Paul McAuley - Into Everywhere - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £8.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473203990
    • Publication date:09 Feb 2017
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781409165941
    • Publication date:21 Apr 2016
Books in this series

Into Everywhere

By Paul McAuley

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

The Jackaroo gave humanity access to alien worlds and technologies, yet we still know nothing about them. As humanity spreads wider into the universe, will we discover what secrets they are hiding?

The Jackaroo, those enigmatic aliens who claim to have come to help, gave humanity access to worlds littered with ruins and scraps of technology left by long-dead client races. But although people have found new uses for alien technology, that technology may have found its own uses for people.

The dissolute scion of a powerful merchant family, and a woman living in seclusion with only her dog and her demons for company, have become infected by a copies of a powerful chunk of alien code.

Driven to discover what it wants from them, they become caught up in a conflict between a policeman allied to the Jackaroo and the laminated brain of a scientific wizard, and a mystery that spans light years and centuries. Humanity is about to discover why the Jackaroo came to help us, and how that help is shaping the end of human history.

Biographical Notes

Paul McAuley won the PHILIP K. DICK AWARD for his first novel and has gone on to win the ARTHUR C. CLARKE, SIDEWISE, BRITISH FANTASY and JOHN W. CAMPBELL AWARDs. He gave up his position as a research biologist to write full time. He lives in London.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781473204003
  • Publication date: 21 Apr 2016
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Gollancz
'A book infused with energy and confidence'. — SFX
the latest novel from Paul McAuley finds him at the top of his game — The Telegraph
As usual, McAuley imparts mind-bending SF concepts in prose that is always elegant and precise — Crime Time
Gateway

The Second Great Dune Trilogy

Frank Herbert
Authors:
Frank Herbert
Trapeze

The Other Couple

Sarah J. Naughton
Authors:
Sarah J. Naughton
Gollancz

Austral

Paul McAuley
Authors:
Paul McAuley
Orion

You Can Run

Steve Mosby
Authors:
Steve Mosby
Gollancz

The Vastening Omnibus

Paul McAuley
Authors:
Paul McAuley

IN THE MOUTH OF THE WHALE: Humanity's future rests on the shoulders of a Child from the past, and she must never know of the battles being fought for her . . . In the system of Fomalhaut, a war is being fought. The Quicks came long ago, refugees from the Solar System. The True arrived later, to find a declining civilisation and a system ripe for the taking. Then the Ghosts appeared, no longer human, unknowable, powerful and determined to drive out the Quick and the True. The battle continues, but the outcome is uncertain.Three lives will intersect, because there is something at the centre of their universe, something dangerous and growing and powerful. Something that is worth fighting for. And it will change everybody's life.EVENING'S EMPIRES:In the far future, a young man stands on a barren asteroid. His ship has been stolen, his family kidnapped or worse, and all he has on his side is a semi-intelligent spacesuit. The only member of the crew to escape, Hari has barely been off his ship before. It was his birthplace, his home and his future.He's going to get it back.Nobody is to be trusted.

Gollancz

The Quiet War Omnibus

Paul McAuley
Authors:
Paul McAuley
Gollancz

Something Coming Through

Paul McAuley
Authors:
Paul McAuley

The aliens are here. And they want to help. The extraordinary new project from one of the country's most acclaimed and consistently brilliant SF novelists of the last 30 years.The Jackaroo have given humanity fifteen worlds and the means to reach them. They're a chance to start over, but they're also littered with ruins and artifacts left by the Jackaroo's previous clients.Miracles that could reverse the damage caused by war, climate change, and rising sea levels. Nightmares that could forever alter humanity - or even destroy it. Chloe Millar works in London, mapping changes caused by imported scraps of alien technology. When she stumbles across a pair of orphaned kids possessed by an ancient ghost, she must decide whether to help them or to hand them over to the authorities. Authorities who believe that their visions point towards a new kind of danger. And on one of the Jackaroo's gift-worlds, the murder of a man who has just arrived from Earth leads policeman Vic Gayle to a war between rival gangs over possession of a remote excavation site. Something is coming through. Something linked to the visions of Chloe's orphans, and Vic Gayle's murder investigation. Something that will challenge the limits of the Jackaroo's benevolence ...

Orion

House of the Rising Sun

James Lee Burke
Authors:
James Lee Burke
Gollancz

Feet Of Clay

Terry Pratchett
Authors:
Terry Pratchett

THERE'S A WEREWOLF WITH PRE-LUNAR TENSION IN ANKH-MORPORK. AND A DWARF WITH ATTITUDE AND A GOLEM WHO'S BEGUN TO THINK FOR ITSELF.But for Commander Vimes, Head of Ankh-Morpork City Watch, that's only the start...There's treason in the air. A crime has happened.He's not only got to find out whodunit, but howdunit too. He's not even sure what they dun. But soon as he knows what the questions are, he's going to want some answers.

Gateway

Child of the River

Paul McAuley
Authors:
Paul McAuley

Confluence - a long, narrow man-made world, half fertile river valley, half crater-strewn desert. It is a world at the end of its time, a place of savagery, bureaucracy and war, inhabited by countless flying micro-machines and ten thousand bloodlines ruled by devotion to absent gods. It is the home of a singular young man named Yama. An infant who was discovered in a bier on the river, he was raised by the prelate of Aeolis until it was learned that his ancestry was unique. Yama appeared to be the last remaining scion of the Builders, closest of all races to the worshipped architects of Confluence. Now, awed and fearful of his increasing ability to awaken the machines the Builders left behind, Yama searches for his identity and a history that is both his and his world's.

Gateway

Ancients of Days

Paul McAuley
Authors:
Paul McAuley
Gateway

Shrine of Stars

Paul McAuley
Authors:
Paul McAuley

Who would lay time to rest, or raise it up from its tomb?The Ancients of Days - humans returned from a long exile in the depths of time and space and history - brought heresy and doubt to the artificial world of Confluence, and ignited a terrible civil war, of all the varied creatures of Confluence's ten thousand genetically manipulated bloodlines, only young Yama holds the power to end the conflict, for who ever controls him controls the myriad machines of the world. Though now a helpless captive being forged intoa weapon of horrific consequence, Yama must win the struggle to reclaim his soul, and complete his search for the true story of his origin - a story mapped eons before his birth.

W&N

The Word Exchange

Alena Graedon
Authors:
Alena Graedon

'Spine-tingling' New York Times'A fast-paced, thrill-a-minute début novel' New Yorker'Graedon knows how to ratchet up mystery' EsquireWORDS ARE UNDER THREAT. IT'S TIME TO FIGHT BACK...Imagine a world without words. A world in which books, libraries and newspapers are things of the past. A world where personal devices provide all you could want or need.Anana Johnson and her father, Doug, are hard at work on the final edition that will ever be printed of the English Dictionary. But one evening, Doug disappears and Anana unearths a single written clue: ALICE.In the battle to save her father, Anana discovers secret societies, dark incinerator rooms and underground passages. Above all, she finds a world that faces ruin from the dark side of technology. Praise for The Word Exchange'A nervy, nerdy dystopian thriller' New York Times Book Review'A propulsive, twisty future-noir' Daily Beast'Spectacular' Karen Russell, author of Swamplandia! and Vampires in the Lemon Grove'Dazzling' Slate'Wildly ambitious, darkly intellectual and inventive' Kirkus Reviews, starred review

Gollancz

Confluence - The Trilogy

Paul McAuley
Authors:
Paul McAuley

Confluence - a long, narrow, artificial world, half fertile river valley, half crater-strewn desert. A world beyond the end of human history, served by countless machines, inhabited by ten thousand bloodlines who worship their absent creators, rivem by a vast war against heretics. This is the home of Yama, found as an infant in a white boat on the world's Great River, raised by an obscure bureaucrat in an obscure town in the middle of a ruined necropolis, destined to become a clerk - until the discovery of his singular ancestry. For Yama appears to be the last remaining scion of the Builders, closest of all races to the revered architects of Confluence, able to awaken and control the secret machineries of the world. Pursued by enemies who want to make use of his powers, Yama voyages down the length of the world to search for answers to the mysteries of his origin, and to discover if he is to be the saviour of his world, or its nemesis.

Gollancz

Evening's Empires

Paul McAuley
Authors:
Paul McAuley
Gollancz

In the Mouth of the Whale

Paul McAuley
Authors:
Paul McAuley

A novel of a savage future war, perfect for fans of Alastair Reynolds and Peter F. Hamilton.Humanity's future rests on the shoulders of a Child from the past, and she must never know of the battles being fought for her ...In the system of Fomalhaut, a war is being fought. The Quicks came long ago, refugees from the Solar System. The True arrived later, to find a declining civilisation and a system ripe for the taking. Then the Ghosts appeared, no longer human, unknowable, powerful and determined to drive out the Quick and the True. The battle continues, but the outcome is uncertain.Three lives will intersect, because there is something at the centre of their universe, something dangerous and growing and powerful. Something that is worth fighting for. And it will change everybody's life.

Gateway

400 Billion Stars

Paul McAuley
Authors:
Paul McAuley
Gateway

Pasquale's Angel

Paul McAuley
Authors:
Paul McAuley

Florence in the year 1518 is riven by scientific and sociological change caused b the wonderful devices of the Great Engineer, Leonardo da Vinci. Now he is old and lives as a recluse working behind the walls of his castle. The Raphaelites, artists and anti-technologists led by Raphael of Urbino, call for his excommunication. Pasquale di Cione fiesole, an apprentice painter witnesses an assassination attempt on Raphael at a Cathedral service. The weapon falls into his hands, and he is soon on the run from engineers and artists, desperate to prove his innocence.

Gateway

Red Dust

Paul McAuley
Authors:
Paul McAuley
Gateway

Eternal Light

Paul McAuley
Authors:
Paul McAuley

In the aftermath of an interstellar war an enigmatic star is discovered, travelling towards the Solar System from the galactic core. Its appearance adds a new and dangerous factor in the turbulent politics of the inhabited worlds as the rival factions - the power-holders of the ReUnited Nations, the rebels who secretly oppose their power, and the Religious Witnesses - all see advantages to be gained. But what awesome technology started the star on its journey half a million years ago - and why?