Richard Morgan - The Dark Defiles - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £9.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9780575088603
    • Publication date:10 Sep 2015
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780575086715
    • Publication date:20 Nov 2014

The Dark Defiles

By Richard Morgan
Read by Simon Vance

  • Downloadable audio file
  • £P.O.R.

The blistering new fantasy from the winner of the ARTHUR C. CLARKE, PHILIP K. DICK and JOHN W. CAMPBELL BEST NOVEL AWARD-winning Richard Morgan. Unabridged edition.

Compared to Michael Moorcock and Joe Abercrombie alike, Richard Morgan's fast moving and brutal science fantasy reaches its final volume as Ringil comes to his final reckoning and sees the world tipping into another war with the dragon folk. And, most terrifying of all, the prophecy of a dark lord come to rule may be coming true very close to home...

THE DARK DEFILES is a supremely fast moving 240,000 word epic. A massive yet tight story that both shines a light on some mysteries from earlier volumes and reveals deeper mysteries yet. We encounter the artifacts of an ancient race, learn the true story of the ghostly Dwenda and follow three old friends as they face their greatest test yet.

Read by Simon Vance

(p) 2015 Tantor, Inc

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781409155614
  • Publication date: 20 Nov 2014
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Orion
The Dark Defiles is best of the series. Morgan built a fascinating world, dirt and all, and populated it will heroes that were also real people. Morgan dissects the idea of hero and looks at it from every angle. Our three protagonists aren't anti-heroes they are just flawed. While they deal with their flaws they realize that in the end heroes don't get to live happily ever after. — Buzzy Mag
Orion

A Pocketful of Crows

Joanne M Harris
Authors:
Joanne M Harris

I am as brown as brown can be,And my eyes as black as sloe;I am as brisk as brisk can be,And wild as forest doe. (The Child Ballads, 295)So begins a beautiful tale of love, loss and revenge. Following the seasons, A Pocketful of Crows balances youth and age, wisdom and passion and draws on nature and folklore to weave a stunning modern mythology around a nameless wild girl.Only love could draw her into the world of named, tamed things. And it seems only revenge will be powerful enough to let her escape.This is a stunning and original modern fairytale.Read by Joanne M Harris(p) 2017 Orion Publishing Group

Gollancz

The Fall of Dragons

Miles Cameron
Authors:
Miles Cameron
Gollancz

The Stealers' War

Stephen Hunt
Authors:
Stephen Hunt

Weyland has been at war. Invaded by a technologically advanced enemy, the cities sacked, and what fragile peace remained torn apart by a civil war.All anyone should want is a return to peace.But Jacob Carneham still wants his revenge; and if he can lure the invaders into the mountain he can have it. He can kill them all. If he does, there may never be peace again.If he doesn't, Weyland will never be free of the threat of invasion.The northern horse lords are planning an attack. A future Empress is fighting to save her daughter. Jacob's son is trying to restore peace and stability to Weyland, alongside the rightful King. And behind it all is a greater struggle, which may spell the end for them all . . .

Gollancz

Sea of Rust

C. Robert Cargill
Authors:
C. Robert Cargill
Gollancz

A Plague of Swords

Miles Cameron
Authors:
Miles Cameron

ONE ENEMY HAS FALLEN. A GREATER ONE REMAINS. NOW IT'S WAR . . .The Red Knight withstood the full might of his enemy, and won the day. In a victory which will be remembered through the ages, he brought disparate factions together and turned them into allies against a more powerful foe than they had ever seen.Now, he will need his allies more than ever.Because behind one adversary hid another - one with allies of their own - whose goal was never to destroy Alba, but to distract the Kingdom while achieving his true aim. And whatever it is, it's probably not in the Red Knight's interest.With one army defeated, now the Red Knight must fight again . . . and for every one of his allies there is a corresponding enemy. Spread out in different lands, and on sea, it will all come down to one last gamble. And to whether or not the Red Knight has guessed their foe's true intentions.With each throw of the dice, everything could be lost . . .'A stirring, gritty and at times quite brutal epic fantasy' Tor.com

Gollancz

Blackwing

Ed McDonald
Authors:
Ed McDonald

The republic faces annihilation, despite the vigilance of Galharrow's Blackwings. When a raven tattoo rips itself from his arm to deliver a desperate message, Galharrow and a mysterious noblewoman must investigate a long dead sorcerer's legacy. But there is a conspiracy within the citadel: traitors, flesh-eaters and the ghosts of the wastelands seek to destroy them, but if they cannot solve the ancient wizard's paradox, the Deep Kings will walk the earth again, and all will be lost.The war with the Eastern Empire ended in stalemate some eighty years ago, thanks to Nall's 'Engine', a wizard-crafted weapon so powerful even the Deep Kings feared it. The strike of the Engine created the Misery - a wasteland full of ghosts and corrupted magic that now forms a No Mans Land along the frontier. But when Galharrow investigates a frontier fortress, he discovers complacency bordering on treason: then the walls are stormed, and the Engine fails to launch. Galharrow only escapes because of the preternatural magical power of the noblewoman he was supposed to be protecting. Together, they race to the capital to unmask the traitors and restore the republic's defences. Far across the Misery a vast army is on the move, as the Empire prepares to call the republic's bluff.Blackwing is a gritty epic fantasy for fans of Mark Lawrence, Scott Lynch and Daniel Polansky.Read by Colin Mace(p) 2017 Orion Publishing Group

Gollancz

Infernal Machines

John Hornor Jacobs
Authors:
John Hornor Jacobs
Gollancz

The Final Empire

Brandon Sanderson
Authors:
Brandon Sanderson

Brandon Sanderson's epic fantasy trilogy overturns the expectations of readers and then goes on to tell the epic story of evil overturned in a richly imagined world.A thousand years ago evil came to the land and has ruled with an iron hand ever since. The sun shines fitfully under clouds of ash that float down endlessly from the constant eruption of volcanoes. A dark lord rules through the aristocratic families and ordinary folk are condemned to lives in servitude, sold as goods, labouring in the ash fields.But now a troublemaker has arrived and there is rumour of revolt. A revolt that depends on criminal that no-one can trust and a young girl who must master Allomancy - the magic that lies in all metals.A word of mouth success in the states the Mistborn trilogy has, this year, broken onto the New York Times Bestseller list. The time is ripe for its success to cross the Atlantic

Gollancz

The Dread Wyrm

Miles Cameron
Authors:
Miles Cameron

SOME ARE BORN TO POWERSOME SEIZE ITAND SOME HAVE THE WISDOM NEVER TO WIELD ITThe Red Knight has stood against soldiers, against armies and against the might of an empire without flinching. He's fought on real and on magical battlefields alike, and now he's facing one of the greatest challenges yet. A tournament.A joyous spring event, the flower of the nobility will present arms and ride against each other for royal favour and acclaim. It's a political contest - and one which the Red Knight has the skill to win. But the stakes may be higher than he thinks. The court of Alba has been infiltrated by a dangerous faction of warlike knights, led by the greatest knight in the world: Jean de Vrailly - and the prize he's fighting for isn't royal favour, but the throne of Alba itself.Where there is competition there is opportunity; the question is, will the Red Knight take it? Or will the creatures of the Wild seize their chance instead . . .

Gollancz

The Watcher of Dead Time

Edward Cox
Authors:
Edward Cox
Gollancz

Sword of Destiny

Andrzej Sapkowski
Authors:
Andrzej Sapkowski
Gollancz

Foreign Devils

John Hornor Jacobs
Authors:
John Hornor Jacobs
Gollancz

The Gospel of Loki

Joanne M Harris
Authors:
Joanne M Harris
Gollancz

Words of Radiance Part One

Brandon Sanderson
Authors:
Brandon Sanderson
Gollancz

Words of Radiance Part Two

Brandon Sanderson
Authors:
Brandon Sanderson
Gollancz

Windhaven

George R.R. Martin, Lisa Tuttle
Authors:
George R.R. Martin, Lisa Tuttle

Among the scattered islands that make up the water world of Windhaven, no one holds more prestige than the silver-winged flyers, romantic figures who cross treacherous oceans, braving shifting winds and sudden storms, to bring news, gossip, songs and stories to a waiting populace.Maris of Amberly, a fisherman's daughter, wants nothing more than to soar on the currents high above Windhaven. So she challenges tradition, demanding that flyers be chosen by merit rather than inheritance.But even after winning that bitter battle, Maris finds that her troubles are only beginning. Now a revolution threatens to destroy the world she fought so hard to join - and force her to make the ultimate sacrifice...This early collaborative novel from George R. R. Martin and Lisa Tuttle is a masterclass of fantasy and storytelling.

Gollancz

The Last Dark

Stephen Donaldson
Authors:
Stephen Donaldson
Gollancz

The Fell Sword

Miles Cameron
Authors:
Miles Cameron
Gollancz

The Falconer

Elizabeth May
Authors:
Elizabeth May
Gollancz

The Lies of Locke Lamora

Scott Lynch
Authors:
Scott Lynch

They say that the Thorn of Camorr can beat anyone in a fight. They say he steals from the rich and gives to the poor. They say he's part man, part myth, and mostly street-corner rumor. And they are wrong on every count. Only averagely tall, slender, and god-awful with a sword, Locke Lamora is the fabled Thorn, and the greatest weapons at his disposal are his wit and cunning. He steals from the rich - they're the only ones worth stealing from - but the poor can go steal for themselves. What Locke cons, wheedles and tricks into his possession is strictly for him and his band of fellow con-artists and thieves: the Gentleman Bastards. Together their domain is the city of Camorr. Built of Elderglass by a race no-one remembers, it's a city of shifting revels, filthy canals, baroque palaces and crowded cemeteries. Home to Dons, merchants, soldiers, beggars, cripples, and feral children. And to Capa Barsavi, the criminal mastermind who runs the city.But there are whispers of a challenge to the Capa's power. A challenge from a man no one has ever seen, a man no blade can touch. The Grey King is coming.A man would be well advised not to be caught between Capa Barsavi and The Grey King. Even such a master of the sword as the Thorn of Camorr. As for Locke Lamora ...