Brian Aldiss - Cryptozoic! - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473222748
    • Publication date:30 Nov 2017

Cryptozoic!

By Brian Aldiss

  • Paperback
  • £9.99

A mind-bending time-travel novel from the multi-award-winning author or Helliconia

In the year 2093, human consciousness has expanded to the point that man can visit the past using a technique called 'mind-travelling'. Artist Edward Bush returns from a lengthy 'trip' to the Jurassic period to find the government overthrown by an authoritarian regime. Given his mind-travel experience, he is recruited by the new regime to track down and assassinate a scientist whose ideas threaten to topple the status quo. However, the job of an artist is not to take orders but to ask questions . . .

Biographical Notes

Brian W. Aldiss (1925 - 2017)
Brian Wilson Aldiss was born in 1925. He was a highly decorated science fiction author who achieved the rare feat of acceptance as a writer of real significance by the literary establishment in his lifetime. As well as his many award-winning novels he has been a hugely important anthologist and editor in the field. He also wrote the pre-eminent history of the genre (with David Wingrove), Billion Year Spree (later expanded and revised as Trillion Year Spree). He died in 2017 the day after his 92nd birthday.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781473222731
  • Publication date: 02 Nov 2017
  • Page count: 240
  • Imprint: Gollancz
Trapeze

The Girl He Used to Know

Tracey Garvis Graves
Authors:
Tracey Garvis Graves
Gateway

Barbarians of Mars

Michael Moorcock
Authors:
Michael Moorcock
Gateway

Journey to the Underground World

Lin Carter
Authors:
Lin Carter

The legends of a fabled land of the lost have floated for centuries around the bazaars of North Africa and the sand-surrounded oases of the vast Sahara. They tell of treasure caravans that have never returned, of weird monsters forgotten by time, of savage peoples surviving out of antiquity.Eric Carstairs had heard these tales but until he met Professor Potter he did not really believe them. But the famous palaeontologist had the location of the entrance to the Underground World pinned down, and wanted only a man of courage to fly him there.Carstairs and Potter took the chance - and pierced the pit to Zanthodon, a world within the world, where cavemen and cave-beasts roamed side by side with dinosaur-monsters of millions of years ago.

Gollancz

The Massacre of Mankind

Stephen Baxter
Authors:
Stephen Baxter

It has been 14 years since the Martians invaded England. The world has moved on, always watching the skies but content that we know how to defeat the Martian menace. Machinery looted from the abandoned capsules and war-machines has led to technological leaps forward. The Martians are vulnerable to earth germs. The Army is prepared.So when the signs of launches on Mars are seen, there seems little reason to worry. Unless you listen to one man, Walter Jenkins, the narrator of Wells' book. He is sure that the Martians have learned, adapted, understood their defeat.He is right.Thrust into the chaos of a new invasion, a journalist - sister-in-law to Walter Jenkins - must survive, escape and report on the war.The Massacre of Mankind has begun.

Gateway

Swastika Night

Murray Constantine
Authors:
Murray Constantine
W&N

The Perfect Kill

Robert Baer
Authors:
Robert Baer
Gollancz

Indoctrinaire

Christopher Priest
Authors:
Christopher Priest

Deep in the Advanced Technique Concentration, Wentik created a mind-altering drug. Suddenly he is transported to the jungles of Brazil in the 22nd century and a world devastated by nuclear war and poison gas. Only South America survived but even here 'The Disturbances' create havoc. Can Wentik find a way back? For himself? And all of humanity?

Orion

Landline

Rainbow Rowell
Authors:
Rainbow Rowell

What advice would you give the younger you...and would you listen?As far as time machines go, a magic telephone is pretty useless. TV writer Georgie McCool can't actually visit the past; all she can do is call it, and hope it picks up. Is she going crazy or is this a chance to make things right with her husband, Neal?Maybe she can fix the things in their past that seem unfixable in the present. Maybe this stupid phone is giving her a chance to start over...if that's what she wants...A heart-wrenching - and hilarious - take on fate, time, television and true love, Landline asks if two people are ever really on the same path, or whether love just means finding someone who will keep meeting you halfway.A heartwarming story about second chances and falling in love, perfect for fans of Rowan Coleman and Lucy Dillon.

Gollancz

Jerry Cornelius: His Lives and His Times

Michael Moorcock
Authors:
Michael Moorcock

Jerry Cornelius is an English assassin, physicist, rock star, and messiah to the Age of Science. Mainstay of the infamous and influential magazine NEW WORLDS and star of some of Moorcock's most celebrated novels, here are the short stories which made his name. Set in a shifting, fluid version of the counter-culture 1960s, the adventures of Jerry Cornelius were among the most prominent 'New Wave' SF books. Jerry Cornelius is one of the most remarkable and distinctive characters in Moorcock's work, and his time-travelling, trippy and bizarre adventures are must-reads.Contains a wide selection of Jerry Cornelius short stories, including THE NATURE OF THE CATASTROPHE, THE ENTROPY CIRCUIT, THE DELHI DIVISION and many more.

Gateway

Lies, Inc.

Philip K. Dick
Authors:
Philip K. Dick
Gollancz

The Falling Woman

Pat Murphy
Authors:
Pat Murphy
Gateway

Aegypt

John Crowley
Authors:
John Crowley
Gateway

Time And Again

Jack Finney
Authors:
Jack Finney

Si Morley is marking time: he's bored with his job as a commercial artist, and his social life doesn't seem to be going anywhere. So when he's approached by an affable ex-football star and told that he's just what the government is looking for to be part of a a top secret project, he doesn't hesitate for long. And one night he steps out of his twentieth-century New York apartment into the winter of 1882, and finds a kind of Eden. Or does he?

Gollancz

Three Early Novels

Philip K. Dick
Authors:
Philip K. Dick

At the beginning of his career, Philip K. Dick, whose later work won him widespread acclaim as the world's greatest science fiction writer, wrote a number of short novels which were published as paperback originals back-to-back in dual volumes with works by writers who were then more famous. Considerably more straightforward than his later novels, these stories are nevertheless unmistakably the work of the author of DO ANDOIDS DREAM OF ELECTRIC SHEEP? and UBIK in their quirky exuberance and originality.THE MAN WHO JAPED: Following a devastating nuclear war, the Moral Reclamation government took over the world and forced its citizens to live by strictly puritanical rules - no premarital sex, drunkenness, or displaying of neon signs - all of which are reinforced through a constant barrage of messaging to the public. The chief purveyor of these messages is Alan Purcell, next in line to become head of the propaganda bureau. But there is just one problem: a statue of the government's founder has been vandalized and the head is hidden in Purcell's closet. VULCAN'S HAMMER: After the 20th century's devastating series of wars, the world's governments banded together into one globe-spanning entity, committed to peace at all costs. Ensuring that peace is the Vulcan supercomputer, responsible for all major decisions. But some people don't like being taken out of the equation. And others resent the idea that the Vulcan is taking the place of God. As the world grows ever closer to all-out war, one functionary frantically tries to prevent it. But the Vulcan computer has its own plans, plans that might not include humanity at all.DR. FUTURITY: When Dr Jim Parsons wakes up from a car accident, he finds himself in a future populated almost entirely by the young. But to keep the world run by the young, death is fetishized, and those who survive to old age are put down. In such a world, Parsons - with his innate desire to save lives - is a criminal and outcast. But for one revolutionary group, he may be just the saviour they need to heal and revive their cryogenically frozen leader. And when he and the group journey to 1500s California, what they find causes them to question what they know about history and the underpinnings of their society.

Gateway

No Enemy But Time

Michael Bishop
Authors:
Michael Bishop
Gateway

Time is the Fire

Connie Willis
Authors:
Connie Willis

This new collection of stories from the multi-award-winning author of Doomsday Book and To Say Nothing of the Dog contains:A Letter from the ClearysAt the RialtoDeath on the NileThe Soul Selects Her own SocietyFire WatchInside JobEven the QueenThe Winds of Marble ArchAll Seated on the GroundLast of the WinnebagosTen stories - which have all won the Hugo Award, the Nebula Award or both - are compulsory reading for the serious science fiction fan.

Gollancz

Shadow's Master

Jon Sprunk
Authors:
Jon Sprunk
Gateway

To Say Nothing of the Dog

Connie Willis
Authors:
Connie Willis

Ned Henry is a time-travelling historian who specialises in the mid-20th century - currently engaged in researching the bombed-out Coventry Cathedral. He's also made so many drops into the past that he's suffering from a dangerously advanced case of 'time-lag'. Unfortunately for Ned, an emergency dash to Victorian England is required and he's the only available historian. But Ned's time-lag is so bad that he's not sure what the errand is - which is bad news since, if he fails, history could unravel around him ...Winner of the Hugo Award for best novel, 1999Introduction by Pat Cadigan

Gateway

Helliconia Winter

Brian Aldiss
Authors:
Brian Aldiss

The third and final book in the epic Helliconia trilogy. The centuries-long winter of the Great Year on Helliconia is upon us, and the Oligarch is taking harsh measures to ensure the survival of the people of the bleak Northern continent of Sibornal. Behind the battle with which the novel opens lies an act of unparalleled treachery. But the plague is coming on the wings of winter and the Oligarch's will is set against it - and against the phagors, humanity's ancient enemies, who carry the plague with them.

Gollancz

The Book of the New Sun: Volume 2

Gene Wolfe
Authors:
Gene Wolfe