Michael Connelly - The Crossing - Orion Publishing Group

The Crossing

By Michael Connelly

  • Paperback
  • £7.99

Can Harry Bosch defend a man accused of murder without betraying everything he believes in?

Six months ago, Harry Bosch left the LAPD before they could fire him, and then hired maverick Defense Attorney Mickey Haller to sue the department for forcing him out. Although it wasn't the way he wanted to go, Harry has to admit that being out of the game has its benefits. Until Mickey asks him to help on one of his cases, and suddenly Harry is back where he belongs, right in the centre of a particularly puzzling murder mystery. The difference is, this time Harry is working for the defense, aiming to prevent the accused, Da'Quan Foster, from being convicted. And not only does the prosecution seem to have a cast-iron case, but having crossed over to 'the dark side' as his former colleagues would put it, Harry is in danger of betraying the very principles he's lived by his whole career.

Biographical Notes

A former police reporter for the LOS ANGELES TIMES, Michael Connelly is the author of the Harry Bosch thriller series as well as several stand-alone bestsellers, including the highly acclaimed legal thriller, THE LINCOLN LAWYER, selected for the Richard & Judy Book Club. Michael Connelly has been President of the Mystery Writers of America. His books have been translated into 31 languages and have won awards all over the world, including the EDGAR and ANTHONY AWARDS. BOSCH, the TV series is the most watched original series on Amazon Prime Instant Video and has just been commissioned for a second series. He lives in Tampa, Florida, with his family. Follow him on Twitter @Connellybooks.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781409145875
  • Publication date: 06 Oct 2016
  • Page count: 432
  • Imprint: Orion
Enter Harry Bosch, one of the finest minds in crime fiction. He understands the trajectories of bullets and also political careers. Connelly loves to watch him think, and so do I. — EVENING STANDARD
Fast detective action is skilfully interwoven with courtroom pyrotechnics. — THE INDEPENDENT
It's jaw-dropping that after 27 bestsellers he's still scaling new heights with every book, and this one is a double delight because it features both detective Harry Bosch and his half-brother, ducking and diving defence lawyer Mickey Haller. — PETERBOROUGH EVENING TELEGRAPH
Vintage Bosch — Mark Billingham, CRIME VAULT PODCAST
As ever, Connelly's produced a solid police procedural, gripping right to the end. — Mat Coward, MORNING STAR
Intensely satisfying and featuring two of the smartest creations in modern crime fiction, this is as elegant a masterpiece as Connelly has delivered. — DAILY MAIL
When Michael Connelly is on form, as he is with The Crossing, he is irresistible. — IRISH TIMES
Connelly spins an intricate web in this brilliant anti-police procedural. — DAILY EXPRESS
Michael Connelly justified the stellar success of his Harry Bosch stories by breathing new life into the series in its 18th instalment THE CROSSING. — DAILY EXPRESS
All sorts of lines are crossed in a brilliant and complex story set against the parched paradise of Los Angeles. — EVENING STANDARD
Orion

Two Kinds of Truth

Michael Connelly
Authors:
Michael Connelly
Trapeze

The Devil's Claw

Lara Dearman
Authors:
Lara Dearman

An atmospheric new crime series set in the Channel Islands, for readers of Ann Cleeves, Peter May and Elly Griffiths. Jennifer Dorey thinks she is safe. Following a traumatic incident in London, Jennifer has returned to her childhood home in Guernsey, taking a job as a reporter at the local newspaper. After the discovery of a drowned woman on a beach, she uncovers a pattern of similar deaths that have taken place over the past fifty years. Together with DCI Michael Gilbert, an officer on the verge of retirement, they follow a dark trail of island myths and folklore to 'Fritz', the illegitimate son of a Nazi soldier. His work, painstakingly executed, has so far gone undetected. But with his identity about to be uncovered, the killer now has Jennifer in his sights.And home is the last place she should be.THE DEVIL'S CLAW introduces readers to returning characters journalist Jennifer Dorey and DCI Michael Gilbert.

Orion

The Late Show

Michael Connelly
Authors:
Michael Connelly
Orion

The Wrong Side of Goodbye

Michael Connelly
Authors:
Michael Connelly
Trapeze

Tattletale

Sarah J. Naughton
Authors:
Sarah J. Naughton

Packed with twists and turns, this gripping revenge thriller will make you question whether we can ever really trust the ones we love. 'I thoroughly enjoyed Tattletale, sympathetic characters and neck breaking twists - highly recommended.' Jenny BlackhurstOne day changes Jody's life forever. She has shut herself down, haunted by her memories and unable to trust anyone. But then she meets Abe, the perfect stranger next door and suddenly life seems full of possibility and hope.One day changes Mags's life forever. After years of estrangement from her family, Mags receives a shocking phone call. Her brother Abe is in hospital and no-one knows what happened to him. She meets his fiancé Jody, and gradually pieces together the ruins of the life she left behind. But the pieces don't quite seem to fit...'a fast paced, brilliant page-turner...I predict a hit' Liz Nugent'...deliciously clever - I still haven't stopped thinking about the magnificent, twisted construction of it' Emma Kavanagh, author of THE MISSING HOURS'It's one of the best debuts I've read. It deserves to be MASSIVE.' Julia Crouch'Lies, mystery and murder wrought by childhood trauma in this compulsive, twisty thriller.' Helen Smith, author of BEYOND BELIEF'A well-crafted tale of love, obsession and murder - beautifully written and brilliantly twisted.' Ava Marsh, author of EXPOSURE'Gripping, electrifying, heartbreaking.' Erin Kelly, author of HE SAID/SHE SAID

Orion

The Burning Room

Michael Connelly
Authors:
Michael Connelly

Los Angeles Detective Harry Bosch tackles a cold case unlike any he's ever worked, in the new legal thriller from the bestselling author of THE LINCOLN LAWYER and THE BLACK ECHO, Michael Connelly.In the LA Police's Open-Unsolved Unit, not many murder victims die almost a decade after the crime. So when a man succumbs to complications from being shot by a stray bullet ten years earlier, Bosch catches a case in which the body is still fresh, but any other evidence is virtually non-existent.Now Bosch and his new partner, rookie Detective Lucia Soto, are tasked with solving what turns out to be a highly charged, politically sensitive case. Starting with the bullet that's been lodged for years in the victim's spine, they must pull new leads from years-old information, which soon reveals that this shooting may have been anything but random in this gripping police procedural.

Orion

The Narrows

Michael Connelly
Authors:
Michael Connelly
Orion

The Poet

Michael Connelly
Authors:
Michael Connelly

The apparent suicide of his policeman brother sets Denver crime reporter Jack McEvoy on edge. Surprise at the circumstances of his brother's death prompts Jack to look into a whole series of police suicides, and puts him on the trail of a cop killer whose victims are selected all too carefully. Not only that, but they all leave suicide notes drawn from the poems of writer Edgar Allan Poe in their wake. More frightening still, the killer appears to know that Jack is getting nearer and nearer. An investigation that looks like the story of a lifetime might also be Jack's ticket to a lonely end.

Orion

The Black Echo

Michael Connelly
Authors:
Michael Connelly
Orion

The Drop

Michael Connelly
Authors:
Michael Connelly
Orion

Trunk Music

Michael Connelly
Authors:
Michael Connelly

The fifth Harry Bosch novel from the award-winning No. 1 bestselling author. The murder of a Hollywood producer has all the signs of a mob hit but something doesn't add up for Harry Bosch. Featured in Series 2 of BOSCH on Amazon PrimeHarry Bosch is back at the LAPD in Homicide after disciplinary leave. But his first case proves to be one of the most difficult. In the wooded hills overlooking the Hollywood Bowl, he opens the trunk of a white Rolls-Royce and finds a corpse. It looks like a simple case of Trunk Music - the execution style of the Mafia where the victim is shot in his own vehicle - but the victim is LA movie producer Tony Aliso, and the mob weren't the only ones after him. Bosch finds himself up against the FBI - and back in the arms of a beautiful ex-felon. It's starting to look like Harry's first case back in Homicide is in danger of being his last . . .

Orion

Angels Flight

Michael Connelly
Authors:
Michael Connelly
Orion

Switchblade

Michael Connelly
Authors:
Michael Connelly

A Harry Bosch short story from bestselling crime writer Michael Connelly. Also includes an extract from The Gods of Guilt. BOSCH TV STARTS FEBRUARY 2015!When the department's sorter takes a call from an anonymous witness to a cold case murder, she takes it straight to Harry Bosch who finds the accused in San Quentin. He's locked away for a different murder but only a few months away from a parole hearing which is likely to see him walking free. New methods find DNA on the murder weapon but having sat in an archive for 20 years, it's not strong enough to take to court. To keep him behind bars, Bosch has no choice but to find the witness who doesn't want to be found.

Orion

The Gods of Guilt

Michael Connelly
Authors:
Michael Connelly
Orion

Saints of the Shadow Bible

Ian Rankin
Authors:
Ian Rankin

SUNDAY TIMES No.1 bestseller Ian Rankin returns with his gripping new Rebus novel.Rebus is back on the force, albeit with a demotion and a chip on his shoulder. A 30-year-old case is being reopened, and Rebus's team from back then is suspected of foul play. With Malcolm Fox as the investigating officer, are the past and present about to collide in a shocking and murderous fashion? And does Rebus have anything to hide? His old colleagues called themselves 'the Saints', and swore a bond on something called 'the Shadow Bible'. But times have changed and the crimes of the past may not stay hidden much longer, especially with a referendum on Scottish independence just around the corner. Who are the saints and who are the sinners? And can the one ever become the other?

Orion

The Black Box

Michael Connelly
Authors:
Michael Connelly
Orion

Standing in Another Man's Grave

Ian Rankin
Authors:
Ian Rankin

REBUS IS BACK.The superb No.1 bestseller from 'Britain's best crime novelist' EXPRESSA series of seemingly random disappearances - stretching back to the millennium.A mother determined to find the truth.A retired cop desperate to get his old life back...It's been some time since Rebus was forced to retire, and he now works as a civilian in a cold-case unit. So when a long-dead case bursts back to life, he can't resist the opportunity to get his feet under the CID desk once more. But Rebus is as stubborn and anarchic as ever, and he quickly finds himself in deep with pretty much everyone, including DI Siobhan Clarke.All Rebus wants to do is uncover the truth. The big question is: can he be the man he once was and still stay on the right side of the law?

Orion

The Safe Man

Michael Connelly
Authors:
Michael Connelly
Orion

Mulholland Dive

Michael Connelly
Authors:
Michael Connelly
Orion

Michael Connelly - The Harry Bosch Collection (ebook)

Michael Connelly
Authors:
Michael Connelly

In a city of a million tales, Detective Bosch reads those written in blood. Fourteen crime novels from bestseller Michael Connelly. 'Connelly is a crime writing genius' Independent on SundayContains: THE BLACK ECHO, THE BLACK ICE, THE CONCRETE BLONDE, THE LAST COYOTE, TRUNK MUSIC, ANGELS FLIGHT, A DARKNESS MORE THAN NIGHT, CITY OF BONES, LOST LIGHT, THE NARROWS, THE CLOSERS, ECHO PARK, THE OVERLOOK, NINE DRAGONS