Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

We All Begin As Strangers

We All Begin As Strangers

Heathcote, England – 1984

A mysterious figure is sneaking into homes through backdoors and open windows. Known locally as ‘the Fox’, he knows everything about everyone – leaving curious objects in their homes, or taking things from them.

When beloved Anna disappears, everyone believes the Fox is responsible.

For the villagers, finding Anna will be difficult – but stopping the Fox from exposing their darkest secrets might just be impossible…

(p) 2017 Orion Publishing Group Ltd
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Modern & Contemporary Fiction (post C 1945)

On Sale: 20th April 2017

Price: £19.99

ISBN-13: 9781409169178

Reviews

Praise for WE ALL BEGIN AS STRANGERS by Harriet Cummings, a beautiful debut novel you'll want to recommend to everyone - for fans of Joanna Cannon, Rachel Joyce and Jessie Burton: Wonderful... Full of surprising twists, right up until the final revelations
Caroline Lea, author of WHEN THE SKY FELL APART
I so enjoyed WE ALL BEGIN AS STRANGERS. No 'characters' in sight - just meticulous, tender, complex portraits of people
Emylia Hall, author of THE BOOK OF SUMMERS
A dazzling debut... Beautifully plotted, fantastically written and compellingly strange
DAILY MAIL
I was reminded of William Golding's 'The Lord of The Flies'... A book about community and how trusts can be so easily broken
WRITING.IE
Explores ideas of loneliness and longing
The i Newspaper
Cummings' talent as a writer is unarguably remarkable, and her future in the literary arts looks bright
THE PLATFORM
Skilfully and satisfying done... It's a good story well told.
TRING LIVING
A great summer read... Suspense, plot twists and drama make this an exciting read to the very end
THE POOL