Paul McAuley - Into Everywhere - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473203990
    • Publication date:09 Feb 2017
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781409165941
    • Publication date:21 Apr 2016
Books in this series

Into Everywhere

By Paul McAuley

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

The Jackaroo gave humanity access to alien worlds and technologies, yet we still know nothing about them. As humanity spreads wider into the universe, will we discover what secrets they are hiding?

The Jackaroo, those enigmatic aliens who claim to have come to help, gave humanity access to worlds littered with ruins and scraps of technology left by long-dead client races. But although people have found new uses for alien technology, that technology may have found its own uses for people.

The dissolute scion of a powerful merchant family, and a woman living in seclusion with only her dog and her demons for company, have become infected by a copies of a powerful chunk of alien code.

Driven to discover what it wants from them, they become caught up in a conflict between a policeman allied to the Jackaroo and the laminated brain of a scientific wizard, and a mystery that spans light years and centuries. Humanity is about to discover why the Jackaroo came to help us, and how that help is shaping the end of human history.

Biographical Notes

Paul McAuley won the PHILIP K. DICK AWARD for his first novel and has gone on to win the ARTHUR C. CLARKE, SIDEWISE, BRITISH FANTASY and JOHN W. CAMPBELL AWARDs. He gave up his position as a research biologist to write full time. He lives in London.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781473204003
  • Publication date: 21 Apr 2016
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Gollancz
'A book infused with energy and confidence'. — SFX
the latest novel from Paul McAuley finds him at the top of his game — The Telegraph
As usual, McAuley imparts mind-bending SF concepts in prose that is always elegant and precise — Crime Time
Gollancz

Elysium Fire

Alastair Reynolds
Authors:
Alastair Reynolds

Featuring Inspector Dreyfus - one of Alastair Reynolds most popular characters - this is a fast paced SF crime story, combining a futuristic setting with a gripping tale of technology, revolution and revenge.One citizen died a fortnight ago. Two a week ago. Four died yesterday . . . and unless the cause can be found - and stopped - within the next four months, everyone will be dead. For the Prefects, the hunt for a silent, hidden killer is on . . .Alastair Reynolds has returned to the world of The Prefect for this stand-alone SF mystery in which no one is safe. The technological implants which connect every citizen to each other have become murder weapons, and no one knows who or what the killer is - or who the next targets will be. But their reach is spreading, and time is not on the Prefects' side.

Gollancz

Austral

Paul McAuley
Authors:
Paul McAuley

The great geoengineering projects have failed.The world is still warming, sea levels are still rising, and the Antarctic Peninsula is home to Earth's newest nation, with life quickened by ecopoets spreading across valleys and fjords exposed by the retreat of the ice.Austral Morales Ferrado, a child of the last generation of ecopoets, is a husky: an edited person adapted to the unforgiving climate of the far south, feared and despised by most of its population. She's been a convict, a corrections officer in a labour camp, and consort to a criminal, and now, out of desperation, she has committed the kidnapping of the century. But before she can collect the ransom and make a new life elsewhere, she must find a place of safety amongst the peninsula's forests and icy plateaus, and evade a criminal gang that has its own plans for the teenage girl she's taken hostage.Blending the story of Austral's flight with the fractured history of her family and its role in the colonisation of Antarctica, Austral is a vivid portrayal of a treacherous new world created by climate change, and shaped by the betrayals and mistakes of the past. 'Paul McAuley's balanced grasp of science and literature, always a rare attribute in the writer of prose fiction, is combined with the equally rare ability to look at today's problems and know which are really problems, and what can be done about them.' William Gibson

Gollancz

The Vastening Omnibus

Paul McAuley
Authors:
Paul McAuley

IN THE MOUTH OF THE WHALE: Humanity's future rests on the shoulders of a Child from the past, and she must never know of the battles being fought for her . . . In the system of Fomalhaut, a war is being fought. The Quicks came long ago, refugees from the Solar System. The True arrived later, to find a declining civilisation and a system ripe for the taking. Then the Ghosts appeared, no longer human, unknowable, powerful and determined to drive out the Quick and the True. The battle continues, but the outcome is uncertain.Three lives will intersect, because there is something at the centre of their universe, something dangerous and growing and powerful. Something that is worth fighting for. And it will change everybody's life.EVENING'S EMPIRES:In the far future, a young man stands on a barren asteroid. His ship has been stolen, his family kidnapped or worse, and all he has on his side is a semi-intelligent spacesuit. The only member of the crew to escape, Hari has barely been off his ship before. It was his birthplace, his home and his future.He's going to get it back.Nobody is to be trusted.

Gollancz

The Quiet War Omnibus

Paul McAuley
Authors:
Paul McAuley
Gateway

Fairyland

Paul McAuley
Authors:
Paul McAuley
Gollancz

Something Coming Through

Paul McAuley
Authors:
Paul McAuley
Gollancz

Metro 2034

Dmitry Glukhovsky
Authors:
Dmitry Glukhovsky
Gateway

Child of the River

Paul McAuley
Authors:
Paul McAuley
Gateway

Ancients of Days

Paul McAuley
Authors:
Paul McAuley
Gateway

Shrine of Stars

Paul McAuley
Authors:
Paul McAuley

Who would lay time to rest, or raise it up from its tomb?The Ancients of Days - humans returned from a long exile in the depths of time and space and history - brought heresy and doubt to the artificial world of Confluence, and ignited a terrible civil war, of all the varied creatures of Confluence's ten thousand genetically manipulated bloodlines, only young Yama holds the power to end the conflict, for who ever controls him controls the myriad machines of the world. Though now a helpless captive being forged intoa weapon of horrific consequence, Yama must win the struggle to reclaim his soul, and complete his search for the true story of his origin - a story mapped eons before his birth.

Gollancz

Evening's Empires

Paul McAuley
Authors:
Paul McAuley

In the far future, a young man stands on a barren asteroid. His ship has been stolen, his family kidnapped or worse, and all he has on his side is a semi-intelligent spacesuit. The only member of the crew to escape, Hari has barely been off his ship before. It was his birthplace, his home and his future.He's going to get it back.McAuley's latest novel is set in the same far-flung future as his last few novels, but this time he takes on a much more personal story. This is a tale of revenge, of murder and morality, of growing up and discovering the world around you. Throughout the novel we follow Hari's viewpoint, and as he unravels the mysteries that led to his stranding, we discover them alongside him. But throughout his journeys, Hari must always bear one thing in mind.Nobody is to be trusted.

Gollancz

Confluence - The Trilogy

Paul McAuley
Authors:
Paul McAuley

Confluence - a long, narrow, artificial world, half fertile river valley, half crater-strewn desert. A world beyond the end of human history, served by countless machines, inhabited by ten thousand bloodlines who worship their absent creators, rivem by a vast war against heretics. This is the home of Yama, found as an infant in a white boat on the world's Great River, raised by an obscure bureaucrat in an obscure town in the middle of a ruined necropolis, destined to become a clerk - until the discovery of his singular ancestry. For Yama appears to be the last remaining scion of the Builders, closest of all races to the revered architects of Confluence, able to awaken and control the secret machineries of the world. Pursued by enemies who want to make use of his powers, Yama voyages down the length of the world to search for answers to the mysteries of his origin, and to discover if he is to be the saviour of his world, or its nemesis.

Gollancz

In the Mouth of the Whale

Paul McAuley
Authors:
Paul McAuley

A novel of a savage future war, perfect for fans of Alastair Reynolds and Peter F. Hamilton.Humanity's future rests on the shoulders of a Child from the past, and she must never know of the battles being fought for her ...In the system of Fomalhaut, a war is being fought. The Quicks came long ago, refugees from the Solar System. The True arrived later, to find a declining civilisation and a system ripe for the taking. Then the Ghosts appeared, no longer human, unknowable, powerful and determined to drive out the Quick and the True. The battle continues, but the outcome is uncertain.Three lives will intersect, because there is something at the centre of their universe, something dangerous and growing and powerful. Something that is worth fighting for. And it will change everybody's life.

Orion

The Passage

Justin Cronin
Authors:
Justin Cronin

An epic, awe-inspiring novel of good and evil - now a global bestseller.Amy Harper Bellafonte is six years old and her mother thinks she's the most important person in the whole world.She is.Anthony Carter doesn't think he could ever be in a worse place than Death Row.He's wrong.FBI agent Brad Wolgast thinks something beyond imagination is coming.It is.THE PASSAGE. Soon to be an epic drama on Fox from writer Elizabeth Heldens and executive producer Ridley Scott.

Gateway

Pasquale's Angel

Paul McAuley
Authors:
Paul McAuley
Gateway

Red Dust

Paul McAuley
Authors:
Paul McAuley
Gateway

Eternal Light

Paul McAuley
Authors:
Paul McAuley
Gollancz

The Quiet War

Paul McAuley
Authors:
Paul McAuley

Twenty-third century Earth has been ravaged by climate change, and is now dominated by a few powerful families, with millions of people in prison and millions more labouring to rebuild ruined ecosystems.Meanwhile on Jupiter and Saturn, live the Outers. They have built a wild variety of scientific utopias crammed with exuberant creations of the genetic arts. Now they want to colonise Earth and drive human evolution in a new direction.On Earth, some want to launch a pre-emptive strike against the Outers while others wish to exploit the talents of the gene wizards.It is clear that the fragile detente between the two branches of humanity is breaking down and they may be heading towards war . . .

Gollancz

The Well of Ascension

Brandon Sanderson
Authors:
Brandon Sanderson
Gollancz

400 Billion Stars

Paul McAuley
Authors:
Paul McAuley

Dorothy Yoshida is a telepath, and a really rather good one at that. She's also a scientist, and when a small planet begins to manifest some unusual signs she is sent to investigate. The planet is more than it seems, and on further investigation the scientists begin to suspect it has been artificially altered.But despite their suspicions the only life they can detect is on the surface, none of which has advanced far above the level of animals. And despite the hopes of mankind to find something which will help them in a burgeoning war against other species, there seems to be nothing there to aid them.With Dorothy's arrival, however, they are in for some surprising discoveries.