Theodore Sturgeon - More Than Human - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780575110106
    • Publication date:29 Sep 2011
Books in this series

More Than Human

By Theodore Sturgeon

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

Award winning tale of alienation, evolution and humanity

All alone: an idiot boy, a runaway girl, a severely retarded baby, and twin girls with a vocabulary of two words between them. Yet once they are mysteriously drawn together this collection of misfits becomes something very, very different from the rest of humanity.

This intensely written and moving novel is an extraordinary vision of humanity's next step.

Biographical Notes

Theodore Sturgeon (1918 - 1985)Theodore Sturgeon was born Edward Hamilton Waldo in New York City in 1918. Sturgeon was not a pseudonym; his name was legally changed after his parents' divorce. After selling his first SF story to Astounding in 1939, he travelled for some years, only returning in earnest in 1946. He produced a great body of acclaimed short fiction (SF's premier short story award is named in his honour) as well as a number of novels, including More Than Human, which was awarded the 1954 retro-Hugo in 2004. In addition to coining Sturgeon's Law - '90% of everything is crud' - he wrote the screenplays for seminal Star Trek episodes 'Shore Leave' and 'Amok Time', inventing the famous Vulcan mating ritual, the pon farr.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781857988529
  • Publication date: 13 Apr 2000
  • Page count: 240
  • Imprint: Gateway
Gollancz

Dark Forge

Miles Cameron
Authors:
Miles Cameron

Gollancz

Dragon Heart

Peter Higgins
Authors:
Peter Higgins

For readers of Cormac McCarthy and Justin Cronin, this is the story of one family's battle for survival in a world where evil has already won. As they fight their way across a dying land, Shay and Cass will do anything to keep their daughter, Hope, alive. The family faces unimaginable dangers as they try to stay together, and stay alive, long enough to reach safety. But when the heart of a dragon starts to beat in Hope's chest, they fear they'll lose her to a battle they can't possibly help her win . . . Critically acclaimed author Peter Higgins has written a richly evocative post-apocalyptic fantasy novel about how, even in the darkest of times, we have so much to lose.

Gollancz

The Dream Gatherer

Kristen Britain
Authors:
Kristen Britain
Gollancz

Empress of all Seasons

Emiko Jean
Authors:
Emiko Jean

In a deadly tournament to become empress, any may enter but only one will survive, and one competitor doesn't just plan to win, she's going to steal the Emperor's fortune. . . In each generation, a competition is held to find the next empress of Honoku. The rules are simple. Survive the palace's enchanted seasonal rooms. Conquer Winter, Spring, Summer and Fall, and you can marry the prince. All are eligible to compete - all except yokai, supernatural monsters and spirits whom the human emperor is determined to enslave and destroy. Mari has spent a lifetime training to become empress. Winning should be easy. And it would be, if she weren't hiding a dangerous secret. Mari is a yokai with the ability to transform into a terrifying monster. If discovered, her life will be forfeit. As she struggles to keep her true identity hidden, Mari's fate collides with that of Taro, the prince who has no desire to inherit the imperial throne, and Akira, a half-human, half-yokai outcast. Torn between duty and love, loyalty and betrayal, vengeance and forgiveness, the choices of Mari, Taro and Akira will decide the fate of Honoku.

Gateway

The Second Great Dune Trilogy

Frank Herbert
Authors:
Frank Herbert

The Second Great Dune Trilogy contains God Emperor of Dune, Heretics of Dune and Chapter House Dune, and concludes the Dune Chronicles, one of the most influential SF series ever written.Herbert's evocative, epic tales are set on the desert planet Arrakis, the focus for a complex political and military struggle with galaxy-wide repercussions.More than three thousand years have passed since the first events recorded in Dune. Only one link survives with those tumultuous times: the grotesque figure of Leto Atreides, son of the prophet Paul Muad'Dib, and now the virtually immortal God Emperor of Dune. He alone understands the future, and he knows with a terrible certainty that the evolution of his race is at an end unless he can breed new qualities into his species. But to achieve his final victory, Leto Atreides must also bring about his own downfall...

Gollancz

The Caged Queen

Kristen Ciccarelli
Authors:
Kristen Ciccarelli
Gollancz

The Ember Blade

Chris Wooding
Authors:
Chris Wooding
Gateway

Asgard's Conquerors: Asgard 2

Brian Stableford
Authors:
Brian Stableford
Orion

The Dream Wife

Louisa de Lange
Authors:
Louisa de Lange

'That ending . . . It had me questioning everything! So clever and twisted and disturbing' Elle Croft, bestselling author of The Guilty Wife 'A startling and clever twist' Cara Hunter, bestselling author of In the Dark**********Annie is the dream wife. Mother to two-year-old Johnny and wife to David, she is everything her husband expects her to be - supportive, respectful and mild - but what he expects isn't who she truly is. Annie is a prisoner in her home. Her finances, her routine, her social life are all controlled by him. It's the love for her boy that she lives for, and at night she dreams of a world where she is free.But Annie is going to fight back. And you won't believe how she is going to do it . . .Perfect for fans of Cara Hunter, Laura Marshall, Elle Croft, BA Paris, JP Delaney Teresa Driscoll and Claire Allan. ************* Readers LOVE The Dream Wife . . .'I absolutely raced through it and couldn't put it down! It was so unsettling and had me holding my breath the whole time. And then that ending . . . it had me questioning everything! So clever and twisted and disturbing' Elle Croft 'A hugely promising debut. Overturns every assumption you have at the beginning in a startling and clever twist' Cara Hunter'And of course, I was very surprised at the end too . . . there is no way you can see it coming' 'This was an absolute blinder and I loved it! Definite contender for my book club and one of my favourite reads this year!' 'Riveting and tense . . . Highly recommended''I couldn't put it down'**********A tense and electrifying novel with a twist that will break your heart. Fans of In the Dark by Cara Hunter, The Girl Before by JP Delaney, The Affair by Sheryl Browne, The Guilty One by Lisa Ballantyne, The Wife Between Us by Greer Hendricks and Sarah Pakkanen, and Behind Closed Doors by BA Paris will love this.

Gateway

Journey to the Underground World

Lin Carter
Authors:
Lin Carter
Gollancz

Cold Iron

Miles Cameron
Authors:
Miles Cameron
Gateway

Jurgen

James Branch Cabell
Authors:
James Branch Cabell
Gollancz

One Way

S.J. Morden
Authors:
S.J. Morden
Gollancz

Snapshot

Brandon Sanderson
Authors:
Brandon Sanderson
Orion

An Italian Summer

Fanny Blake
Authors:
Fanny Blake
Gateway

Raft

Stephen Baxter
Authors:
Stephen Baxter
Gollancz

Xeelee: Vengeance

Stephen Baxter
Authors:
Stephen Baxter
Gollancz

God's Last Breath

Sam Sykes
Authors:
Sam Sykes

Acclaimed author Sam Sykes returns with the exhilarating conclusion to his Bring Down Heaven trilogy.The great demon Khoth-Kapira has broken free of his prison and taken his first step upon the mortal world. And he owes it all to Lenk. Believing that the demon will heal a broken world that the gods have abandoned, Lenk serves as reluctant champion to Khoth-Kapira's cause. But as the desperate and fearful flock to Khoth-Kapira's banner, begging for salvation, Lenk begins to doubt his patron's great designs.The city of Cier'Djaal, meanwhile, has become the field for the last great battle of mortals. And as humans, shicts and tulwar prepare to tear each other apart, none are aware of the ancient horror that marches upon their tiny wars.At the tip of a spear or beneath the heel of demons, the reign of mortals ends.

Gollancz

Austral

Paul McAuley
Authors:
Paul McAuley

The great geoengineering projects have failed.The world is still warming, sea levels are still rising, and the Antarctic Peninsula is home to Earth's newest nation, with life quickened by ecopoets spreading across valleys and fjords exposed by the retreat of the ice.Austral Morales Ferrado, a child of the last generation of ecopoets, is a husky: an edited person adapted to the unforgiving climate of the far south, feared and despised by most of its population. She's been a convict, a corrections officer in a labour camp, and consort to a criminal, and now, out of desperation, she has committed the kidnapping of the century. But before she can collect the ransom and make a new life elsewhere, she must find a place of safety amongst the peninsula's forests and icy plateaus, and evade a criminal gang that has its own plans for the teenage girl she's taken hostage.Blending the story of Austral's flight with the fractured history of her family and its role in the colonisation of Antarctica, Austral is a vivid portrayal of a treacherous new world created by climate change, and shaped by the betrayals and mistakes of the past. 'Paul McAuley's balanced grasp of science and literature, always a rare attribute in the writer of prose fiction, is combined with the equally rare ability to look at today's problems and know which are really problems, and what can be done about them.' William Gibson

Gollancz

Jerry Cornelius: His Lives and His Times

Michael Moorcock
Authors:
Michael Moorcock

Jerry Cornelius is an English assassin, physicist, rock star, and messiah to the Age of Science. Mainstay of the infamous and influential magazine NEW WORLDS and star of some of Moorcock's most celebrated novels, here are the short stories which made his name. Set in a shifting, fluid version of the counter-culture 1960s, the adventures of Jerry Cornelius were among the most prominent 'New Wave' SF books. Jerry Cornelius is one of the most remarkable and distinctive characters in Moorcock's work, and his time-travelling, trippy and bizarre adventures are must-reads.Contains a wide selection of Jerry Cornelius short stories, including THE NATURE OF THE CATASTROPHE, THE ENTROPY CIRCUIT, THE DELHI DIVISION and many more.