Harriet Cummings - We All Begin As Strangers - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Hardback £14.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781409169048
    • Publication date:20 Apr 2017
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781409169079
    • Publication date:20 Apr 2017

We All Begin As Strangers

By Harriet Cummings
Read by Rachel Atkins

  • Downloadable audio file
  • £P.O.R.

Inspired by true events - a vibrant debut about an English village pushed to the brink, and the secrets its residents are desperate to protect. For fans of THE TROUBLE WITH GOATS AND SHEEP and ELIZABETH IS MISSING

Perfect for fans of THE TROUBLE WITH GOATS AND SHEEP and ELIZABETH IS MISSING.

Heathcote, England - 1984

A mysterious figure is sneaking into homes through backdoors and open windows. Known locally as 'the Fox', he knows everything about everyone - leaving curious objects in their homes, or taking things from them.

When beloved Anna disappears, everyone believes the Fox is responsible.

For the villagers, finding Anna will be difficult - but stopping the Fox from exposing their darkest secrets might just be impossible...

(p) 2017 Orion Publishing Group Ltd

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781409169178
  • Publication date: 20 Apr 2017
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Orion

Praise for WE ALL BEGIN AS STRANGERS by Harriet Cummings, a beautiful debut novel you'll want to recommend to everyone - for fans of Joanna Cannon, Rachel Joyce and Jessie Burton:

Wonderful... Full of surprising twists, right up until the final revelations

— Caroline Lea, author of WHEN THE SKY FELL APART
A dazzling debut... Beautifully plotted, fantastically written and compellingly strange — DAILY MAIL
A great summer read... Suspense, plot twists and drama make this an exciting read to the very end — THE POOL
Explores ideas of loneliness and longing — The i Newspaper
I so enjoyed WE ALL BEGIN AS STRANGERS. No 'characters' in sight - just meticulous, tender, complex portraits of people — Emylia Hall, author of THE BOOK OF SUMMERS
I was reminded of William Golding's 'The Lord of The Flies'... A book about community and how trusts can be so easily broken — WRITING.IE
Cummings' talent as a writer is unarguably remarkable, and her future in the literary arts looks bright — THE PLATFORM
Skilfully and satisfying done... It's a good story well told. — TRING LIVING
Orion

The Last of Us

Harriet Cummings
Authors:
Harriet Cummings

Can you love a man you barely remember?Eighty-two-year-old Nettie still hears the occasional gossiping, but most have forgotten what she did.Now, living alone in a run-down farmhouse, she surrounds herself with memories of her late husband and estranged daughter Catherine.When Catherine's friend James appears out of the blue, Nettie is grateful for the company and keen to learn more about her daughter.But soon James starts asking Nettie questions she doesn't want to answer; about some things she can't remember and others she's tried to forget.And if Nettie can't remember clearly, how can she be certain what they say about her is true?If you liked What She Lost by Susan Elliot Wright, The Stars are Fire by Anita Shreve, or The Hand The First Held Mine by Maggie O'Farrell, you'll love The Last of Us.Read by Maggie Mash(p) Orion Publishing Group 2018

A K Benedict

A K Benedict read English at Cambridge and studied creative writing at Sussex. She composed film and television soundtracks, as well as performing as a musician before becoming a full-time writer in 2012. She now writes novels, drama, poetry and short stories, and lives in St Leonards-on-Sea with her dog, Dame Margaret Rutherford. Find out more at www.akbenedict.com or follow her on Twitter @ak_benedict

Alice Walker

Alice Walker won the Pulitzer prize and the American Book Award for THE COLOR PURPLE. She is the author of many bestselling novels, essays and collections of poetry including MERIDIAN, BY THE LIGHT OF MY FATHER'S SMILE and THE THIRD LIFE OF GRANGE COPELAND.Visit Alice Walker's official website at: alicewalkersgarden.com

Ami McKay

Ami McKay's debut novel, The Birth House, was a No.1 bestseller in Canada, winner of three CBA Libris Awards, nominated for the International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award, and a book club favourite around the world. While writing her new novel, The Witches of New York, she discovered several women in her family tree who were accused and tried for witchcraft. Born and raised in Indiana, Ami now lives in Nova Scotia.To find out more, visit www.amimckay.com@sideshowami

Amy MacKinnon

Amy MacKinnon, a former congressional aide, is a freelance writer whose commentaries have appeared in theSeattle Times, Boston Globe, Boston Herald, Patriot Ledger and on National Public Radio and This American Life. She lives in Marshfield, Massachusetts with her husband and their three young children.

Andrew Greig

Andrew Greig is the author of six books of poetry, two mountaineering books; two non-fiction books and six novels. He has been shortlisted for the Walter Scott Prize, and won the Saltire and the Scottish Book of the Year awards. He lives in Orkney and Edinburgh with his wife, the novelist Lesley Glaister.

Andrew Pyper

Andrew Pyper was born in Stratford, Ontario. He received a BA and an MA in English Literature from McGill University in Montreal, as well as a law degree from the University of Toronto. Although called to the bar in 1996, he has never practised law. Andrew is the author of a string of bestselling novels, including LOST GIRLS, which won the Arthur Ellis Award, and THE DEMONOLOGIST, which won the 2014 International Thriller Writers Award for Best Hardcover Novel. Find out more at www.andrewpyper.com or follow him on Twitter @andrewpyper

Anna Freeman

Anna Freeman is a lecturer in Creative Writing at Bath Spa University as well as a multiple slam-winning performance poet who has appeared at festivals across Britain including Latitude and Glastonbury. She lives in Bristol. Her first novel, THE FAIR FIGHT, was shortlisted for the Authors' Club Best First Novel award.

Antonia Fraser

Antonia Fraser is the author of many widely acclaimed historical works which have been international bestsellers. She was awarded the Medlicott Medal by the Historical Association in 2000 and was made a DBE in 2011 for services to literature.Her previous books include MARY QUEEN OF SCOTS, KING CHARLES II, THE WEAKER VESSEL: WOMAN'S LOT IN SEVENTEENTH-CENTURY ENGLAND which won the Wolfson History Prize, MARIE ANTOINETTE: THE JOURNEY, PERILOUS QUESTION; THE DRAMA OF THE GREAT REFORM BILL 1832 and THE KING AND THE CATHOLICS: THE FIGHT FOR RIGHTS 1829. MUST YOU GO?,a memoir of her life with Harold Pinter, was published in 2010, and MY HISTORY; A MEMOIR OF GROWING UP in 2015. She lives in London.Visit Antonia Fraser's website at www.antoniafraser.com

Becky Masterman

Becky Masterman created her heroine, Brigid Quinn, while working as an editor for a forensic science and law enforcement press. Her debut thriller, Rage Against the Dying, was a finalist for the Edgar Awards and the CWA Gold Dagger, as well as being chosen by the Richard and Judy Book Club. Her books have been translated into twenty different languages. Becky lives in Tucson, Arizona, with her husband.

Boris Akunin

BORIS AKUNIN is the pseudonym of Grigory Chkhartishvili. He has been compared to Gogol, Tolstoy and Arthur Conan Doyle, and his Erast Fandorin books have sold over forty million copies around the world. He lives in London.

Britta Rostlund

Britta Röstlund has lived in Paris for over fifteen years. She is a freelance journalist covering everything from the Paris Fashion Week to French politics.

Brooke Magnanti

Brooke Magnanti received a Ph.D. in Forensic Pathology from the University of Sheffield, where she studied in the Medico Legal Centre and specialised in the identification of decomposed human remains. She later worked for the NHS in child health research and cancer epidemiology, before being revealed in 2009 as the anonymous author of the award-winning blog Belle de Jour and bestselling Secret Diary of a Call Girl series of books. She lives on the West Coast of Scotland with her husband and hardly ever sees dead people any more.

Bryan Appleyard

Born in 1951, Bryan Appleyard attended King's College, Cambridge. He was Financial News Editor and Deputy Arts Editor at THE TIMES from 1976 to 1984. He writes for numerous publications including VANITY FAIR, THE NEW YORK TIMES, THE SPECTATOR and THE SUNDAY TIMES, where he is a special feature writer, commentator, reviewer and columnist.

Carlos Ruiz Zafon

Carlos Ruiz Zafón is the author of eight novels, including the international phenomenon THE SHADOW OF THE WIND, and THE ANGEL'S GAME. His work has been published in more than forty-five different languages, has sold over thirty million copies, and has been honoured with numerous international awards. He lives in Los Angeles, California.

Caroline Hulse

Caroline spends most of her days writing, having fulfilled her dream of having a job she could do in pyjamas. She also works in Human Resources sometimes. She is openly competitive and loves playing board and card games. She can often be found in casino poker rooms, and wishes other people would want to play Cluedo for money. She lives with her husband in Manchester where the two are captive to the whims of a small, controlling dog.

Catriona McCloud

Catriona McCloud was born in South Queensferry, Scotland, and educated at Edinburgh University. She lives on a farm in a beautiful valley in Galloway.

Charlaine Harris

CHARLAINE HARRIS is a New York Times bestselling author who has been writing for over thirty-five years. Born and raised in the Mississippi Delta, she is the author of the Aurora Teagarden mysteries, basis for the Hallmark Movies & Mysteries Aurora Teagarden original movies; the Midnight, Texas series, now a brand-new TV series; the Sookie Stackhouse urban fantasy series, basis for the HBO show True Blood; the Lily Bard mysteries; the Harper Connelly mysteries; and the co-author of the graphic novel trilogy Cemetery Girl. Harris now lives in Texas with her husband and two rescue dogs.

Christopher Priest

Christopher Priest's novels have built him an inimitable dual reputation as a contemporary literary novelist and a leading figure in modern SF and fantasy. His novel THE PRESTIGE is unique in winning both a major literary prize (THE JAMES TAIT BLACK AWARD and a major genre prize THE WORLD FANTASY AWARD); THE SEPARATION won both the ARTHUR C. CLARKE and the BRITISH SCIENCE FICTION AWARDS. THE ISLANDERS won both the BSFA and John W. Campbell awards. He was selected for the original BEST OF YOUNG BRITISH NOVELISTS in 1983.

P. M. Hubbard

Praised by critics for his clean prose style, characterization, and the strong sense of place in his novels, Philip Maitland Hubbard (1910-1980) was born in Reading, in Berkshire and brought up in Guernsey, in the Channel Islands. He was educated at Oxford, where he won the Newdigate Prize for English verse in 1933. From 1934 until its disbandment in 1947 he served with the Indian Civil service. On his return to England he worked for the British Council, eventually retiring to work as a freelance writer. He contributed to a number of publications, including Punch, and wrote 16 novels for adults as well as two children's books. He lived in Dorset and Scotland, and many of his novels draw on his interest in and knowledge of rural pursuits and folk religion.