Michael Connelly - The Crossing - Orion Publishing Group

The Crossing

By Michael Connelly

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

Can Harry Bosch defend a man accused of murder without betraying everything he believes in?

Six months ago, Harry Bosch left the LAPD before they could fire him, and then hired maverick Defense Attorney Mickey Haller to sue the department for forcing him out. Although it wasn't the way he wanted to go, Harry has to admit that being out of the game has its benefits. Until Mickey asks him to help on one of his cases, and suddenly Harry is back where he belongs, right in the centre of a particularly puzzling murder mystery. The difference is, this time Harry is working for the defense, aiming to prevent the accused, Da'Quan Foster, from being convicted. And not only does the prosecution seem to have a cast-iron case, but having crossed over to 'the dark side' as his former colleagues would put it, Harry is in danger of betraying the very principles he's lived by his whole career.

Biographical Notes

A former police reporter for the LOS ANGELES TIMES, Michael Connelly is the author of the Harry Bosch thriller series as well as several stand-alone bestsellers, including the highly acclaimed legal thriller, THE LINCOLN LAWYER, selected for the Richard & Judy Book Club. Michael Connelly has been President of the Mystery Writers of America. His books have been translated into 31 languages and have won awards all over the world, including the EDGAR and ANTHONY AWARDS. BOSCH, the TV series is the most watched original series on Amazon Prime Instant Video and has just been commissioned for a second series. He lives in Tampa, Florida, with his family. Follow him on Twitter @Connellybooks.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781409145899
  • Publication date: 22 Oct 2015
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Orion
Enter Harry Bosch, one of the finest minds in crime fiction. He understands the trajectories of bullets and also political careers. Connelly loves to watch him think, and so do I. — EVENING STANDARD
Fast detective action is skilfully interwoven with courtroom pyrotechnics. — THE INDEPENDENT
It's jaw-dropping that after 27 bestsellers he's still scaling new heights with every book, and this one is a double delight because it features both detective Harry Bosch and his half-brother, ducking and diving defence lawyer Mickey Haller. — PETERBOROUGH EVENING TELEGRAPH
Vintage Bosch — Mark Billingham, CRIME VAULT PODCAST
As ever, Connelly's produced a solid police procedural, gripping right to the end. — Mat Coward, MORNING STAR
Intensely satisfying and featuring two of the smartest creations in modern crime fiction, this is as elegant a masterpiece as Connelly has delivered. — DAILY MAIL
When Michael Connelly is on form, as he is with The Crossing, he is irresistible. — IRISH TIMES
Connelly spins an intricate web in this brilliant anti-police procedural. — DAILY EXPRESS
Michael Connelly justified the stellar success of his Harry Bosch stories by breathing new life into the series in its 18th instalment THE CROSSING. — DAILY EXPRESS
All sorts of lines are crossed in a brilliant and complex story set against the parched paradise of Los Angeles. — EVENING STANDARD
W&N

A Double Life

Flynn Berry
Authors:
Flynn Berry
Gollancz

One Way

S.J. Morden
Authors:
S.J. Morden

A murder mystery set on the frozen red wastes of Mars.Eight astronautsOne killerNo way home+++WE STAND AT THE DAWN OF A NEW ERAFrank Kittridge is serving life for murdering his son's drug dealer. So when he's offered a deal by Xenosystems Operations - the company that runs the prison - he takes it, even though it means swapping one life sentence for another.THERE HAS NEVER BEEN A BETTER TIME TO BE ALIVE He's been selected to help build the first permanent base on Mars. Unfortunately, his crewmates are just as guilty of their crimes as he is - and he'll have to learn to trust them if they're to succeed.THE FUTURE OF SPACE TRAVEL IS IN SAFE HANDSAs the convicts set to work on the frozen wastes of Mars, the accidents multiply. Until Frank begins to suspect they might not be accidents at all . . .XENOSYSTEMS OPERATIONS: MAKING DREAMS A REALITYThere's a murderer amongst them, and everyone's a suspect.

Orion

Time is a Killer

Michel Bussi
Authors:
Michel Bussi
Trapeze

Hangman

Daniel Cole
Authors:
Daniel Cole

The new thriller from the bestselling author of RagdollA detective with no one to trustA killer with nothing to lose18 months after the 'Ragdoll' murders, a body is found hanging from Brooklyn Bridge, the word 'BAIT' carved into the chest. In London a copycat killer strikes, branded with the word 'PUPPET', forcing DCI Emily Baxter into an uneasy partnership with the detectives on the case, Special Agents Rouche and Curtis.Each time they trace a suspect, the killer is one step ahead. With the body count rising on both sides of the Atlantic, can they learn to trust each other and identify who is holding the strings before it is too late?

Orion

Where the Missing Go

Emma Rowley
Authors:
Emma Rowley
Orion

Sleeper 13

Rob Sinclair
Authors:
Rob Sinclair
Orion

Saturday Bloody Saturday

Alastair Campbell, Paul Fletcher
Authors:
Alastair Campbell, Paul Fletcher
Orion

The Late Show

Michael Connelly
Authors:
Michael Connelly
Orion

The Guilty Wife

Elle Croft
Authors:
Elle Croft
Trapeze

My Little Eye

Stephanie Marland, Stephanie Broadribb
Authors:
Stephanie Marland, Stephanie Broadribb

Can a group of true crime addicts take on the police to catch a serial killer?A young woman is found dead in her bedroom surrounded by rose petals - the latest victim of 'The Lover'. Struggling under the weight of an internal investigation, DI Dominic Bell is no closer to discovering the identity of the killer and time is running out.As the murders escalate, Clementine Starke joins an online true crime group determined to take justice in their own hands - to catch the killer before the police. Hiding a dark secret, she takes greater risks to find new evidence and infiltrate the group. As Starke and Bell get closer to cracking the case neither of them realise they're being watched. The killer is closer to them than they think, and he has his next victim - Clementine - firmly in his sights. Perfect for fans of Sweet Little Lies, Friend Request and Follow You Home. The thriller with twists you'll never see coming! * * * * *'My Little Eye is an enthralling, intriguing and twisty tale for all of us armchair detectives who think we know it all.' Liz Nugent, author of Lying In Wait and Unravelling Oliver'A masterclass in pacing & such an original take on the serial killer thriller.' - Eva Dolan, author of This Is How It Ends* * * * * What readers are saying about My Little Eye: 'This book is AMAZING!!!' Goodreads'Easily one of my favourite reads this year so far.' - Goodreads 'My Little Eye is a bang on psychological thriller of the most addictive kind.' Goodreads'Beautifully paced writing that had me speeding through every chapter at a rate of knots. Easily one of my favourite reads this year so far.' Goodreads

Orion

Two Kinds of Truth

Michael Connelly
Authors:
Michael Connelly
W&N

Under the Harrow

Flynn Berry
Authors:
Flynn Berry
Orion

The Wrong Side of Goodbye

Michael Connelly
Authors:
Michael Connelly
Gollancz

Pinion

Elizabeth Bear
Authors:
Elizabeth Bear

On a broken ship orbiting a doomed sun, dwellers have grown complacent with their aging metal world. But when a serving girl frees a captive noblewoman, the old order is about to change...Ariane, Prince of the House of Rule, was known to be fiercely cold-blooded. But severing an angel's wings on the battlefield - even after she had surrendered - proved her completely without honor. Captive, the angel Perceval waits for Ariane not only to finish her off - but to devour her very memories and mind. Surely her gruesome death will cause war between the houses - exactly as Ariane desires. But Ariane's plan may yet be opposed, for Perceval at once recognizes the young servant charged with her care.Rien is the lost child: her sister. Soon they will escape, hoping to stop the impending war and save both their houses. But it is a perilous journey through the crumbling hulk of a dying ship, and they do not pass unnoticed. Because at the hub of their turning world waits Jacob Dust, all that remains of God, following the vapor wisp of the angel. And he knows they will meet very soon.Originally published in 2007 as Dust.

Gollancz

Sanction

Elizabeth Bear
Authors:
Elizabeth Bear
Orion

Chasing The Dime

Michael Connelly
Authors:
Michael Connelly
Orion

A Darkness More Than Night

Michael Connelly
Authors:
Michael Connelly

Harry Bosch meets an ex-FBI profiler in one of the most disturbing cases he has faced...From the bestselling author of THE LINCOLN LAWYER. BOSCH TV STARTS FEBRUARY 2015.Terry McCaleb's enforced quiet lifestyle on the island of Catalina is a far cry from the hectic excitement of his former role as an FBI profiler. However, when small-time criminal Edward Gunn is found dead, McCaleb becomes embroiled in a disturbing and complex case leading him to cross the path of Harry Bosch. This infamous detective has always teetered on the brink of darkness in order to get inside the head of the killer. Is it possible that he has stepped across that finely drawn line and embraced darkness?

Orion

Trunk Music

Michael Connelly
Authors:
Michael Connelly
Orion

The Black Echo

Michael Connelly
Authors:
Michael Connelly

LAPD detective Harry Bosch is a loner and a nighthawk. One Sunday he gets a call-out on his pager. A body has been found in a drainage tunnel off Mulholland Drive, Hollywood. At first sight, it looks like a routine drugs overdose case, but the one new puncture wound amid the scars of old tracks leaves Bosch unconvinced.To make matters worse, Harry Bosch recognises the victim. Billy Meadows was a fellow 'tunnel rat' in Vietnam, running against the VC and the fear they all used to call the Black Echo. Bosch believes he let down Billy Meadows once before, so now he is determined to bring the killer to justice.

Orion

Void Moon

Michael Connelly
Authors:
Michael Connelly