Robert Crais - The Promise - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Hardback £16.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781409127154
    • Publication date:14 Jan 2016
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781409129929
    • Publication date:10 Nov 2015

The Promise

An Elvis Cole and Joe Pike Novel

By Robert Crais

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

The gripping new novel from the master of the intelligent action thriller and bestselling author of SUSPECT, Robert Crais.

Loyalty, commitment, the fight against injustice - these are the things that have always driven Elvis Cole and Joe Pike. If they make a promise, they keep it. Even if it could get them killed.

When Elvis Cole is hired to locate a woman who may have disappeared with a stranger she met online, it seems like an ordinary case - until Elvis learns the missing woman worked for a defence contractor and was being blackmailed to supply explosives components for a person or persons unknown.

Meanwhile, in another part of the city, LAPD officer Scott James and his patrol dog, Maggie, enter an abandoned building to locate an armed and dangerous thief, only to discover far more than they expected.

Soon, Scott and Maggie find themselves targeted and, as their case intertwines with Elvis and Joe's, join forces to follow the trail of the missing woman as well. From inner-city drug traffickers to a shadowy group of Afghan war veterans with ties to a terrorist cell, the people they encounter on that trail add up to ever-increasing odds, and soon the four of them are fighting to find the woman not only before she is killed ... but before the same fate happens to one of them.

Biographical Notes

Robert Crais is the author of the SUNDAY TIMES bestselling Elvis Cole and Joe Pike novels. Crais began a successful career in television in the 1970s, writing scripts for such major series as CAGNEY AND LACEY, MIAMI VICE and HILL STREET BLUES. In addition to the Cole and Pike novels, he has also written several bestselling standalone thrillers. Crais lives in Los Angeles with his wife and family. Find out more at www.robertcrais.com.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781409129936
  • Publication date: 12 Jan 2017
  • Page count: 416
  • Imprint: Orion
'Once again Crais has created a breathless thriller with an undercurrent of powerful emotion - and somehow made it seem easy' — EVENING STANDARD
Through the sheer plausibility of his plotting and the deft characterisation of even the most minor characters, Crais delivers as satisfying an addition to the Cole/Pike canon as could be desired — IRISH INDEPENDENT
'A Feat of good storytelling.' — SUNDAY BUSINESS POST
Orion

Sleeper 13

Rob Sinclair
Authors:
Rob Sinclair
Orion

Righteous

Joe Ide
Authors:
Joe Ide
W&N

Restless Souls

Dan Sheehan
Authors:
Dan Sheehan
Orion

The Truth

Peter James
Authors:
Peter James
Orion

The Guilty Wife

Elle Croft
Authors:
Elle Croft

WIFE. MISTRESS. MURDERER. If you were being framed for murder, how far would you go to clear your name?The debut psychological thriller that reads as Apple Tree Yard meets Behind Closed Doors, by way of Double Jeopardy.I'm not guilty of murder.Bethany Reston is happily married. But she's also having an affair with a famous client.And no one can ever know.But that doesn't make me innocent.When Bethany's lover is brutally murdered, she has to hide her grief from everyone. But someone knows her secret. And then one day the threats begin. With an ever-growing pile of evidence pointing to her as the murderer, the only way she can protect her secrets is to prove her innocence. And that means tracking down a killer.An incredibly taut, tense game of cat and mouse - with a twist you'll never see coming.Read by Victoria Fox(p) Orion Publishing Group 2017

Orion

Bad News

Linwood Barclay
Authors:
Linwood Barclay

*THIS BOOK WAS PREVIOUSLY PUBLISHED IN THE USA UNDER THE TITLE STONE RAIN*Zack Walker Mystery #4Journalist Zack Walker has a dangerous habit of finding deadly stories. But this is one his good friend Trixie Snelling doesn't want told. It turns out Trixie has her fair share of skeletons in her closet and, as Zack discovers, a dead body in her basement.With other journalists circling the story - and no sign of Trixie, who has gone missing - Zack could find himself implicated in a murder, unless he finds out the truth fast. The bad news is: it will cost him his job, and teach him that everything he knows about his friend, his town, and even his marriage, is a lie. The good news? It hasn't cost him his life . . . yet.

Orion

Thin Air

Michelle Paver
Authors:
Michelle Paver
Orion

Bad Move

Linwood Barclay
Authors:
Linwood Barclay
Orion

Don't Look For Me

Mason Cross
Authors:
Mason Cross

Mason Cross, author of THE SAMARITAN, a Richard & Judy Book Club pick, returns with his gripping new thriller - perfect for fans of David Baldacci, Linwood Barclay and Mark Billingham. *Don't look for me.It was a simple instruction. And for six long years Carter Blake kept his word and didn't search for the woman he once loved. But now someone else is looking for her.He'll come for you.Trenton Gage is a hitman with a talent for finding people - dead or alive. His next job is to track down a woman who's on the run, who is harbouring a secret many will kill for.Both men are hunting the same person. The question is, who will find her first?*High-stakes action, blistering tension and a deadly game of cat and mouse, THE TIME TO KILL is the must-read new thriller from Mason Cross:'Terrific stuff!' Ian Rankin'Mason Cross is a thriller writer for the future who produces the kind of fast-paced, high octane thrillers that I love to read.' Simon Kernick'So pacy I'm exhausted! Definitely one to read if you like your thrillers thrilling.' Emma Kavanagh'One of the most interesting 'loner' heroes to have arrived in recent years . . . Told with pace and vigour by a writer who seems to have a natural aptitude for thrillers, it is not to be missed.' Daily Mail'My kind of book.' Lee Child*If you like Lee Child's Jack Reacher, you will LOVE the race-against-time Carter Blake series:1. The Killing Season2. The Samaritan3. The Time To Kill4. Don't Look for Me5. Presumed Dead* Each Carter Blake thriller can be read as a standalone or in series order *

Orion

IQ

Joe Ide
Authors:
Joe Ide
Orion

Far From True

Linwood Barclay
Authors:
Linwood Barclay

It began with Broken Promise. Now the mystery deepens in the second of the Promise Falls trilogy.A freak accident has killed Lucy Brighton's father. And when she goes to his house, she's convinced that someone has broken in. She asks private investigator Cal Weaver to look into it - but isn't prepared for what he'll find. Cal discovers a secret 'playroom' in the basement, complete with video equipment, and it looks as though there's a missing recording. How does the stolen DVD connect to the other disturbing events that are happening in the town? As Cal investigates further, and more people start dying in mysterious circumstances, it's clear that someone is targeting Promise Falls. But who - and how far will they go?

Orion

The Stranger

Harlan Coben
Authors:
Harlan Coben

The Stranger appears out of nowhere, perhaps in a bar, or a parking lot, or at the grocery store. His identity is unknown. His motives are unclear. His information is undeniable. Then he whispers a few words in your ear and disappears, leaving you picking up the pieces of your shattered world.Adam Price has a lot to lose: a comfortable marriage to a beautiful woman, two wonderful sons, and all the trappings of the American Dream: a big house, a good job, a seemingly perfect life.Then he runs into the Stranger. When he learns a devastating secret about his wife, Corrine, he confronts her, and the mirage of perfection disappears as if it never existed at all. Soon Adam finds himself tangled in something far darker than even Corrine's deception, and realizes that if he doesn't make exactly the right moves, the conspiracy he's stumbled into will not only ruin lives - it will end them...

Orion

The Crossing

Michael Connelly
Authors:
Michael Connelly

Six months ago, Harry Bosch left the LAPD before they could fire him, and then hired maverick Defense Attorney Mickey Haller to sue the department for forcing him out. Although it wasn't the way he wanted to go, Harry has to admit that being out of the game has its benefits. Until Mickey asks him to help on one of his cases, and suddenly Harry is back where he belongs, right in the centre of a particularly puzzling murder mystery. The difference is, this time Harry is working for the defense, aiming to prevent the accused, Da'Quan Foster, from being convicted. And not only does the prosecution seem to have a cast-iron case, but having crossed over to 'the dark side' as his former colleagues would put it, Harry is in danger of betraying the very principles he's lived by his whole career.

Orion

The Burning Room

Michael Connelly
Authors:
Michael Connelly
Orion

At End of Day

George V. Higgins
Authors:
George V. Higgins

'No one ever did it better' NEW YORK TIMESArthur McKeach and Nick Cistero have been behind most of the loan-sharking, extortion, hijacking, illegal gambling, union corruption and drug-dealing in Greater Boston for almost four decades - and every cop in the Boston Police Department knows it.So what's kept them on the streets for so long?What the cops don't know is that McKeach and Cistero have a sweet deal going with the Boston office of the FBI: the bureau looks the other way when they're doing business, and even gives them a heads-up when the local or state cops start poking around - and all McKeach and Cistero have to do is rat out the Italian mob from Boston's North End.It's a deal that has worked for four decades, but now there's a new agent in town, fresh from a desk job in Washington, ready to take over the Organized Crime Unit. Is it the end of an era in the Boston underworld, or are McKeach and Cistero about to find out just how far corruption can go?

Orion

Suspect

Robert Crais
Authors:
Robert Crais

LAPD cop Scott James is not doing so well. Eight months ago, a shocking late-night assault by unidentified men killed his partner Stephanie, nearly killed him, and left him enraged, ashamed, and ready to explode. He is unfit for duty - until he meets his new partner.Maggie is not doing so well, either. A German shepherd who survived three tours in Iraq and Afghanistan sniffing out explosives before losing her handler to an IED.They are each other's last chance. Shunned and shunted to the side, they set out to investigate the one case that no one wants them to touch: the identity of the men who murdered Stephanie. What they begin to find is nothing like what Scott has been told, and the journey will take them both through the darkest moments of their own personal hells. Whether they will make it out again, no one can say.Suspect is an explosive masterpiece from the Sunday Times bestselling author.

Orion

Taken

Robert Crais
Authors:
Robert Crais

Joe Pike must take on his toughest challenge yet. He must hunt down and rescue . . . Elvis Cole.A nail-biting Cole and Pike novel from the No. 1 NEW YORK TIMES bestselling author.Elvis Cole. All round nice guy. Always the first man to help a stranger in distress. This time, however, he's paid the ultimate price for trying to be the good Samaritan.Joe Pike. A fierce protector and a dangerous enemy. This time his tough guy exterior will be tested to the limit as he risks everything to save his closest friend.The clock is ticking now that Elvis has been TAKEN.

Orion

Hostage

Robert Crais
Authors:
Robert Crais
Orion

The Two Minute Rule

Robert Crais
Authors:
Robert Crais
Orion

Free Fall

Robert Crais
Authors:
Robert Crais