
Orion

Sweet Heart

Peter James
Authors:
Peter James