John D. MacDonald - Seven - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781471913372
    • Publication date:18 Sep 2014

Seven

By John D. MacDonald

  • Paperback
  • £18.99

'The great entertainer of our age and a mesmerizing storyteller' Stephen King

A choice collection of seven short stories by one of America's foremost storytellers and the author of the best-selling Travis McGee series.

Featuring 'Dear Old Friend', 'The Annex', Quarrel', 'Double Hannenframis', 'The Random Noise of Love', The Willow Pool and 'Woodchuck', this collection displays MacDonald at his classic best. Starring a cast of immoral broads, hedonistic thrill-seekers, naïve victims and profligate playboys, these seven short stories showcase the writing that propelled John D MacDonald to success.

Biographical Notes

John D. MacDonald was born in Pennsylvania and married Dorothy Prentiss in 1937, graduating from Syracuse University the following year and receiving an MBA from Harvard in 1939. It was Dorothy who was responsible for the publication of his first work, when she submitted a short story that he had sent home while on military service. It was initially rejected by Esquire but went on to be published by Story magazine - and so began MacDonald's writing career. One of the best-loved and most successful of all the masters of hard-boiled crime and suspense, John D. Macdonald was producing brilliant fiction long after many of his contemporaries had been forgotten, and is still highly regarded today. The Executioners, possibly the best known of his non-series novels, was filmed as Cape Fear in 1962 and 1991, but many of the crime thrillers he produced between 1953 and 1964 are considered masterpieces, and he drew praise from such literary greats as Kurt Vonnegut and Stephen King, who declared him to be 'the great entertainer of our age, and a mesmerizing storyteller'. His novels are often set in his adopted home of Florida, including those featuring his famous series character Travis McGee, which appeared between 1964 and 1985. He served as president of the Mystery Writers of America and in 1972 was elected a Grand Master, an honour granted only to the greatest crime writers of their generation, including Ross MacDonald, John Le Carré and P. D. James. He won many awards throughout his long career, and was the only mystery writer ever to win the National Book Award, for The Green Ripper.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781471913389
  • Publication date: 18 Sep 2014
  • Page count: 240
  • Imprint: The Murder Room
Trapeze

The Woman Inside

E. G. Scott
Authors:
E. G. Scott
W&N

RL's Dream

Walter Mosley
Authors:
Walter Mosley
Seven Dials

Love as Always, Mum xxx

Mae West
Authors:
Mae West

Gollancz

One Way

S.J. Morden
Authors:
S.J. Morden
Gollancz

Snapshot

Brandon Sanderson
Authors:
Brandon Sanderson
W&N

Time is a Killer

Michel Bussi
Authors:
Michel Bussi

'One of France's most ingenious crime writers' SUNDAY TIMES'Bussi breaks every rule in the book' JOAN SMITHIt is summer 1989 and fifteen-year-old Clotilde is on holiday with her parents in Corsica. On a twisty mountain road, their car comes off at a curve and plunges into a ravine. Only Clotilde survives.Twenty-seven years later, she returns to Corsica with her husband and their sulky teenage daughter. Clotilde wants the trip to do two things - to help exorcise her past, and to build a bridge between her and her daughter. But in the very place where she spent that summer all those years ago, she receives a letter. From her mother. As if she were still alive. As fragments of memory come back, Clotilde begins to question the past. And yet it all seems impossible - she saw the corpses of her mother, her father, her brother. She has lived with their ghosts. But then who sent this letter - and why?'Combines an extraordinarily inventive plot with characters haunted by long ago events' SUNDAY TIMES CRIME BOOK OF THE MONTH

Gollancz

The Death House

Sarah Pinborough
Authors:
Sarah Pinborough

From the Sunday Times bestselling author of 13 Minutes comes a heart-breaking, heart-stopping tale of love, life and death which will take your breath away.Toby is a boy who has forgotten how to live.Clara is a girl who was born to die.Toby's life was perfectly normal . . .Taken from his family, Toby now lives in the Death House. Isolated from the outside world the inhabitants of are watched for any signs of a mysterious illness . . .Clara was a girl who had everything. Adored by her friends and her family, her life was destined for greatness. Now, Clara is the newest resident of the Death House and she's determined not to allow her life to end there.This is Toby and Clara's story.Sarah Pinborough is the SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLING author of BEHIND HER EYES.You can learn more about Sarah Pinborough at www.sarahpinborough.com, or by following @SarahPinborough on twitter.

Orion

We All Begin As Strangers

Harriet Cummings
Authors:
Harriet Cummings

***SHORTLISTED FOR THE BAMB READERS AWARD 2017***Perfect for fans of Liane Moriarty's Truly Madly Guilty and Joanna Cannon's The Trouble with Goats and Sheep - a vibrant debut about an English village pushed to the brink, and the secrets its residents are desperate to protect.*************HOW WELL DO YOU REALLY KNOW YOUR NEIGHBOURS?In the English village of Heathcote the temperature - and the sense of unease - is rising. It started with small things - a perfume bottle being moved, a photograph left behind in someone's house. But now Anna is missing.As the search for Anna gathers pace, suspicions grow and secrets are revealed. Surely one of the villagers can't be responsible? But then can you ever really know what's going on behind closed doors...**********Praise for WE ALL BEGIN AS STRANGERS - a quirky, darkly atmospheric novel:'Suspense, plot twists and drama make this an exciting read to the very read' THE POOL'A dazzling debut...beautifully plotted, fantastically written and compellingly strange' DAILY MAIL

Orion

The Tournament

Matthew Reilly
Authors:
Matthew Reilly
Orion

The Four Legendary Kingdoms

Matthew Reilly
Authors:
Matthew Reilly
Orion

Jack West Jr and the Hero's Helmet

Matthew Reilly
Authors:
Matthew Reilly
The Murder Room

Border Town Girl

John D. MacDonald
Authors:
John D. MacDonald
The Murder Room

Cry Hard, Cry Fast

John D. MacDonald
Authors:
John D. MacDonald
The Murder Room

The End of the Night

John D. MacDonald
Authors:
John D. MacDonald

Three men and a beautiful girl on a cross-country terror spree - a coast to coast rampage of stealing, kidnapping, rape and killing.Who were they? Where did they come from? Why did they do it?With chilling detail, John D. MacDonald unwraps the grotesque inner world of these four young psychopaths, and brings into terrifying focus the random, violent lusts that lie hidden between mischief and madness ...

The Murder Room

A Key to the Suite

John D. MacDonald
Authors:
John D. MacDonald

Corporate hatchetman Hubbard is on his way to an industry convention to carry out a termination - a fancy way of saying he's about to toss a man and his family out in the street. But the convention is a modern Sodom of cheating husbands and ambitious wives, ready to put out as much as necessary to ensure their husbands' jobs - and a plan is afoot to smear Hubbard ...

The Murder Room

On the Run

John D. MacDonald
Authors:
John D. MacDonald
Orion

Bellman & Black

Diane Setterfield
Authors:
Diane Setterfield

A haunting Victorian ghost story of love, loss and the mystery of death from the bestselling author of THE THIRTEENTH TALE.As a boy, William Bellman commits one small cruel act that appears to have unforeseen and terrible consequences. The killing of a rook with his catapult is soon forgotten amidst the riot of boyhood games. And by the time he is grown, with a wife and children of his own, he seems indeed, to be a man blessed by fortune. Until tragedy strikes, and the stranger in black comes, and William Bellman starts to wonder if all his happiness is about to be eclipsed. Desperate to save the one precious thing he has left, he enters into a bargain. A rather strange bargain, with an even stranger partner, to found a decidedly macabre business. And Bellman & Black is born.

The Murder Room

The Good Old Stuff

John D. MacDonald
Authors:
John D. MacDonald

From the author of the world-famous Travis McGee thrillers, thirteen of John D. MacDonald's earliest and best crime and mystery stories brought together in one volume.Written at the beginning of his career and originally published in American magazines only, these stories give us a taste of MacDonald's early achievements and show the range of his skill in the realm of mystery and thriller writing.'Sharp, taut, realistic ... an impressive selection' Times

The Murder Room

More Good Old Stuff

John D. MacDonald
Authors:
John D. MacDonald
The Murder Room

Cape Fear

John D. MacDonald
Authors:
John D. MacDonald

'The great entertainer of our age, and a mesmerizing storyteller' - Stephen KingA dark, psychological thriller, first published in 1957 as The Executioners and filmed by Martin Scorsese, starring Robert De Niro.Max Cady, a brutal rapist, has been in prison for years, nursing his hatred for the man who put him away, attorney Sam Bowden.When Cady gets parole, he begins stalking Bowden's family.As Cady's campaign of terror mounts, the police are powerless to protect the family who must use their wits to survive a psychopath bent on revenge.