Harriet Cummings - We All Begin As Strangers - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781409169079
    • Publication date:20 Apr 2017
  • Paperback £7.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781409169062
    • Publication date:25 Jan 2018

We All Begin As Strangers

By Harriet Cummings
Read by Rachel Atkins

  • Downloadable audio file
  • £P.O.R.

Inspired by true events - a vibrant debut about an English village pushed to the brink, and the secrets its residents are desperate to protect. For fans of THE TROUBLE WITH GOATS AND SHEEP and ELIZABETH IS MISSING

Perfect for fans of THE TROUBLE WITH GOATS AND SHEEP and ELIZABETH IS MISSING.

Heathcote, England - 1984

A mysterious figure is sneaking into homes through backdoors and open windows. Known locally as 'the Fox', he knows everything about everyone - leaving curious objects in their homes, or taking things from them.

When beloved Anna disappears, everyone believes the Fox is responsible.

For the villagers, finding Anna will be difficult - but stopping the Fox from exposing their darkest secrets might just be impossible...

(p) 2017 Orion Publishing Group Ltd

Biographical Notes

Harriet Cummings is a freelance writer with a background in history of art and gender studies. As a script writer, she has had work performed at Edinburgh Fringe Festival, as well as independent venues around London.

While studying at Faber Academy, Harriet threw herself into her first novel and hasn't looked back since.

She lives in Leamington Spa with her husband and springer spaniel.

Follow Harriet on Twitter @HarrietWriter or find out more at www.harrietcummingsauthor.com

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781409169178
  • Publication date: 20 Apr 2017
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Orion

Praise for WE ALL BEGIN AS STRANGERS by Harriet Cummings, a beautiful debut novel you'll want to recommend to everyone - for fans of Joanna Cannon, Rachel Joyce and Jessie Burton:

Wonderful... Full of surprising twists, right up until the final revelations

— Caroline Lea, author of WHEN THE SKY FELL APART
A dazzling debut... Beautifully plotted, fantastically written and compellingly strange — DAILY MAIL
A great summer read... Suspense, plot twists and drama make this an exciting read to the very end — THE POOL
Explores ideas of loneliness and longing — The i Newspaper
I so enjoyed WE ALL BEGIN AS STRANGERS. No 'characters' in sight - just meticulous, tender, complex portraits of people — Emylia Hall, author of THE BOOK OF SUMMERS
I was reminded of William Golding's 'The Lord of The Flies'... A book about community and how trusts can be so easily broken — WRITING.IE
Cummings' talent as a writer is unarguably remarkable, and her future in the literary arts looks bright — THE PLATFORM
Skilfully and satisfying done... It's a good story well told. — TRING LIVING
Trapeze

We Own The Sky

Luke Allnutt
Authors:
Luke Allnutt
Trapeze

The Whitstable High Tide Swimming Club

Katie May
Authors:
Katie May
Orion

Saturday Bloody Saturday

Alastair Campbell, Paul Fletcher
Authors:
Alastair Campbell, Paul Fletcher
Orion

Restless Souls

Dan Sheehan
Authors:
Dan Sheehan
Orion

A Year of Surprising Acts of Kindness

Laura Kemp
Authors:
Laura Kemp
Orion

An Unremarkable Body

Elisa Lodato
Authors:
Elisa Lodato
Orion

The Devil's Claw

Lara Dearman
Authors:
Lara Dearman

Jennifer Dorey thinks she is safe. Following a traumatic incident in London, Jennifer has returned to her childhood home in Guernsey, taking a job as a reporter at the local newspaper. After the discovery of a drowned woman on a beach, she uncovers a pattern of similar deaths that have taken place over the past fifty years. Together with DCI Michael Gilbert, an officer on the verge of retirement, they follow a dark trail of island myths and folklore to 'Fritz', the illegitimate son of a Nazi soldier. His work, painstakingly executed, has so far gone undetected. But with his identity about to be uncovered, the killer now has Jennifer in his sights.And home is the last place she should be.An atmospheric crime series set in the Channel Islands, that will appeal to fans of Ann Cleeves, Peter May and Elly Griffiths. THE DEVIL'S CLAW introduces readers to returning characters journalist Jennifer Dorey and DCI Michael Gilbert. Read by Scarlett Mack(p) 2017 Orion Publishing Group

Orion

The Boy Made of Snow

Chloe Mayer
Authors:
Chloe Mayer
Orion

The Witches of New York

Ami McKay
Authors:
Ami McKay
Orion

Mirror, Mirror

Cara Delevingne
Authors:
Cara Delevingne
Orion

All The World's A Stage

Boris Akunin
Authors:
Boris Akunin
Orion

Now Let's Dance

Karine Lambert
Authors:
Karine Lambert
Trapeze

Little Sister

Isabel Ashdown
Authors:
Isabel Ashdown
Orion

The Companion

Sarah Dunnakey
Authors:
Sarah Dunnakey
Orion

Our Summer Together

Fanny Blake
Authors:
Fanny Blake
Orion

Hot Mess

Lucy Vine
Authors:
Lucy Vine

The eBook Number One bestseller The hottest book of the summer. A sassy, laugh out loud beach read everyone is talking about *****Hot Mess [n.] - someone attractive, who is often in disarray.Have you ever shown up to Sunday brunch still smelling of Saturday night?Chosen bed, Netflix and pizza over human contact?Stayed in your mould-ridden flat because it's cheap?Meet your spirit animal, Ellie Knight. Her life isn't turning out exactly as she planned. She hates her job, her friends are coupling up and settling down, and her flatmates are just plain weird.Some people might say she's a hot mess but who really has their sh*t together anyway? For fans of Fleabag and Girls, this is a fresh and funny coming-of-age story with a single-girl heroine that will speak to millennials everywhere.*****'The laugh-out-loud literary equivalent of Trainwreck-meets-Fleabag' Glamour'A breath of fresh air, deftly subverting some of chick lit's biggest clichés' Stylist'More lifestyle-affirming than Bridget Jones' Sarah Knight, author of The Life Changing Magic of Not Giving a F*ck'If you love dirty jokes, dating horror stories and hilarious dialogue, this book is for you' Emma Gannon, author and podcast host of Ctrl Alt Delete'I laughed and sighed with recognition as I turned every page' Daisy Buchanan, author of How To Be a Grown-Up

Orion

The Hiding Places

Katherine Webb
Authors:
Katherine Webb
Trapeze

Tattletale

Sarah J. Naughton
Authors:
Sarah J. Naughton

'Compulsive, twisty story about trauma and revenge' Sunday Mirror * * * * *THE GRIPPING BESTSELLER ABOUT SECRETS, LIES AND REVENGEOne day changes Jody's life forever. She has shut herself down, haunted by her memories and unable to trust anyone. But then she meets Abe, the perfect stranger next door and suddenly life seems full of possibility and hope.One day changes Mags's life forever. After years of estrangement from her family, Mags receives a shocking phone call. Her brother Abe is in hospital and no-one knows what happened to him. She meets his fiancé Jody, and gradually pieces together the ruins of the life she left behind. But the pieces don't quite seem to fit...'Gripping, electrifying, heartbreaking' Erin Kelly* * * * *'a fast paced, brilliant page-turner...I predict a hit' Liz Nugent'...deliciously clever - I still haven't stopped thinking about the magnificent, twisted construction of it' Emma Kavanagh, author of THE MISSING HOURS'It's one of the best debuts I've read. It deserves to be MASSIVE.' Julia Crouch'Lies, mystery and murder wrought by childhood trauma in this compulsive, twisty thriller.' Helen Smith, author of BEYOND BELIEF'A well-crafted tale of love, obsession and murder - beautifully written and brilliantly twisted.' Ava Marsh, author of EXPOSURE

W&N

The Mountain Between Us

Charles Martin
Authors:
Charles Martin
Orion

Rather Be the Devil

Ian Rankin
Authors:
Ian Rankin