Related to: 'Go! Go! Go!'

W&N

The Perfect Kill

Robert Baer
Authors:
Robert Baer
W&N

Washington's War

Michael Rose
Authors:
Michael Rose

The story of how George Washington beat the British out of America - and how Iraqi insurgents are now using the same tactics to push the Americans out of IraqIn 1775, George Washington took command of a ragbag army of American insurgents and took on the might of the British Army. Through a brilliant campaign of ambush and indirect attacks, he finally succeeded in defeating the greatest military power in the world, and won America its independence.Today it is the USA that is the world's dominant superpower. When they entered Iraq in 2003 they made the same mistakes that the British made over 200 years ago: they underestimated the popular hostility against them, and believed they could fight a widespread insurgence using troops trained for conventional warfare. They are beginning to learn, as the British did, that sheer military power is not enough.As a former Director of UK Special Forces and Commander of the United Nations Protection Force in Bosnia, Michael Rose is uniquely experienced in counter-insurgency warfare. In this hard-hitting book he explains the principles of guerrilla warfare as used in the American War of Independence, and shows how those same principles have been adopted by the insurgents in Iraq.

W&N

From Babel to Dragomans

Bernard Lewis
Authors:
Bernard Lewis
W&N

True Stories of the SAS

Robin Hunter
Authors:
Robin Hunter
Orion

Pathfinder

David Blakeley
Authors:
David Blakeley
W&N

Killer Elite

Michael Smith
Authors:
Michael Smith
W&N

Go! Go! Go!

Rusty Firmin, Will Pearson
Authors:
Rusty Firmin, Will Pearson

The first comprehensive account of the storming of the Iranian Embassy in London in 1980.GO! GO! GO! tells the action-packed story of the 1980 Iranian Embassy siege. It is a comprehensive, detailed and gripping account of an unforgettable six-day drama that shook Britain -- and the wider world -- to the core. Drawing on original and unseen source material from ex-SAS soldier Rusty Firmin, the police and the British Government, GO! GO! GO! takes us to the heart of the whole operation.The assault planning and training, strategy and tactics are described in detail, and the personal stories of the gunmen revealed -- who they were, where they came from, why they did it and Saddam Hussein's direct involvement. Compelling accounts of each day of the siege from the hostages' points of view show how they dealt with captivity individually and collectively. New material explains the negotiators' tactics and their cool exterior versus their internal turmoil as negotiations reached crisis point.

W&N

A Choice Of Enemies

Lawrence Freedman
Authors:
Lawrence Freedman

Prize-winning historian Lawrence Freedman takes an exceptionally clear-eyed look at America's strategic predicament in the Middle East, over the past 30 years.The United States is locked into three prolonged conflicts without much hope of early resolution. Iran is pursuing a nuclear programme; the aftermath of the overthrow of Saddam Hussein has seen unrelenting intercommunal violence; and the Taliban have got back into Afghanistan. Lawrence Freedman teases out the roots of each engagement over the last thirty years and demonstrates with clarity and scholarship the influence of these conflicts upon each other.The story is complex and often marked by great drama. First, the countries in dispute with America are not themselves natural allies; second, their enmity was not, at first, America's choice. Third, the region's problems cannot all be traced to the Arab-Israeli dispute. Unique in its focus, this book will offer not only new revelations but also remind us of what has been forgotten or has never been put in context.

Orion

Death Warrant

Will Pearson
Authors:
Will Pearson
Orion

Fighting Fit

Adrian Weale
Authors:
Adrian Weale

The fitness plan used by the SAS - perfect for fans of British Miltary Fitness classes.Every year thousands of men and women discover new levels of fitness and inner strength as they are put through their paces to meet demanding standards required for new recruits in the British Army - this book will take you to the same level. Beyond that are the elite: the SAS, Paras and Commandos. Each unit has rigorous and searching requirements designed to select only the strongest, fittest and meanest for the world's toughest regiments. Recommended by a recent SAS squadron commander as 'an excellent guide', FIGHTING FIT's unique and proven training programmes have already helped many soldiers pass these most demanding tests. Now you can join them. Illustrated throughout and including inside information on the kit you'll need, the food you should eat and how to cope with injury, FIGHTING FIT is the comprehensive insider's guide to the fitness methods of the world's most professional army.

Bernard Lewis

Bernard Lewis was Emeritus Professor of Near Eastern Studies at Princeton University. Formerly Professor of Middle Eastern History at the School of Oriental & African Studies, London, 1949-74.

Gayle Lynds

Gayle Lynds is the co-author of three Covert-One novels and is the author of several bestselling thrillers.

Lawrence Freedman

Lawrence Freedman has been Professor of War Studies at King's College London since 1982, and Vice-Principal since 2003. Elected a Fellow of the British Academy in 1995 and awarded the CBE in 1996, he was appointed Official Historian of the Falklands Campaign in 1997. He was awarded the KCMG in 2003. In June 2009 he was appointed to serve as a member of the official inquiry into Britain and the 2003 Iraq War. Professor Freedman has written extensively on nuclear strategy and the Cold War, as well as commentating regularly on contemporary security issues. His most recent book, A Choice of Enemies: America confronts the Middle East, won the 2009 Lionel Gelber Prize and Duke of Westminster Medal for Military Literature.

Michael Smith

SUNDAY TIMES journalist Michael Smith was the defence correspondent of the DAILY TELEGRAPH for many years. He is a former member of the British Army's Intelligence Corp and lives in Henley with his wife and family.Michael Smith is the Defence Correspondent of the Sunday Times. A former member of the Army Intelligence Corps, Smith has reported on all Britain's recent wars and broken a number of important stories.

Robert Baer

Robert Baer spent 21 years in the CIA as a field operative. He resigned after leading an aborted attempt on Saddam Hussein. He is the author of four NEW YORK TIMES bestsellers. His memoir SEE NO EVIL was made into the Academy Award-winning movie SYRIANA. He anchored an Emmy-nominated British documentary series, THE CULT OF THE SUICIDE BOMBER. He is the intelligence columnist for TIME.com and a regular BBC and CNN contributor. He currently lectures various US government agencies on assassination.

Robert Ludlum

Robert Ludlum is one of the world's bestselling authors and there are more than 300 million copies of his books in print. He is published in 32 languages and 50 countries. As well as blending sophisticated plotting and extreme pace, Robert Ludlum's novels are meticulously researched. In addition to the popular titles in the Covert-One series, Robert Ludlum's best-known books include THE SCARLATTI INHERITANCE, THE CHANCELLOR MANUSCRIPT and the Jason Bourne series.

Rusty Firmin

Rusty Firmin was born in Carlisle in 1950. He joined the Royal Artillery at an early age and was then posted to 49 Field Regiment RA and subsequently to the 29 Commando RA. Getting a taste for commando ops, Rusty passed the SAS gruelling selection and joined B-Squadron 22 (SAS) Regiment in 1977. Following covert tours in Northern Ireland with the SAS, Rusty then led part of the iconic assault to rescue the hostages from the Iranian embassy in 1980. A fitness fanatic who represented the British Army at football, Rusty lives in rural Herefordshire.

Will Pearson

Will Pearson ran away from home aged fifteen and joined the Royal Navy. Seven years and two world tours later, he won a scholarship to Ruskin workers' education college, and then read Modern Languages at Oriel College, Oxford. After various careers, Will turned his hand to writing. His military experience and contacts led to a breakthrough book, the best-selling Tornado Down, written with the RAF's John Peters and John Nicol. He has also produced and scripted documentaries and written for the Financial Times, Daily Mirror and many other publications. He lives in London with his wife and two children.

HIGH-CONCEPT NOVELS ACQUIRED

Bear Grylls Thrillers to be Published by Orion

Orion has signed international adventurer Bear Grylls to write a series of action-adventure thrillers, featuring Dan Ranger, ex-SAS, ecologist and adventurer extraordinaire. The first book Ghost Flight, will be published in May 2015.

Michael Rose

General Sir Michael Rose KCB CBE DSO QGM was commissioned into the Coldstream Guards in 1964 and served with the SAS in Malaya and Oman. He commanded the 22nd SAS Regiment (1979-82) during the London Iranian Embassy siege and the Falkland Islands War. From January 1994 to January 1995 he assumed command of the UN Protection Force in Bosnia after which he became Adjutant General and a member of the Army Board. Now retired from the Army, he writes and lectures on peace-keeping and leadership.