Ella Griffin - The Heart Whisperer - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781409122432
    • Publication date:31 Jan 2013

The Heart Whisperer

By Ella Griffin

  • Paperback
  • £7.99

In Ireland, Claire Dillon lives in the shadow of the past - until she gives herself one year to change her future...

In Ireland, Claire Dillon lives in the shadow of the past - until she gives herself one year to change her future...

At thirty-three, Claire's mother had everything to live for. But she died in a tragic accident. And it was her daughter's fault. Now Claire is the same age. A floundering actress with a broken heart. Her life is going nowhere in the company of her gorgeous best friend, ex-rock star, Ray Devine.

Her estranged brother, Nick, is back from America with his perfect wife. But Dublin is full of dark memories and he is already planning his escape.

What will happen when another accident throws brother and sister together and a lifetime of secrets come to light?

Biographical Notes

Ella Griffin was born in Dublin. She was an award-winning advertising copywriter before she took the leap into fiction. She has written three novels since 2011. She writes about love and loss and loves making readers laugh and cry (sometimes on the same page.) Ella lives with her husband in County Wicklow in Ireland.

You can find Ella at www.ellagriffin.com, Facebook/EllaGriffinAuthor and @EllaGriffin1

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781409120728
  • Publication date: 15 Sep 2011
  • Page count: 416
  • Imprint: Orion
Written with warmth and humour Irish authors appear so good at — Sarah Broadhurst, BOOKSELLER
A brilliant debut novel (4 stars) — HEAT
A fresh, funny new voice. Ella Griffin can make you laugh and then cry in the turn of a page. — Marian Keyes
A touching story that reminds us all that love's never as simple as it sounds. — WOMAN
This thrilling story of romance and deceit is too good to put down. — CLOSER
As debut novels go this is one stomping entry into the world of storytelling. Like all good romcoms, Postcards from the Heart is a love story with a twist, but its also got the added element of wit, humour and the odd tear here and there. A fabulous read. — RTE GUIDE
A smart portrayal of four friends' efforts to find a path through the undergrowth of thirtysomething life. — DAILY TELEGRAPH
Following the lives of four thirty-something friends, it has all the elements of great chick-lit: think the humour of Marian Keyes, the warmth of Cathy Kelly, with just a sprinkling of Jackie Collins naughtiness thrown in for good measure. — IRISH INDEPENDENT
Ella Griffin's hugely enjoyable debut ... deftly mixes light and shade, humour and conflict ... like Allison Pearson in I don't know how She Does It, Griffin puts a fresh spin on the having-it-all conundrum of juggling relationships and caring from children and parents with the demands of a career. — IRISH SUNDAY INDEPENDENT
A brilliant read which I found it hard to put down. — SOUTH WALES ARGUS
packed with characters, plot twists and humorous incident ... a journey on which many readers will be happily swept away — IRISH TIMES
A funny, zany romp through the glitzier side of Dublin — IRISH EXAMINER

The Memory Shop

Ella Griffin
Ella Griffin

'Ella Griffin can make you laugh and cry in the turn of a page' - Marian Keyes Will every treasured possession find its perfect home? Nora's world has been turned upside-down. Escaping heart-break in London, she returns to her childhood home in Dublin where her grandmother's beloved house is being sold. Nora has been left with an inheritance of treasured belongings, but no home of her own in which to keep them.Unable to bear auctioning them off, Nora resolves to stay in Dublin and open The Memory Shop, a very special business which matches each gorgeous object with a perfect new owner. It's not long before these objects begin to transform the lives of those they touch, creating new stories and new chances at happiness. As Nora lets go of a lifetime of treasures, she unlocks tantalising clues to her grandmother's mysterious past. But can she finally let go of her own...? An uplifting novel set in a charming Irish community, about love, family and finding your way. Perfect for fans of Jenny Colgan, Emma Hannigan and Carole Matthews. *********Praise for Ella Griffin 'A pleasure to read - assured, witty and highly likeable' Irish Mail on Sunday 'Beautifully interwoven stories, perfect for Maeve Binchy fans' My Weekly 'A fabulous read' RTE Guide


The Flower Arrangement

Ella Griffin
Ella Griffin

A Little Bit of Summer

Ella Griffin
Ella Griffin

The stories of three women's lives are tied together as they grapple with the thorny issue of love.Ciara spends her third wedding anniversary alone, wondering if she will ever mend her broken heart.Seven years into a relationship, Katy isn't looking for someone - until he appears.Lara, still getting over a broken marriage, is trying not to fall for a much younger man...For a bouquet of sunshine, romance - and surprises - pick A LITTLE BIT OF SUMMER. The perfect holiday read.


Postcards from the Heart

Ella Griffin
Ella Griffin

Adaobi Tricia Nwaubani

Adaobi Tricia Nwaubani grew up in the eastern part of Nigeria, among the Igbo speaking people-the major culprits of 419 scams . She lives in Nigeria. I DO NOT COME TO YOU BY CHANCE is her first novel. It won a Betty Trask Award, the Commonwealth Writers' Prize for Best First Book (Africa), and was a finalist for the 2010 Wole Soyinka Prize for Literature in Africa.

Amy MacKinnon

Amy MacKinnon, a former congressional aide, is a freelance writer whose commentaries have appeared in theSeattle Times, Boston Globe, Boston Herald, Patriot Ledger and on National Public Radio and This American Life. She lives in Marshfield, Massachusetts with her husband and their three young children.

Catriona McCloud

Catriona McCloud was born in South Queensferry, Scotland, and educated at Edinburgh University. She lives on a farm in a beautiful valley in Galloway.

Donna Hay

Donna Hay's first novel, 'Waiting in the Wings', won her the RNA New Writers' Award, and since then she has attracted praise from critics for 'Kiss & Tell', 'Such a Perfect Sister', 'Some Kind of Hero', 'Goodbye, Ruby Tuesday' and 'No Place for a Woman'. She writes regularly for TV TIMES and WHAT'S ON TV magazine. She lives in York with her husband and daughter.

Elise Chidley

Elise Chidley is South African by birth but now lives in Connecticut with her husband and three children. She has written short stories and has been shortlisted for the Nadine Gordimer award and the Ian St James awards.

Elizabeth Haydon

Having travelled the world extensively Elizabeth Haydon now lives on the East coast of America with her family. She is an editor in educational publishing. In her spare time she plays music.

Ella Griffin

Ella Griffin was born in Dublin. She was an award-winning advertising copywriter before she took the leap into fiction. She has written three novels since 2011. She writes about love and loss and loves making readers laugh and cry (sometimes on the same page.) Ella lives with her husband in County Wicklow in Ireland.You can find Ella at www.ellagriffin.com, Facebook/EllaGriffinAuthor and @EllaGriffin1

Gemma Townley

Gemma Townley is the author of five previous novels. Before turning to fiction Gemma worked in magazines. She now lives in London with her husband, Mark, and two children.

H.C. Carlton

Harold Carlton sketched the Paris collections for many years for the Sunday Times, the Observer and other publications including Elle magazine. He worked as assistant designer for two Paris maisons de couture, Nina Ricci and Courreges. Subsequently he illustrated Mademoiselle magazine and the New York Times and wrote for the Village Voice. He returned to London to become Menswear Editor of the Sunday Times. He is the author of Labels, which sold more than 1 million copies Stateside.

Holly Lisle

Holly Lisle lives and works in the USA - she is the author of a number of successful fantasy novels and has collaborated with many household names.

Ian Rankin

Born in the Kingdom of Fife in 1960, Ian Rankin graduated from the University of Edinburgh in 1982, and then spent three years writing novels when he was supposed to be working towards a PhD in Scottish Literature. His first Rebus novel was published in 1987, and the Rebus books are now translated into thirty-six languages and are bestsellers worldwide.Ian Rankin has been elected a Hawthornden Fellow, and is also a past winner of the Chandler-Fulbright Award. He is the recipient of four Crime Writers' Association Dagger Awards including the prestigious Diamond Dagger in 2005. In 2004, Ian won America's celebrated Edgar Award for Resurrection Men. He has also been shortlisted for the Anthony Award in the USA, won Denmark's Palle Rosenkrantz Prize, the French Grand Prix du Roman Noir and the Deutscher Krimipreis. Ian Rankin is also the recipient of honorary degrees from the universities of Abertay, St Andrews, Edinburgh, Hull and the Open University.A contributor to BBC2's Newsnight Review, he also presented his own TV series, Ian Rankin's Evil Thoughts. Rankin is a number one bestseller in the UK and has received the OBE for services to literature, opting to receive the prize in his home city of Edinburgh, where he lives with his partner and two sons. www.ianrankin.net Twitter @Beathhigh

J.G. Farrell

J.G. Farrell was born in Liverpool in 1935 and spent a good deal of his life abroad, including periods in France and North America, and then settled in London where he wrote most of his novels.Among his novels, TROUBLES won the Faber Memorial Prize in 1970 and the Lost Man Booker prize in 2010 and THE SIEGE OF KRISHNAPUR won the Booker Prize in 1973.In April 1979 he went to live in County Cork where only four months later he was drowned in a fishing accident.

James A. Levine

James A. Levine is a Professor of Medicine at the Mayo Clinic. In collaboration with the United Nations, James has focused his work on the plight of women and children in low-income countries. For his scientific work, Dr. Levine has regularly appeared on CNN, BBC, CBC and the Discovery Channel, and has been repeatedly featured in the NEW YORK TIMES, USE TODAY, TIME, WALL STREET JOURNAL, US NEWS, THE TIMES and many other major US and international papers.

Jean Fullerton

Jean Fullerton is the author of seven historical novels. She is a qualified District and Queen's nurse who has spent most of her working life in the East End of London, first as a Sister in charge of a team, and then as a District Nurse tutor. She is also a qualified teacher and spent twelve years lecturing on community nursing studies at a London university. She now writes full-time. Find out more at www.jeanfullerton.com

Joe R Lansdale

Joe R. Lansdale is the winner of the British Fantasy Award, the American Horror Award, the Edgar Award, and six Bram Stoker Awards. He lives in Nacogdoches, Texas.

John Marco

John Marco has worked in various industries including aviation, computers and home security. He now writes full time. He lives on Long Island in the USA.