Jack Schaefer - Shane - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781409165675
    • Publication date:14 Jul 2016

Shane

By Jack Schaefer

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

Seen through the eyes of a young boy, SHANE is the classic novel of the lone stranger who rides into town; a gunslinger, a troubled man, a hero.

He rode into our valley in the summer of 1889, a slim man, dressed in black. 'Call me Shane,' he said. He never told us more. There was a deadly calm in the valley that summer, a slow, climbing tension that seemed to focus on Shane.

Seen through the eyes of a young boy, Bob Starrett, SHANE is the classic story of a lone stranger. At first sight, the boy realises there is something unusual about the approaching man, but as Bob gets to know Shane, he realises that there is an inner sadness in him.

SHANE is the story of a gunfighter who tries to hang up his gun but is drawn to the side of the boy's family and other homesteaders in their struggle to keep from being forced off their land.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781409165668
  • Publication date: 14 Jul 2016
  • Page count: 160
  • Imprint: Orion
Orion

The Chain

Adrian McKinty, Adrian McKinty
Authors:
Adrian McKinty, Adrian McKinty
Trapeze

Five Steps to Happy

Ella Dove
Authors:
Ella Dove
W&N

The Most Fun We Ever Had

Claire Lombardo
Authors:
Claire Lombardo

A dazzling multi-generational novel, The Most Fun We Ever Had introduces us to the Sorenson family. When Marilyn and David fall in love in the 1970s, they are blithely ignorant of all that's to come. By 2016, their four radically different daughters are matching wits, harbouring grudges and recklessly igniting old rivalries. When a teenage boy, given up for adoption fifteen years before, reappears, long-buried secrets threaten to shatter the lives they've built and reveal the rich and varied tapestry of the Sorenson's past.

Gollancz

Wolf Rain

Nalini Singh
Authors:
Nalini Singh

Orion

Fame Adjacent

Sarah Skilton
Authors:
Sarah Skilton

What if your best days, happened when you were eleven?It's not easy being the only cast member of a 1990s song-and-dance show who didn't become famous. Holly Danner has made her peace with her crowning moment happening when she was eleven and watching her childhood friends become world-famous. But when she finds out there's a 25th anniversary for the show and she wasn't invited, it's time to set the record straight. The only problem is she's in Internet Rehab and the only person who can get her there in time is Thom Parker, a handsome and infuriating patient who doesn't think she should confront her famous ex-friends. But it's finally Holly's time in the spotlight and nothing is going to stop her... FAME ADJACENT is a hilarious and feel-good story of love, friendship, and fame, as seen through the eyes of a girl who lived it - from the sidelines. Perfect for fans of Paige Toon and Giovanna Fletcher.

Orion

Three Bullets

R.J. Ellory
Authors:
R.J. Ellory

IT WAS THE SHOT HEARD AROUND THE WORLDOn 22nd November 1963, John F. Kennedy's presidential motorcade rode through Dealey Plaza. He and his wife Jackie greeted the crowds on a glorious Friday afternoon in Dallas, Texas.BUT WHAT IF IT MISSED?Mitch Newman is a photojournalist based out of Washington, D.C. His phone never rings. When it does, a voice he hasn't heard in years will tell him his former fiancée Jean has taken her own life.WHEN THE TRUTH IS BIGGER THAN ALL THE LIESJean was an investigative reporter working the case of a lifetime. Somewhere in the shreds of her investigation is the truth behind her murder.WHO WOULD BELIEVE IT?For Mitch, piecing together the clues will become a dangerous obsession: one that will lead him to the dark heart of his country - and into the crossfire of a conspiracy...

Orion

You Can Take Her Home Now

Anna Jefferson
Authors:
Anna Jefferson
W&N

Bird Summons

Leila Aboulela
Authors:
Leila Aboulela

'BIRD SUMMONS is a magic carpet ride into the forest of history and the lives of women. Deep and wild' Lucy Ellmann, author of SWEET DESSERTS and MIMISalma, happily married, tries every day to fit into life in Britain. When her first love contacts her, she is tempted to risk it all and return to Egypt.Moni gave up a career in banking to care for her disabled son, but now her husband wants to move to Saudi Arabia - where she fears her son's condition will worsen. Iman feels burdened by her beauty. In her twenties and already in her third marriage, she is treated like a pet and longs for freedom. On a road trip to the Scottish Highlands, the women are visited by the Hoopoe, a sacred bird whose fables from Muslim and Celtic literature compel them to question the balance between faith and femininity, love, loyalty and sacrifice. Brilliantly imagined, intense and haunting, Bird Summons confirms Leila Aboulela's reputation as one of our finest contemporary writers.

Gollancz

Replay

Ken Grimwood
Authors:
Ken Grimwood

Jeff Winston's life is not how he imagined it would be. An unhappy marriage and unrewarding job - and then he died. Aged forty-three. And woke up again, back in his college room, in 1963, aged eighteen. With all his memories intact. If he applies those memories, he can be rich - he can have anything he wants - in this new chance at life. Until he dies at forty-three and wakes up in his eighteen-year-old body again . . . and again in a continuous twenty-five year cycle each time starting from scratch at the age of eighteen to reclaim lost loves, make a fortune or remedy past mistakes. And then, in one replayed life, he meets a woman who knows all too well what he is experiencing.REPLAY is a novel of gripping adventure, romance, and fascinating speculation on the nature of time, Replay asks the question: 'What if you could live your life over again?'(p) 2019 Orion Publishing Group

Orion

Louis & Louise

Julie Cohen
Authors:
Julie Cohen

'Elegant, thoughtful and powerful' Daisy Buchanan'Hugely original and heartbreakingly real' Rosie Walsh*****ONE LIFE. LIVED TWICE. Louis and Louise are the same person born in two different lives. They are separated only by the sex announced by the doctor and a final 'e'.They have the same best friends, the same red hair, the same dream of being a writer, the same excellent whistle. They both suffer one catastrophic night, with life-changing consequences. Thirteen years later, they are both coming home.A tender, insightful and timely novel about the things that bring us together - and those which separate us.*****PRAISE FOR JULIE COHEN'S 'TOGETHER' - A RICHARD AND JUDY RECOMMENDED BOOK: 'Julie Cohen's writing is powerful, moving and truly beautiful' Joanna Cannon, author of The Trouble with Goats and Sheep'It takes a lot to tempt me from crime, but this is one of the most beautiful and heartbreaking stories I've read' Emma Flint, author of Little Deaths'This big, clever, tender and twisty love story reminded me of One Day & The Time Traveler's Wife' Erin Kelly, author of He Said, She Said*****A perfect bookclub read for anyone who has enjoyed Celeste Ng, Kate Atkinson and Anne Tyler.

W&N

Restless Souls

Dan Sheehan
Authors:
Dan Sheehan

'Restless Souls turns genre inside out . . . it never stops being a page-turner' Colum McCann After three years embedded in the Siege in Sarajevo, war correspondent Tom returns to Dublin a haunted shell of his former self. Laughably unqualified, but determined to see him through the darkness, his childhood friends Karl and Baz embark on a journey for an unlikely cure, to an experimental Californian clinic called Restless Souls. But as they try to save Tom from his memories, they are forced to confront their own - of what happened to the lost member of their group, Gabriel. 'Ambitious, rambunctious and extremely accomplished' Sunday Times 'A bawdy, alive, profane panegyric to the indissoluble bonds of friendship' Colin Barrett 'The funniest sad book I've read in a long time' J. Robert Lennon 'A tender, banter-filled debut' Daily Mail 'Sheehan is a brave new voice in fiction, fusing comedy and heart to explore a friendship transformed by trauma' Alexandra Kleeman

Gollancz

Mistborn: Secret History

Brandon Sanderson
Authors:
Brandon Sanderson
Orion

The New Iberia Blues

James Lee Burke
Authors:
James Lee Burke
Orion

Our Life in a Day

Jamie Fewery
Authors:
Jamie Fewery
Orion

Dark Sacred Night

Michael Connelly
Authors:
Michael Connelly
Orion

In a House of Lies

Ian Rankin
Authors:
Ian Rankin

*****THE INSTANT NUMBER ONE BESTSELLER*****The iconic Ian Rankin returns with the essential must-read thriller of the year."Loved In A House Of Lies. How does Rebus keep on getting better and better? Ian Rankin is a genius."LEE CHILD"One of British crime writing's greatest characters: alongside Holmes, Poirot and Morse ... Beautifully told, superbly constructed and utterly engrossing."DAILY MAIL"Absolutely wonderful. Clever, gripping, a fabulous read."KATE MOSSE"Rankin's Latest and Greatest. It is stunning. I didn't sleep for three nights reading it."JILLY COOPER* * * * *IN A HOUSE OF LIES...Everyone has something to hideA missing private investigator is found, locked in a car hidden deep in the woods. Worse still - both for his family and the police - is that his body was in an area that had already been searched.Everyone has secretsDetective Inspector Siobhan Clarke is part of a new inquiry, combing through the mistakes of the original case. There were always suspicions over how the investigation was handled and now - after a decade without answers - it's time for the truth.Nobody is innocentEvery officer involved must be questioned, and it seems everyone on the case has something to hide, and everything to lose. But there is one man who knows where the trail may lead - and that it could be the end of him: John Rebus.* * * * * "Grips from the first sentence. No one in Britain writes better crime novels today."EVENING STANDARD"There's no one like Ian Rankin for bringing us right into the world of detectives. In A House of Lies is a must-read."TANA FRENCH"Thrillingly told, with the best cast in contemporary crime, Rankin is one of the most significant social commentators of our time. Just read the book. It says it better than I can."DENISE MINA"Rankin remains the most consistent practitioner of finely crafted, richly detailed, literary crime novels being produced today. He's always been at the top of his game, and this latest is no exception."LINWOOD BARCLAY"A first-rate crime novel: tense, twisty and often very funny. A real joy - Rebus still makes sparks fly."ELLY GRIFFITHS"Definitely not to be missed. Rankin's at the top of his form here, and no reader will go away disappointed."PETER ROBINSON

W&N

The Lightkeeper's Daughters

Jean Pendziwol
Authors:
Jean Pendziwol

SHORTLISTED FOR THE HWA DEBUT CROWN 2018*** A RADIO 2 BOOK CLUB PICK ***Elizabeth grew up in a lighthouse, inseparable from her enigmatic twin sister Emily. Their father, the lightkeeper, kept a journal of his observations and their daily life. When those journals are discovered on a shipwrecked boat, many decades later, Elizabeth is living in a retirement home and her eyesight is failing. She enlists the help of a troubled teenager, Morgan, to read to her, and an unlikely friendship grows between the two. But as Morgan reads on, Elizabeth discovers that the past revealed is not as she remembers it, and that the journal may contain answers to unexplained events that have haunted her all her life . . .'A perfect hammock read for those who love the Brontë sisters and Jodi Picoult in equal measure' PUBLISHERS WEEKLY

Orion

A Noise Downstairs

Linwood Barclay
Authors:
Linwood Barclay
Orion

The Wrong Child

Barry Gornell
Authors:
Barry Gornell
Orion

The Passage

Justin Cronin
Authors:
Justin Cronin