Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

The Silent Patient

The Silent Patient

WITH OVER A MILLION COPIES SOLD, read the Sunday Times and No.1 New York Times bestselling, record-breaking 2019 thriller that everyone is talking about – soon to be a major film.

‘The perfect thriller’ AJ FINN

Terrific’ – THE TIMES Crime Book of the Month

‘Smart, sophisticated suspense’ – LEE CHILD

‘Compelling’ – OBSERVER

‘Absolutely brilliant’ – STEPHEN FRY

‘A totally original psychological mystery’ – DAVID BALDACCI

‘One of the best thrillers I’ve read this year’ – CARA HUNTER

‘The pace and finesse of a master’ – BBC CULTURE


Alicia Berenson lived a seemingly perfect life until one day six years ago.

When she shot her husband in the head five times.

Since then she hasn’t spoken a single word.

It’s time to find out why.


THE SILENT PATIENT is the gripping must-read debut thriller of 2019 – perfect for fans of THE WOMAN IN THE WINDOW by A.J. Finn and THE GIRL BEFORE by JP Delaney.
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Thriller / Suspense

On Sale: 5th February 2019

Price: £12.99

ISBN-13: 9781409181644

Reviews

I read it in two nights and savoured every luscious word, every grim encounter, every startling twist
DAVID BALDACCI
Impossible to put down, with a twist that will blow your mind
MARK EDWARDS, bestselling author of THE MAGPIES
A hugely impressive debut
STEVE CAVANAGH, bestselling author of THIRTEEN
Genuinely chilling and with a real sucker punch of a twist
SHARON BOLTON, Sunday Times bestselling author of THE CRAFTSMAN
Masterly plotting, Hitchcockian suspense and an absolute jaw-dropper of an ending. Read this book!
LUCY FOLEY, bestselling author of THE HUNTING PARTY
A neatly woven, intelligently written story that lifts the curtain on the complexities of trauma and the human psyche
ALI LAND, Sunday Times bestselling author of GOOD ME, BAD ME
A taut, meticulously plotted and compelling novel
THE OBSERVER
I was kicking myself black and blue that I did not see *that* moment coming. I have never been so happily wrong-footed. A very clever book - highly recommended.
C. J. TUDOR, Sunday Times bestselling author of THE CHALK MAN
Intelligent, imaginative and a terrific read
THE TIMES - Crime Book of the Month
Smart, sophisticated suspense - a very fine novel by any standard
LEE CHILD
The Silent Patient may be a first novel, but it has the pace and finesse of a master
BBC CULTURE
The definition of a page turner. The twist comes as hard and fast as a slap across the face.
JOHN MARRS, bestselling author of THE GOOD SAMARITAN
One of the best thrillers I've read this year. Masterfully plotted and brilliantly paced by a writer at the top of his game
CARA HUNTER, Sunday Times bestselling author of CLOSE TO HOME
An unforgettable - and Hollywood-bound - new thriller
ENTERTAINMENT WEEKLY
An excellent, slow-burning psychological thriller; sharp, clever and with a whammy that genuinely took me by surprise
JOANNE HARRIS
The perfect thriller. I quite literally couldn't put it down
A. J. Finn, bestselling author of THE WOMAN IN THE WINDOW
One of the best psychological thrillers I have ever read . . . with an ending that is destined to go down as one of the most shocking, mind-blowing twists in recent memory
BLAKE CROUCH, author of DARK MATTER
Comes with a killer twist
SUNDAY TIMES Crime Club
One of the most hotly anticipated novels of this year
DAILY EXPRESS
Absolutely brilliant . . . I read it in a state of intense, breathless excitement
STEPHEN FRY
A superior psycho-thriller
THE TIMES