Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

We All Begin As Strangers

We All Begin As Strangers

How well do you really know your neighbours?



In the English village of Heathcote the temperature – and the sense of unease – is rising.

It started with small things – a perfume bottle being moved, a photograph left behind in someone’s house. But now Anna is missing.

As the search for Anna gathers pace, suspicions grow and secrets are revealed. Surely one of the villagers can’t be responsible? But then can you ever really know what’s going on behind closed doors…

**********

Praise for WE ALL BEGIN AS STRANGERS – a quirky, darkly atmospheric mystery:

‘Suspense, plot twists and drama make this an exciting read to the very read’ THE POOL

‘A dazzling debut…beautifully plotted, fantastically written and compellingly strange’ DAILY MAIL

Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Modern & Contemporary Fiction (post C 1945)

On Sale: 20th April 2017

Price: £7.99

ISBN-13: 9781409169079

Reviews

A dazzling debut... Beautifully plotted, fantastically written and compellingly strange
DAILY MAIL
A great summer read... Suspense, plot twists and drama make this an exciting read to the very end
THE POOL
Cummings' talent as a writer is unarguably remarkable, and her future in the literary arts looks bright
THE PLATFORM
I was reminded of William Golding's 'The Lord of The Flies'... A book about community and how trusts can be so easily broken
WRITING.IE
Praise for WE ALL BEGIN AS STRANGERS by Harriet Cummings, a beautiful debut novel you'll want to recommend to everyone - for fans of Joanna Cannon, Rachel Joyce and Jessie Burton: Wonderful... Full of surprising twists, right up until the final revelations
Caroline Lea, author of WHEN THE SKY FELL APART
Explores ideas of loneliness and longing
The i Newspaper
I so enjoyed WE ALL BEGIN AS STRANGERS. No 'characters' in sight - just meticulous, tender, complex portraits of people
Emylia Hall, author of THE BOOK OF SUMMERS
Skilfully and satisfying done... It's a good story well told.
TRING LIVING