Joanne M Harris - Runemarks - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £8.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473217065
    • Publication date:20 Apr 2017
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781409165774
    • Publication date:24 Nov 2016

Runemarks

By Joanne M Harris

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

A gripping tale of magic, adventure and Norse mythology from the SUNDAY TIMES bestselling author of CHOCOLAT and THE GOSPEL OF LOKI.

It's been five hundred years since the end of the world and society has rebuilt itself anew. The old Norse gods are no longer revered. Their tales have been banned. Magic is outlawed, and a new religion - the Order - has taken its place.

In a remote valley in the north, fourteen-year-old Maddy Smith is shunned for the ruinmark on her hand - a sign associated with the Bad Old Days. But what the villagers don't know is that Maddy has skills. According to One-Eye, the secretive Outlander who is Maddy's only real friend, her ruinmark - or runemark, as he calls it - is a sign of Chaos blood, magical powers and gods know what else...

Now, as the Order moves further north, threatening all the Worlds with conquest and Cleansing, Maddy must finally learn the truth to some unanswered questions about herself, her parentage, and her powers.

From the bestselling author of CHOCOLAT and THE GOSPEL OF LOKI comes a fantastical tale of magic, adventure and Norse mythology.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781473217072
  • Publication date: 24 Nov 2016
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Gollancz
Gollancz

Oathbringer

Brandon Sanderson
Authors:
Brandon Sanderson

From the bestselling author who completed Robert Jordan's epic Wheel of Time series comes a new, original creation that matches anything else in modern fantasy for epic scope, thrilling imagination, superb characters and sheer addictiveness.In Oathbringer, the third volume of the New York Times bestselling Stormlight Archive series, humanity faces a new Desolation with the return of the Voidbringers, a foe whose numbers are as great as their thirst for vengeance.The Alethi armies commanded by Dalinar Kholin won a fleeting victory at a terrible cost: The enemy Parshendi summoned the violent Everstorm, and now its destruction sweeps the world and its passing awakens the once peaceful and subservient parshmen to the true horror of their millennia-long enslavement by humans. While on a desperate flight to warn his family of the threat, Kaladin Stormblessed must come to grips with the fact that their newly kindled anger may be wholly justified.Nestled in the mountains high above the storms, in the tower city of Urithiru, Shallan Davar investigates the wonders of the ancient stronghold of the Knights Radiant and unearths the dark secrets lurking in its depths. And gradually realizes that his holy mission to unite his homeland of Alethkar was too narrow in scope. Unless all the nations of Roshar can put Dalinar's blood-soaked past aside and stand together - and unless Dalinar himself can confront that past - even the restoration of the Knights Radiant will not avert the end of civilization.'I loved this book. What else is there to say?' Patrick Rothfuss, New York Times bestselling author of The Name of the Wind, on The Way of Kings

Gollancz

A Pocketful of Crows

Joanne M Harris
Authors:
Joanne M Harris
Orion

White Wolf

David Gemmell
Authors:
David Gemmell
Orion

Swords of Night and Day

David Gemmell
Authors:
David Gemmell

Gollancz

Runelight

Joanne M Harris
Authors:
Joanne M Harris

The next gripping tale of magic, adventure and Norse mythology from the SUNDAY TIMES bestselling author of CHOCOLAT and THE GOSPEL OF LOKI.The squabbling Norse gods and goddesses of Runemarks are back! And there's a feisty new heroine on the scene: Maggie, a girl the same age as Maddy but brought up a world apart - literally, in World's End, the focus of the Order in which Maddy was raised. Now the Order is destroyed, Chaos is filling the vacuum left behind... and is breaching the everyday world.Six hundred miles apart, two girls each bear on their skin a runemark: a symbol of the Old Days when the known Worlds were ruled by the gods from their sky citadel, Asgard. Now Asgard lies in ruins, and the power of the gods has long since been destroyed. Or so everyone thinks. But nothing is lost for ever, and the gods haven't given up yet (nor stopped squabbling!) and they want the power of the runes borne by Maddy and Maggie - these new runes, which carry huge potential, their runelight shining out as a portent to the future. Soon both girls are swept into a maelstrom of cataclysmic events that are to draw them closer and closer to each other, and nearer and nearer to a horrific struggle where each must prove where their loyalty lies . . . Filled with inventive and humorous detail, trickery and treachery, carnage and lunacy, Runelight is the second title - following Runemarks - in a series of gloriously imaginative and dramatic tales about the Norse gods.

Orion

Hero in the Shadows

David Gemmell
Authors:
David Gemmell
Orion

You Don't Know Me

Brooke Magnanti
Authors:
Brooke Magnanti
Orion

Xeelee: Vengeance

Stephen Baxter
Authors:
Stephen Baxter
Orion

The Forever House

Veronica Henry
Authors:
Veronica Henry
W&N

The Woman on the Stairs

Bernhard Schlink
Authors:
Bernhard Schlink
Gollancz

Shadows of Self

Brandon Sanderson
Authors:
Brandon Sanderson

Fans of Robert Jordan and George RR Martin alike have found a new champion of epic fantasy in Brandon Sanderson. And now, in the first of two sequels to The Alloy Of Law the Sunday Times and New York Times bestselling author returns to the world of Mistborn anda hunt for a mysterious assassin. The criminal elite of Elendel were invited to an auction - which became a massacre, when an unknown assailant slaughtered everyone in attendance. Now Wax and Wayne, both able to use magic, both lawmen from the rough and ungoverned frontier territories, are on the case. All the clues suggest the killer is a rogue kandra - a secretive, almost mythical, figure who acts from the shadows - called Bleeder . . . and that the governor is her next target. Bleeder, and the conspiracy behind the killings, has to be stopped . . . before the city is plunged into chaos.A brilliant adventure and a gripping story, Shadows of Self offers fans of The Alloy of Law everything they've been hoping for and, this being a Brandon Sanderson book, more, much more.

Orion

The Hummingbird's Cage

Tamara Dietrich
Authors:
Tamara Dietrich

Joanna has spent ten years married to a monster. Everyone thinks she has the perfect life, but behind closed doors she lives in constant fear of her husband. Escape seems impossible - and then a stranger offers her a chance to flee. On the run with her young daughter, Joanna finds herself in the mysterious town of Morro. With no memory of how she got there. And no idea of what the town truly is. Joanna faces a rare and terrible choice - stay safe, or return to face the fight of her life, to save herself and her little girl.

Gollancz

Terry Pratchett's Discworld Colouring Book

Paul Kidby
Authors:
Paul Kidby

Paul Kidby, Sir Terry Pratchett's artist of choice, provided the illustrations for The Last Hero, designed the covers for the Discworld novels since 2002 and is the author of the definitive portfolio volume The Art Of Discworld. If Terry Pratchett's pen gave his characters life, Paul Kidby's brush allowed them to live it. Containing black-and-white line drawings based on his hugely popular artwork as well as original pieces produced exclusively for this book - featuring such iconic Discworld personalities as Granny Weatherwax, Sam Vimes, Archchancellor Ridcully, Rincewind, Tiffany Aching and, of course, DEATH - Terry Pratchett's Discworld Colouring Book is required . . . reading? . . . for all Discworld fans.

W&N

A Hero in France

Alan Furst
Authors:
Alan Furst
Gollancz

The Cathedral of Known Things

Edward Cox
Authors:
Edward Cox
Orion

Cruel Crown

Victoria Aveyard
Authors:
Victoria Aveyard

In a world divided by blood - Red or Silver - two women tell the stories no one else knows.For Coriane of House Jacos, love comes at a terrible cost. In a secret diary, she recounts her heady courtship with the heir to the Silver throne, Prince Tiberias, and the dangers that lurk at the heart of the royal court.Captain Farley is at the forefront of the Red rebellion. As she plans an attack on the Silver capital, she discovers a secret that could sway the balance of power for ever.Two gripping stories. One fight for justice.Red vs Silver.Contains an extract from GLASS SWORD, the second novel in the Red Queen series.

Gollancz

The Gospel of Loki

Joanne M Harris
Authors:
Joanne M Harris

The novel is a brilliant first-person narrative of the rise and fall of the Norse gods - retold from the point of view of the world's ultimate trickster, Loki. It tells the story of Loki's recruitment from the underworld of Chaos, his many exploits on behalf of his one-eyed master, Odin, through to his eventual betrayal of the gods and the fall of Asgard itself.Using her life-long passion for the Norse myths, Joanne Harris has created a vibrant and powerful fantasy novel.

Gollancz

Words of Radiance Part Two

Brandon Sanderson
Authors:
Brandon Sanderson

Brandon Sanderson's Stormlight Archive moves into a new, darker phase and in this, the second part of the second volume the Parshendi risk the return of the fearsome Voidbringers of old as they attempt to strenthen themselves against the challange of the humans.This is epic fantasy of the highest order with an intricate and wonderful world forming the background to carefully worked out magics and a plot of constant twists and turns. All played out by a cast of memorable characters.Immersive and compelling this is an epic fantasy for the 21st century.

Gollancz

Son of the Morning

Mark Alder
Authors:
Mark Alder

Lauded by fellow authors, a five star 'SFX recommends' title, adored by the bloggers, Mark Alder's debut novel of angels, demons, kings and the Hundred Years War marks the beginning of a hugely exciting new series.Edward III stands in a burnt English church, destroyed in a French raid. A raid on his land, a raid on him. He is in debt and surrounded by doubters, only victory against France will save his throne. But Philip of Valois can put 50,000 men in the field. He has sent his priests to summon the very angels themselves to fight for France. Edward could call on God for aid but he is a usurper. What if God truly is on the side of the French? But for a price, Edward could open the gates of Hell and take an unholy war to France ...Mark Alder has brought the epic fantasy of George R.R. Martin to the vivid historical adventure of Bernard Cornwell and has a created a fantasy that will sweep you to a new vision of the Hundred Years War.

Gollancz

Feet Of Clay

Terry Pratchett
Authors:
Terry Pratchett

THERE'S A WEREWOLF WITH PRE-LUNAR TENSION IN ANKH-MORPORK. AND A DWARF WITH ATTITUDE AND A GOLEM WHO'S BEGUN TO THINK FOR ITSELF.But for Commander Vimes, Head of Ankh-Morpork City Watch, that's only the start...There's treason in the air. A crime has happened.He's not only got to find out whodunit, but howdunit too. He's not even sure what they dun. But soon as he knows what the questions are, he's going to want some answers.